Review: Everything You Want Me To Be - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

Full of twists and turns, Everything You Want Me to Be reconstructs a year in the life of a dangerously mesmerizing young woman, during which a small town’s darkest secrets come to the forefront…and she inches closer and closer to her death.

High school senior Hattie Hoffman has spent her whole life playing many parts: the good student, the good daughter, the good citizen. When she’s found brutally stabbed to death on the opening night of her high school play, the tragedy rips through the fabric of her small town community. Local sheriff Del Goodman, a family friend of the Hoffmans, vows to find her killer, but trying to solve her murder yields more questions than answers. It seems that Hattie’s acting talents ran far beyond the stage. Told from three points of view—Del, Hattie, and the new English teacher whose marriage is crumbling—Everything You Want Me to Be weaves the story of Hattie’s last school year and the events that drew her ever closer to her death.

Evocative and razor-sharp, Everything You Want Me to Be challenges you to test the lines between innocence and culpability, identity and deception. Does love lead to self-discovery—or destruction?

Book Type:

Adult psychological thriller

Buy Now:

Connect with Mindy Mejia:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Everything You Want Me To Be
By Mindy Mejia

Review: Everything You Want Me To Be

“My name is Henrietta Sue Hoffman.
And by the time I was done with Pine Valley,
no one would forget who I was.”

Hattie Hoffman wanted out of small-town Pine Valley. With dreams of acting on Broadway, she was counting the days until she could free the town too small for her ambitions. Instead, she’s found brutally murdered in a dirty barn, leaving this rural Minnesota community shocked, angry and clamoring to find her killer.

Hattie had been a girl beaming with life, the football-hero boyfriend on her arm, a bright future in front of her. But as we rewind the days leading up to her murder, Hattie’s secrets are unearthed, along with those of this seemingly quiet town. We see the extent and depth of a young girl’s manipulation, we see marriages fracture, hear secrets whispered in the dark, and duplicitous lives continuing unchecked.

A cast of suspects emerges, all with secrets to hide, and yet surprises shock when we learn what really happened the night Hattie was stabbed to death.

Overall, I really enjoyed the book. Mejia expertly sets a foreboding tone—a town with its long-buried secrets and it’s cunning inhabitants. Tension thrums steadily throughout the novel as secrets unravel and the truth finally emerges. Everything You Want Me To Be is an addictive psychological thriller deftly exploring identity and manipulation, and the consequences of being pushed too far. Fans of Ruth Ware and Mary Kubica will love this.

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

I’m a total bag lady 🙋🏻‍♀️ I am always carrying a laptop, a kindle, about a gazillion books, makeup, power cords, etc etc etc... Anyone else get me?! 📚💻👓👛🎒 So for me, the bigger the bag,… https://t.co/RxsDpCtKtn

Recentemente a Anna concedeu uma entrevista para o blog @vilmairisblog divulgando seu novo livro "The Brightest Stars" e ela foi questionada sobre After movie, confira a tradução:

2

Me when all the new makeup comes out: “OMG I NEED IT!”
.
Also me: “I’m really going to make an effort. I’m going to wear more makeup, get out of those yoga pants and get my face on.”
.
Me:… https://t.co/P7aP04z5HA

𝑮𝑰𝑽𝑬𝑨𝑾𝑨𝒀 !!! If you’ve followed me for some time now, you know how huge a fan I am of @debharkness and her ALL SOULS trilogy. It’s one of my all-time faves, and I’ve gushed about each… https://t.co/gAjljWSXgy

Interview with Anna Todd, author of THE BRIGHTEST STARS! @imaginator1d https://t.co/5kmtT37HuE

New Makeup Palettes to Inspire your Fall Look! https://t.co/I5p5N8Qaat

4 Oversized Totes for the On-The-Go Girl! https://t.co/9EIK6YNPDR

Last one... just on such a high from last night! I love seeing beyonce perform FORMATION live. #fangirlforlife #otrii 👑🐝 Highlights from the concert in Insta stories. @ Houston, Texas https://t.co/GqZ2CMtnrF

Perfection, as expected. ✨ Tomorrow I’ll upload more pics and videos into Stories. #otrii @ Houston, Texas

This week on my USA Today column, I’m sharing a list of 10 suspenseful novels to read this Fall, from heart-pounding YA thrillers to chilling Nordic Noirs. I’m making my way through this… https://t.co/nhnFgxxepX

🎶 Up where they walk, up where they run, up where they stay all day in the sun, wanderin' free, Wish I could be... part of that world. 🎶
.
You guys, how amazing is this cover and this… https://t.co/gVQg4Wfyld

Must-read thrillers coming this fall: Vilma Iris Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog recommends books by @Marie_Lu, Sarah J. Maas aka @SJMaas, @JRWard1, Cassandra Clare aka @cassieclare, @wendywebbauthor & more. #romanticsuspense #romanticthrillers https://t.co/glQ4jEteY9

Must-read thrillers coming this fall: Vilma Iris Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog recommends books by @Marie_Lu, Robert Galbraith aka @RGalbraith, Lars Kepler, @JRWard1, Ragnar Jonasson aka @ragnarjo & more. #romanticsuspense #romanticthrillers https://t.co/glQ4jEteY9

Excerpt + Giveaway: More of You by @aljacksonauthor! https://t.co/iNGXPBXMpy

The Best for Less: $100 Full Skincare Regimen! https://t.co/quA1D243tN

Exclusive Excerpt: More Than Crave You by @Shayla_Black! https://t.co/9qc0Z3m7nX

Review + Excerpt: Warcross Copy https://t.co/b3SwQTT1NS

Morning! I’m spending some time organizing my vanity and rediscovering old (fabulous) palettes. Candles burning and Audible book playing while I get work done. I’m almost done reading… https://t.co/CzHawYupA0

I can’t tell you how obsessed I am with this subscription box gifted to me by curatedbycromwell, and I know you all loved it as much as I did because I got so many messages! This box is… https://t.co/4zoBM9YdwH

Load More...