Review: Everything You Want Me To Be - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

Full of twists and turns, Everything You Want Me to Be reconstructs a year in the life of a dangerously mesmerizing young woman, during which a small town’s darkest secrets come to the forefront…and she inches closer and closer to her death.

High school senior Hattie Hoffman has spent her whole life playing many parts: the good student, the good daughter, the good citizen. When she’s found brutally stabbed to death on the opening night of her high school play, the tragedy rips through the fabric of her small town community. Local sheriff Del Goodman, a family friend of the Hoffmans, vows to find her killer, but trying to solve her murder yields more questions than answers. It seems that Hattie’s acting talents ran far beyond the stage. Told from three points of view—Del, Hattie, and the new English teacher whose marriage is crumbling—Everything You Want Me to Be weaves the story of Hattie’s last school year and the events that drew her ever closer to her death.

Evocative and razor-sharp, Everything You Want Me to Be challenges you to test the lines between innocence and culpability, identity and deception. Does love lead to self-discovery—or destruction?

Book Type:

Adult psychological thriller

Buy Now:

Connect with Mindy Mejia:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Everything You Want Me To Be
By Mindy Mejia

Review: Everything You Want Me To Be

“My name is Henrietta Sue Hoffman.
And by the time I was done with Pine Valley,
no one would forget who I was.”

Hattie Hoffman wanted out of small-town Pine Valley. With dreams of acting on Broadway, she was counting the days until she could free the town too small for her ambitions. Instead, she’s found brutally murdered in a dirty barn, leaving this rural Minnesota community shocked, angry and clamoring to find her killer.

Hattie had been a girl beaming with life, the football-hero boyfriend on her arm, a bright future in front of her. But as we rewind the days leading up to her murder, Hattie’s secrets are unearthed, along with those of this seemingly quiet town. We see the extent and depth of a young girl’s manipulation, we see marriages fracture, hear secrets whispered in the dark, and duplicitous lives continuing unchecked.

A cast of suspects emerges, all with secrets to hide, and yet surprises shock when we learn what really happened the night Hattie was stabbed to death.

Overall, I really enjoyed the book. Mejia expertly sets a foreboding tone—a town with its long-buried secrets and it’s cunning inhabitants. Tension thrums steadily throughout the novel as secrets unravel and the truth finally emerges. Everything You Want Me To Be is an addictive psychological thriller deftly exploring identity and manipulation, and the consequences of being pushed too far. Fans of Ruth Ware and Mary Kubica will love this.

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

Who else is an obsessive candle buyer? 🙋🏻‍♀️🙋🏻‍♀️🙋🏻‍♀️ I always always always have to have candles going at home. I love not only the scents, but also the cozy mood they evoke. On the blog… https://t.co/PICU0aCHP6

What upcoming book(s) are you excited to read? It's #waitingonwednesday and I'm excited to be diving in to 𝐌𝐘 𝐅𝐀𝐕𝐎𝐑𝐈𝐓𝐄 𝐇𝐀𝐋𝐅 𝐍𝐈𝐆𝐇𝐓 𝐒𝐓𝐀𝐍𝐃 by @christinalauren. I should hopefully start it… https://t.co/mPdCS9flDr

𝐍𝐄𝐖 𝐁𝐄𝐀𝐔𝐓𝐘 𝐑𝐄𝐕𝐈𝐄𝐖 #ontheblog! You guys, I am obsessed with @maccosmetics new 𝐏𝐎𝐖𝐃𝐄𝐑 𝐊𝐈𝐒𝐒 lipsticks. I love the blurred look of these lippies but honestly, most of all, I love that it feels like of I’m wearing... https://t.co/wvOP2ITSCr

𝐍𝐄𝐖 𝐁𝐄𝐀𝐔𝐓𝐘 𝐑𝐄𝐕𝐈𝐄𝐖 #ontheblog! You guys, I am obsessed with @maccosmetics new 𝐏𝐎𝐖𝐃𝐄𝐑 𝐊𝐈𝐒𝐒 lipsticks. I love the blurred look of these lippies but honestly, most of all, I love that it… https://t.co/GaoEueJ8wj

Excerpt + Giveaway: Pucked Love by @helenahunting!!! @jennw23 https://t.co/wVZySUgKPe

Beauty Review: @maccosmetics Powder Kiss Lipsticks https://t.co/Cbr140YMFJ

Morning, friends. I am partnering with @adaptivebooks to tell you about 𝐓𝐇𝐄 𝐓𝐎𝐀𝐒𝐓 by Matt Marinovich, author of THE WINTER GIRL.



#TheToastBook is out now and a perfect, fast-paced read… https://t.co/W3gNi13dCA

I am glad we got to the bottom of this. Now let’s let the fine people at the @FBI get back to work investigating, prosecuting ruby thieves etc and punching bad guys and typing frantically on their laptops then hitting enter and saying, “we’re in.” etc God bless the FBI 👍🏼🙏♥️🇺🇸 https://t.co/2TU4nFBlgZ

@DavidBellNovels has a new thriller called LAYOVER about a chance encounter with a woman... who is a missing person. Check out the cover and exclusive excerpt on @vilmairisblog: https://t.co/OosOHYhnrR

Had so much fun at @austinnordstrom this morning at the #nordstrombeauty event. We talked about big trends in beauty such as the use of high-tech tools in skincare and blurry, long-lasting… https://t.co/7W0PguyCR3

Exclusive Cover Reveal + Excerpt: Layover by @DavidBellNovels! @BerkleyPub @getredpr https://t.co/aucYTzVycg

I'll be chatting LIVE at 8pm EST tonight on @vilmairisblog's group, Vilma's Vixens!! Come hang out and say hi!!
➜ https://t.co/sh4lfb4aRM

Do you use anti-aging skincare products? Do you have a fave to recommend? I get a lot of messages with questions on what to use and recently a friend suggested I write up a post on… https://t.co/ga8zqZX6Rl

Dear Beto,

THANK YOU brother.

You are amazing. You not only electrified the state of Texas, but you sparked the imagination of the entire country.

And you did so with a message of hope, integrity, and equality for all.

We love you bro. Sorry we couldn't push you over the top.

Anyone else picking up 𝑯𝑶𝑴𝑬𝑩𝑶𝑫𝒀 by @JoannaGaines? It's out today! As you all know, I love home decor, I love being at home, and so I can't wait to pick up some new tips & inspiration from… https://t.co/kT9eUVnobG

“Once upon a time, in a land long since burned to ash, there lived a young princess who loved her kingdom…”
.

Did you read #KingdomofAsh ??? What did you think (no spoilers of course)? I… https://t.co/M3MVLtFGoI

Load More...