Review: A Stranger In The House - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

He looks at her, concerned. “How do you feel?”She wants to say, Terrified. Instead, she says, with a faint smile, “Glad to be home.”

Karen and Tom Krupp are happy–they’ve got a lovely home in upstate New York, they’re practically newlyweds, and they have no kids to interrupt their comfortable life together. But one day, Tom returns home to find Karen has vanished–her car’s gone and it seems she left in a rush. She even left her purse–complete with phone and i.d.–behind.

There’s a knock on the door–the police are there to take Tom to the hospital where his wife has been admitted. She had a car accident, and lost control as she sped through the worst part of town.

The accident has left Karen with a concussion and a few scrapes.  Still, she’s mostly okay–except that she can’t remember what she was doing or where she was when she crashed. The cops think her memory loss is highly convenient, and they suspect she was up to no good.

Karen returns home with Tom, determined to heal and move on with her life. Then she realizes something’s been moved. Something’s not quite right. Someone’s been in her house. And the police won’t stop asking questions.

Because in this house, everyone’s a stranger. Everyone has something they’d rather keep hidden. Something they might even kill to keep quiet.

Book Type:

Adult psychological thriller

Buy Now:

Connect with Shari Lapena:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

A Stranger In The House
By Shari Lapena

Review: A Stranger In The House

“If only she could remember what happened that night! She feels as if she’s blind, trying to navigate dangers she can’t see.”

A suburban wife suffers a bad concussion after her car hits a utility pole in the sketchiest part of town. She has no memory of what happened, of why she left her home in the midst of cooking dinner, leaving the door unlocked, her cell phone and bag left behind.

Shari Lapena’s domestic thriller is a doozy—a cautionary tale that even in suburbia, we often can’t fathom the secrets that lie beneath.

Tom and Karen Krupp live a happy life in a great neighborhood in upstate New York, one might even say they had a perfect marriage. So when Tom comes home one night, dinner unfinished on the stove, Karen gone with the door unlocked, he panics. And then he hears the news—Karen has been in a car accident, she’s crashed her car in a seedy part of town, far from their home.

It seems impossible.

It seems nothing like Karen.

But she has no recollection of the night that is quickly upturning their lives. Worse yet, the police don’t buy her memory loss. So they dig deeper and the case continues to take turns unforeseen.

We also learn Karen has been on edge—someone has been in their home. Moving things around. Lying on their bed. She’s sure of it.

Across the street, their neighbor Brigid, sits by her window, day in and day out, watching everything, meddling into the circus that is now Tom and Karen’s life.

Meanwhile Tom is unraveling, doubt pervading every second of his two-year marriage. Does he really know his wife?

Things really escalate however, when a murder is uncovered nearby where Karen crashed and everyone is thinking the same thing—could the two cases be connected? Could Karen’s reckless driving be the result of her fleeing the scene? One thing becomes clear: Karen, Tom, Brigid—they’re all hiding something.

Hot off last year’s bestseller, THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR, Lapena weaves another twisty, divertive narrative with A STRANGER IN THE HOUSE. Similar in approach to the former, the latter unearths surprising secrets gradually, casting suspicion on everyone involved. And just when you think you know what happened, Lapena throws a final curve ball.

While character development is handled with broad strokes, this twisty thriller will be a hit for fans of Ruth Ware and Clare Mackintosh.

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

I’m so thrilled to share my interview with @E_L_James, today #ontheblog! We talk about 𝗧𝗛𝗘 𝗠𝗜𝗦𝗧𝗘𝗥, which released just about a week ago now! Go read about this modern-day Cinderella story,… https://t.co/4e64RcbFbV

Read and excerpt from Rescuing Macie by @susan_stoker! @1001darknights https://t.co/wTCKa3cDmc

5 Questions with @E_L_James, author of #TheMister! https://t.co/pQPbKhuon0 @VintageAnchor

Facial Oil Roundup: My 8 Current Faves! https://t.co/pSFL1gMomm

what's the exact quote Beyonce says in Homecoming about notes? "What's the point in giving new notes when my old ones haven't been addressed?" I need it. I want to say it forever

This week #ontheblog I share a roundup of some of my current beauty faves! It’s been awhile since I shared some of the products I keep reaching for, whether they are new or old. Would… https://t.co/AJb2hj5CGa

THE MISTER by @E_L_James is out today!!! I started the book early this morning and wish I could cancel all responsibility and work today! Who else is reading it???? I'm so excited to fall… https://t.co/xVe9DK3qeY

What kind of coverage do you prefer for a foundation? I like light coverage, especially moving into Spring and Summer, which is why I had to try the new @kosascosmetics Tinted Oil… https://t.co/IxaGMTgidh

Review: My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing! @berkleypub https://t.co/u3RT4qxAl0

Beauty Faves Roundup!!! See which products I'm loving lately! https://t.co/jN7jvb6UpZ

Beauty Review: Kosas Tinted Face Oil - https://t.co/QTLUKNzqfG

{ Chanel pretties } @ Austin, Texas https://t.co/5RSZui1hbN

✨ 𝑮𝑰𝑽𝑬𝑨𝑾𝑨𝒀 ✨
.
So excited to partner with @VintageAnchor on this awesome giveaway to celebrate THE MISTER by @E_L_James—out in just three days!! I’m giving away three #TheMister inspired… https://t.co/cDgUEzbnKc

𝙒𝙝𝙖𝙩 𝙪𝙥𝙘𝙤𝙢𝙞𝙣𝙜 𝙗𝙤𝙤𝙠𝙨 𝙖𝙧𝙚 𝙮𝙤𝙪 𝙬𝙖𝙞𝙩𝙞𝙣𝙜 𝙛𝙤𝙧?! #waitingonwednesday
.

STONE MOTHERS by @mserinkelly is one I can’t wait to dig into. Erin wrote HE SAID/SHE SAID, which I loved, and this one… https://t.co/EsZbFUvyz2

𝑾𝒉𝒂𝒕’𝒔 𝒚𝒐𝒖𝒓 𝒇𝒂𝒗𝒐𝒓𝒊𝒕𝒆 𝒕𝒚𝒑𝒆 𝒐𝒇 𝒓𝒐𝒎𝒂𝒏𝒄𝒆?
.
For me, there’s nothing better than a second-chance love story! In authorkyliescott’s new novel, REPEAT, a woman loses her memory after a vicious… https://t.co/B9UoeCxZBf

Beauty Review: @VintnerDaughter Serum -- https://t.co/J77jx7odsg

Get a sneak peek at CIPHER by @larissaione — out this week! @1001darknights https://t.co/eyQYi0iO4e

Review: I Know Who You Are by Alice Feeney #thriller @flatironbooks https://t.co/GoXNUNEHOO

Happy Saturday! It looks to be a stormy ⛈ day here in Austin, but hoping to catch up on some reading and get away for an hour or two midday. I’ve been trying some new beauty products out again, and one of my... https://t.co/1eCimA5JUs

Happy Saturday! It looks to be a stormy ⛈ day here in Austin, but hoping to catch up on some reading and get away for an hour or two midday. I’ve been trying some new beauty products out… https://t.co/UaXuyw90z8

Load More...