Review: Everything You Want Me To Be - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

Full of twists and turns, Everything You Want Me to Be reconstructs a year in the life of a dangerously mesmerizing young woman, during which a small town’s darkest secrets come to the forefront…and she inches closer and closer to her death.

High school senior Hattie Hoffman has spent her whole life playing many parts: the good student, the good daughter, the good citizen. When she’s found brutally stabbed to death on the opening night of her high school play, the tragedy rips through the fabric of her small town community. Local sheriff Del Goodman, a family friend of the Hoffmans, vows to find her killer, but trying to solve her murder yields more questions than answers. It seems that Hattie’s acting talents ran far beyond the stage. Told from three points of view—Del, Hattie, and the new English teacher whose marriage is crumbling—Everything You Want Me to Be weaves the story of Hattie’s last school year and the events that drew her ever closer to her death.

Evocative and razor-sharp, Everything You Want Me to Be challenges you to test the lines between innocence and culpability, identity and deception. Does love lead to self-discovery—or destruction?

Book Type:

Adult psychological thriller

Buy Now:

Connect with Mindy Mejia:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Everything You Want Me To Be
By Mindy Mejia

Review: Everything You Want Me To Be

“My name is Henrietta Sue Hoffman.
And by the time I was done with Pine Valley,
no one would forget who I was.”

Hattie Hoffman wanted out of small-town Pine Valley. With dreams of acting on Broadway, she was counting the days until she could free the town too small for her ambitions. Instead, she’s found brutally murdered in a dirty barn, leaving this rural Minnesota community shocked, angry and clamoring to find her killer.

Hattie had been a girl beaming with life, the football-hero boyfriend on her arm, a bright future in front of her. But as we rewind the days leading up to her murder, Hattie’s secrets are unearthed, along with those of this seemingly quiet town. We see the extent and depth of a young girl’s manipulation, we see marriages fracture, hear secrets whispered in the dark, and duplicitous lives continuing unchecked.

A cast of suspects emerges, all with secrets to hide, and yet surprises shock when we learn what really happened the night Hattie was stabbed to death.

Overall, I really enjoyed the book. Mejia expertly sets a foreboding tone—a town with its long-buried secrets and it’s cunning inhabitants. Tension thrums steadily throughout the novel as secrets unravel and the truth finally emerges. Everything You Want Me To Be is an addictive psychological thriller deftly exploring identity and manipulation, and the consequences of being pushed too far. Fans of Ruth Ware and Mary Kubica will love this.

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

I’m so thrilled to share my interview with @E_L_James, today #ontheblog! We talk about 𝗧𝗛𝗘 𝗠𝗜𝗦𝗧𝗘𝗥, which released just about a week ago now! Go read about this modern-day Cinderella story,… https://t.co/4e64RcbFbV

Read and excerpt from Rescuing Macie by @susan_stoker! @1001darknights https://t.co/wTCKa3cDmc

5 Questions with @E_L_James, author of #TheMister! https://t.co/pQPbKhuon0 @VintageAnchor

Facial Oil Roundup: My 8 Current Faves! https://t.co/pSFL1gMomm

what's the exact quote Beyonce says in Homecoming about notes? "What's the point in giving new notes when my old ones haven't been addressed?" I need it. I want to say it forever

This week #ontheblog I share a roundup of some of my current beauty faves! It’s been awhile since I shared some of the products I keep reaching for, whether they are new or old. Would… https://t.co/AJb2hj5CGa

THE MISTER by @E_L_James is out today!!! I started the book early this morning and wish I could cancel all responsibility and work today! Who else is reading it???? I'm so excited to fall… https://t.co/xVe9DK3qeY

What kind of coverage do you prefer for a foundation? I like light coverage, especially moving into Spring and Summer, which is why I had to try the new @kosascosmetics Tinted Oil… https://t.co/IxaGMTgidh

Review: My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing! @berkleypub https://t.co/u3RT4qxAl0

Beauty Faves Roundup!!! See which products I'm loving lately! https://t.co/jN7jvb6UpZ

Beauty Review: Kosas Tinted Face Oil - https://t.co/QTLUKNzqfG

{ Chanel pretties } @ Austin, Texas https://t.co/5RSZui1hbN

✨ 𝑮𝑰𝑽𝑬𝑨𝑾𝑨𝒀 ✨
.
So excited to partner with @VintageAnchor on this awesome giveaway to celebrate THE MISTER by @E_L_James—out in just three days!! I’m giving away three #TheMister inspired… https://t.co/cDgUEzbnKc

𝙒𝙝𝙖𝙩 𝙪𝙥𝙘𝙤𝙢𝙞𝙣𝙜 𝙗𝙤𝙤𝙠𝙨 𝙖𝙧𝙚 𝙮𝙤𝙪 𝙬𝙖𝙞𝙩𝙞𝙣𝙜 𝙛𝙤𝙧?! #waitingonwednesday
.

STONE MOTHERS by @mserinkelly is one I can’t wait to dig into. Erin wrote HE SAID/SHE SAID, which I loved, and this one… https://t.co/EsZbFUvyz2

𝑾𝒉𝒂𝒕’𝒔 𝒚𝒐𝒖𝒓 𝒇𝒂𝒗𝒐𝒓𝒊𝒕𝒆 𝒕𝒚𝒑𝒆 𝒐𝒇 𝒓𝒐𝒎𝒂𝒏𝒄𝒆?
.
For me, there’s nothing better than a second-chance love story! In authorkyliescott’s new novel, REPEAT, a woman loses her memory after a vicious… https://t.co/B9UoeCxZBf

Beauty Review: @VintnerDaughter Serum -- https://t.co/J77jx7odsg

Get a sneak peek at CIPHER by @larissaione — out this week! @1001darknights https://t.co/eyQYi0iO4e

Review: I Know Who You Are by Alice Feeney #thriller @flatironbooks https://t.co/GoXNUNEHOO

Happy Saturday! It looks to be a stormy ⛈ day here in Austin, but hoping to catch up on some reading and get away for an hour or two midday. I’ve been trying some new beauty products out again, and one of my... https://t.co/1eCimA5JUs

Happy Saturday! It looks to be a stormy ⛈ day here in Austin, but hoping to catch up on some reading and get away for an hour or two midday. I’ve been trying some new beauty products out… https://t.co/UaXuyw90z8

Load More...