Review: Everything You Want Me To Be - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

Full of twists and turns, Everything You Want Me to Be reconstructs a year in the life of a dangerously mesmerizing young woman, during which a small town’s darkest secrets come to the forefront…and she inches closer and closer to her death.

High school senior Hattie Hoffman has spent her whole life playing many parts: the good student, the good daughter, the good citizen. When she’s found brutally stabbed to death on the opening night of her high school play, the tragedy rips through the fabric of her small town community. Local sheriff Del Goodman, a family friend of the Hoffmans, vows to find her killer, but trying to solve her murder yields more questions than answers. It seems that Hattie’s acting talents ran far beyond the stage. Told from three points of view—Del, Hattie, and the new English teacher whose marriage is crumbling—Everything You Want Me to Be weaves the story of Hattie’s last school year and the events that drew her ever closer to her death.

Evocative and razor-sharp, Everything You Want Me to Be challenges you to test the lines between innocence and culpability, identity and deception. Does love lead to self-discovery—or destruction?

Book Type:

Adult psychological thriller

Buy Now:

Connect with Mindy Mejia:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Everything You Want Me To Be
By Mindy Mejia

Review: Everything You Want Me To Be

“My name is Henrietta Sue Hoffman.
And by the time I was done with Pine Valley,
no one would forget who I was.”

Hattie Hoffman wanted out of small-town Pine Valley. With dreams of acting on Broadway, she was counting the days until she could free the town too small for her ambitions. Instead, she’s found brutally murdered in a dirty barn, leaving this rural Minnesota community shocked, angry and clamoring to find her killer.

Hattie had been a girl beaming with life, the football-hero boyfriend on her arm, a bright future in front of her. But as we rewind the days leading up to her murder, Hattie’s secrets are unearthed, along with those of this seemingly quiet town. We see the extent and depth of a young girl’s manipulation, we see marriages fracture, hear secrets whispered in the dark, and duplicitous lives continuing unchecked.

A cast of suspects emerges, all with secrets to hide, and yet surprises shock when we learn what really happened the night Hattie was stabbed to death.

Overall, I really enjoyed the book. Mejia expertly sets a foreboding tone—a town with its long-buried secrets and it’s cunning inhabitants. Tension thrums steadily throughout the novel as secrets unravel and the truth finally emerges. Everything You Want Me To Be is an addictive psychological thriller deftly exploring identity and manipulation, and the consequences of being pushed too far. Fans of Ruth Ware and Mary Kubica will love this.

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

A heroine who can’t help but fix everything, an IOU from a handsome stranger, a cunning old boyfriend, and thorny family dynamics—it's the perfect setup for another irresistible… https://t.co/41Z6NHON8w

Who else is just about dying for this book??? 🙋🏻‍♀️ I’m a huge, long-time @lisakleypas reader and am so excited for this Ravenels meets Wallflowers book. This is Phoebe and West’s love… https://t.co/1jLpO0kztx

Excerpt: Irresistible by #MelanieHarlow! @jennw23 https://t.co/b7jOloJ6UP

Excerpt: Devil's Daughter by @lisakleypas!!!! @HarperCollins https://t.co/4Df0pdtaVx

Read an excerpt from Overture by @skye_warren!!! https://t.co/TmtNKTy5Fz

Review: I Owe You One by @KinsellaSophie! @randomhouse https://t.co/g6niPTVQA1

Cover Reveal: Make Me Bad by @AuthorRSGrey! https://t.co/jZ9COv8ekd

Double tap this pic if you’re planning on a little sunday self care! 🙋🏻‍♀️ Trying to figure out what to use today and @blissworld has sent me so many wonderful goodies from which I can… https://t.co/6vqA6kTsKA

🚨 𝐆𝐈𝐕𝐄𝐀𝐖𝐀𝐘 🚨
.
Happy Sunday, you guys!!! So excited to share an awesome giveaway with you!!! I’m partnering with @rebeccayarros to give away two signed paperback ARCs of 𝐓𝐇𝐄 𝐋𝐀𝐒𝐓… https://t.co/us2IKyj5VT

What is your favorite thing to buy beautywise? The thing you have a weakness for and probably own too many of? ❥
.
For me, it’s eye shadow palettes. Well, okay... and pretty much all things… https://t.co/bBFtmyRflD

I still can't believe the trailer is here! 😭What do you guys think? Let me know what your favorite parts were!

You can watch it here: https://t.co/KbWZ7uVKGi

“𝗧𝗵𝗲𝗿𝗲’𝘀 𝗼𝗻𝗹𝘆 𝘀𝗼 𝗺𝘂𝗰𝗵 𝘆𝗼𝘂 𝗰𝗮𝗻 𝘁𝗮𝗸𝗲 𝗯𝗲𝗶𝗻𝗴 𝗱𝗲𝘀𝗰𝗿𝗶𝗯𝗲𝗱 𝗮𝘀 𝘀𝗼𝗺𝗲𝗯𝗼𝗱𝘆 𝘆𝗼𝘂’𝗿𝗲 𝗻𝗼𝘁.”
.
Have you guys read Angie Thomas before? I was late to THE HATE U GIVE (so powerful), and absolutely loved… https://t.co/1mlyXKrwqn

Happy Valentine’s Day my friends!!!! ♥️ Any plans with friends or loved ones today?! I gave my man and my boys little gifts this morning so they start their day feeling loved, then… https://t.co/W77vDiaC4f

Any lisagardnerbks fans out there?! 🙋🏻‍♀️ You guys, she is one of my favorite authors and she has a new (fabulous) book out: NEVER TELL. I was honored to interview her on the blog, where… https://t.co/wwL5ihZAGB

𝗗𝗼 𝘆𝗼𝘂 𝗵𝗮𝘃𝗲 𝗮 𝗳𝗮𝘃𝗼𝗿𝗶𝘁𝗲 𝘀𝗰𝗲𝗻𝘁?
.
My favorite for skincare and lotions is roses! So when I found out the new mask from @summer__fridays smelled like a whole bouquet of 🌹🌹🌹, I was all in.… https://t.co/MxIA51I8Yh

𝗗𝗼 𝘆𝗼𝘂 𝗵𝗮𝘃𝗲 𝗮𝗻𝘆 𝗽𝗹𝗮𝗻𝘀 𝗳𝗼𝗿 𝗩𝗮𝗹𝗲𝗻𝘁𝗶𝗻𝗲’𝘀 𝗗𝗮𝘆???
.
We typically cook at home, and now love celebrating with our boys. This year, I’m putting together a Valentine’s Day charcuterie board and… https://t.co/tc1Z12hikK

Review: @SummerFridays R+R Mask! https://t.co/bQUUrl01df

Read an excerpt from Ensnared by @ElisNaughton! @1001darknights https://t.co/sedrAbdmGn

Review: On The Come Up by @angiecthomas! #2019favorite https://t.co/LerkTijup8

Interview with @LisaGardnerBks, author of NEVER TELL (out this week!) @penguinbooks https://t.co/RMXgpmlWB1

Load More...