Review: American Royals - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

Two princesses vying for the ultimate crown.
Two girls vying for the prince’s heart.
This is the story of the American royals.

When America won the Revolutionary War, its people offered General George Washington a crown. Two and a half centuries later, the House of Washington still sits on the throne. Like most royal families, the Washingtons have an heir and a spare. A future monarch and a backup battery. Each child knows exactly what is expected of them. But these aren’t just any royals. They’re American.

As Princess Beatrice gets closer to becoming America’s first queen regnant, the duty she has embraced her entire life suddenly feels stifling. Nobody cares about the spare except when she’s breaking the rules, so Princess Samantha doesn’t care much about anything, either . . . except the one boy who is distinctly off-limits to her. And then there’s Samantha’s twin, Prince Jefferson. If he’d been born a generation earlier, he would have stood first in line for the throne, but the new laws of succession make him third. Most of America adores their devastatingly handsome prince . . . but two very different girls are vying to capture his heart.

The duty. The intrigue. The Crown. New York Times bestselling author Katharine McGee imagines an alternate version of the modern world, one where the glittering age of monarchies has not yet faded–and where love is still powerful enough to change the course of history.

Series:

American Royals

Book 1

Book Type:

YA Contemporary (Royals)

Buy Now:

Connect with Katharine McGee:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

American Royals
By Katharine McGee

Review: American Royals

Gossip Girl meets royal intrigue in Katharine McGee’s AMERICAN ROYALS. Deliciously scandalous, this is the kind of book easily devoured—the perfect escape for fans of RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE and THE ROYAL WE (both which I loved).

This wonderfully soapy story of kings, queens, princes, princesses, lords and ladies will keep you captive. McGee reimagines that George Washington was once crowned king, and now his descendants reign over modern-day America.

We meet Princess Beatrice, next in line for the throne, as well as her twin siblings, Princess Samantha and Prince Jefferson.

Twenty-one-year-old Beatrice struggles against the confines of her role, especially as she is pushed to find a husband—fast. Samantha meanwhile feels forgotten in the shadow of her older sister—the “spare” who is an afterthought for her family and the world. Third in line according to the laws of succession is Jefferson, who recently broke up with the devilish Daphne, and is secretly pining for his twin’s BFF.

Forbidden love, palace intrigue, tell-all tabloids and rebellion against expectations make this a fun, fresh dishy indulgence. McGee (THE TOWERING SKY) creates characters who are both flawed and relatable, setting us up for more to come.

A great, soapy series starter to listen to on Audible.

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

Read an exclusive excerpt from More Than Pleasure You by @Shayla_Black -- out tomorrow! @1001darknights https://t.co/z1YyDuR3LQ

Load More...
SUBSCRIBE TO MY BLOG