Review: A Stranger In The House - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

He looks at her, concerned. “How do you feel?”She wants to say, Terrified. Instead, she says, with a faint smile, “Glad to be home.”

Karen and Tom Krupp are happy–they’ve got a lovely home in upstate New York, they’re practically newlyweds, and they have no kids to interrupt their comfortable life together. But one day, Tom returns home to find Karen has vanished–her car’s gone and it seems she left in a rush. She even left her purse–complete with phone and i.d.–behind.

There’s a knock on the door–the police are there to take Tom to the hospital where his wife has been admitted. She had a car accident, and lost control as she sped through the worst part of town.

The accident has left Karen with a concussion and a few scrapes.  Still, she’s mostly okay–except that she can’t remember what she was doing or where she was when she crashed. The cops think her memory loss is highly convenient, and they suspect she was up to no good.

Karen returns home with Tom, determined to heal and move on with her life. Then she realizes something’s been moved. Something’s not quite right. Someone’s been in her house. And the police won’t stop asking questions.

Because in this house, everyone’s a stranger. Everyone has something they’d rather keep hidden. Something they might even kill to keep quiet.

Book Type:

Adult psychological thriller

Buy Now:

Connect with Shari Lapena:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

A Stranger In The House
By Shari Lapena

Review: A Stranger In The House

“If only she could remember what happened that night! She feels as if she’s blind, trying to navigate dangers she can’t see.”

A suburban wife suffers a bad concussion after her car hits a utility pole in the sketchiest part of town. She has no memory of what happened, of why she left her home in the midst of cooking dinner, leaving the door unlocked, her cell phone and bag left behind.

Shari Lapena’s domestic thriller is a doozy—a cautionary tale that even in suburbia, we often can’t fathom the secrets that lie beneath.

Tom and Karen Krupp live a happy life in a great neighborhood in upstate New York, one might even say they had a perfect marriage. So when Tom comes home one night, dinner unfinished on the stove, Karen gone with the door unlocked, he panics. And then he hears the news—Karen has been in a car accident, she’s crashed her car in a seedy part of town, far from their home.

It seems impossible.

It seems nothing like Karen.

But she has no recollection of the night that is quickly upturning their lives. Worse yet, the police don’t buy her memory loss. So they dig deeper and the case continues to take turns unforeseen.

We also learn Karen has been on edge—someone has been in their home. Moving things around. Lying on their bed. She’s sure of it.

Across the street, their neighbor Brigid, sits by her window, day in and day out, watching everything, meddling into the circus that is now Tom and Karen’s life.

Meanwhile Tom is unraveling, doubt pervading every second of his two-year marriage. Does he really know his wife?

Things really escalate however, when a murder is uncovered nearby where Karen crashed and everyone is thinking the same thing—could the two cases be connected? Could Karen’s reckless driving be the result of her fleeing the scene? One thing becomes clear: Karen, Tom, Brigid—they’re all hiding something.

Hot off last year’s bestseller, THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR, Lapena weaves another twisty, divertive narrative with A STRANGER IN THE HOUSE. Similar in approach to the former, the latter unearths surprising secrets gradually, casting suspicion on everyone involved. And just when you think you know what happened, Lapena throws a final curve ball.

While character development is handled with broad strokes, this twisty thriller will be a hit for fans of Ruth Ware and Clare Mackintosh.

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

Recentemente a Anna concedeu uma entrevista para o blog @vilmairisblog divulgando seu novo livro "The Brightest Stars" e ela foi questionada sobre After movie, confira a tradução:

2

Me when all the new makeup comes out: “OMG I NEED IT!”
.
Also me: “I’m really going to make an effort. I’m going to wear more makeup, get out of those yoga pants and get my face on.”
.
Me:… https://t.co/P7aP04z5HA

𝑮𝑰𝑽𝑬𝑨𝑾𝑨𝒀 !!! If you’ve followed me for some time now, you know how huge a fan I am of @debharkness and her ALL SOULS trilogy. It’s one of my all-time faves, and I’ve gushed about each… https://t.co/gAjljWSXgy

Interview with Anna Todd, author of THE BRIGHTEST STARS! @imaginator1d https://t.co/5kmtT37HuE

New Makeup Palettes to Inspire your Fall Look! https://t.co/I5p5N8Qaat

4 Oversized Totes for the On-The-Go Girl! https://t.co/9EIK6YNPDR

Last one... just on such a high from last night! I love seeing beyonce perform FORMATION live. #fangirlforlife #otrii 👑🐝 Highlights from the concert in Insta stories. @ Houston, Texas https://t.co/GqZ2CMtnrF

Perfection, as expected. ✨ Tomorrow I’ll upload more pics and videos into Stories. #otrii @ Houston, Texas

This week on my USA Today column, I’m sharing a list of 10 suspenseful novels to read this Fall, from heart-pounding YA thrillers to chilling Nordic Noirs. I’m making my way through this… https://t.co/nhnFgxxepX

🎶 Up where they walk, up where they run, up where they stay all day in the sun, wanderin' free, Wish I could be... part of that world. 🎶
.
You guys, how amazing is this cover and this… https://t.co/gVQg4Wfyld

Must-read thrillers coming this fall: Vilma Iris Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog recommends books by @Marie_Lu, Sarah J. Maas aka @SJMaas, @JRWard1, Cassandra Clare aka @cassieclare, @wendywebbauthor & more. #romanticsuspense #romanticthrillers https://t.co/glQ4jEteY9

Must-read thrillers coming this fall: Vilma Iris Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog recommends books by @Marie_Lu, Robert Galbraith aka @RGalbraith, Lars Kepler, @JRWard1, Ragnar Jonasson aka @ragnarjo & more. #romanticsuspense #romanticthrillers https://t.co/glQ4jEteY9

Excerpt + Giveaway: More of You by @aljacksonauthor! https://t.co/iNGXPBXMpy

The Best for Less: $100 Full Skincare Regimen! https://t.co/quA1D243tN

Exclusive Excerpt: More Than Crave You by @Shayla_Black! https://t.co/9qc0Z3m7nX

Review + Excerpt: Warcross Copy https://t.co/b3SwQTT1NS

Morning! I’m spending some time organizing my vanity and rediscovering old (fabulous) palettes. Candles burning and Audible book playing while I get work done. I’m almost done reading… https://t.co/CzHawYupA0

I can’t tell you how obsessed I am with this subscription box gifted to me by curatedbycromwell, and I know you all loved it as much as I did because I got so many messages! This box is… https://t.co/4zoBM9YdwH

What are you reading right now? I finished WILDCARD by @marieluthewriter yesterday (loved it) and starting CONSUMED by @jrwardauthor tonight. Also, some seriously great 📚 out today. Click the link in bio to see... https://t.co/Fx15rUXeaU

Load More...