The Thriller Edit: 15 spine-chilling books to read this Fall - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

The Fall Thriller Edit: 15 Spine-Chilling Books To Read This Fall

The Thriller Edit: 15 spine-chilling books to read this Fall

There’s nothing like a good thriller—the kind that incites tingles down your back and keeps you reading late into the night… with the light on. This Fall is huge for the genre and I’ve got your list of 15 picks you shouldn’t miss!

ARE YOU SLEEPING

Billed as SERIAL meets Ruth Ware’s IN A DARK, DARK WOOD, Barber delivers a page-turning story which cleverly unravels as a podcast goes viral. When this podcast reconsiders the long-solved murder of a professor, his daughter’s life begins to unwind after burying that part of her life. But as the podcast re-examines his death, the truth about that night becomes shaky, casting doubt on everything and everyone involved.


EMMA IN THE NIGHT

Wendy Walker, author of ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN delivers a tale of two sisters vanished: fifteen-year-old Cass and seventeen-year-old Emma disappear. Three years later, Cass returns without Emma, claiming they were held in a mysterious island. But something doesn’t add up and those involved must unravel the dysfunctional family dynamics to get to the truth of what happened.


THE GOOD DAUGHTER

Karin Slaughter once again proves her prowess at delivering a page-turning, tautly written thriller. Two sisters are led into the woods at gunpoint, one runs for her life, but the other is left behind. Now, 28 years later, a shocking new crime and one of those sisters is the first witness on the scene. And soon enough, what happened that day long ago, finally comes to light, unearthing shocking truths.


A STRANGER IN THE HOUSE

From the author of BEHIND CLOSED DOORS (one of 2016’s hottest thrillers and a favorite of mine), comes a relentlessly suspenseful novel about a suspicious accident, a wife who can’t account for herself, and unsettling questions that threaten to tear the couple apart.


THE DOLL FUNERAL

Told from shifting timelines and alternating perspectives, THE DOLL FUNERAL is a gripping, mysterious novel about the connections that remain after a family has been broken apart. From the author who wrote THE GIRL IN THE RED COAT.


THE OTHER GIRL

From the author of JUSTICE FOR SARA and THE FIRST WIFE, Erica Spindler comes a chilling new story about a ritualistic murder of a college professor that sends a small-town cop back into the trauma she thought she’d put behind her. A chilling, romantic thriller with lots of twists.


UNRAVELING OLIVER

This is a chilling exploration into the life of a sociopath, Oliver. From his early years to adulthood, we bear witness to what affected his development, turning him in the abusive husband that sent his wife into a coma. Clever, sharp and unflinching, this is a book easily devoured in a single sitting.


GOOD ME BAD ME

“A dark, compelling, voice-driven psychological suspense” about a girl whose mother is a serial killer. After turning her into the police, she’s given a fresh start with a new identity, but as her mom’s trial gets closer, secrets are revealed and she must figure out who she really is at heart. It’s a compelling, disturbing nature vs. nurture thriller.


LIES SHE TOLD

A story of love and deceit that will make you question your own sanity. The narrative centers around a once-bestselling novelist who is writing a thriller she hopes will get her back on track. But when what happens in her novel mimics real life, she questions her own reality. The situation escalates and time is running out before she must meet her book deadline and face truths about herself and others before it’s too late.


GIRL WHO TAKES AN EYE FOR AN EYE

David Lagercrantz continues to expand the internationally bestselling story written by Stieg Larsson. Lisbeth Salander, the hacker girl with the dragon tattoo is back, along with Mikael Blomkvist, editor of the investigative journal Millenium.  Together, they take on a new adventure in this highly anticipated thriller.


THE SCARRED WOMAN

Equal parts grim, gritty noir and engaging, from one of Denmark’s top crime writers, THE SCARRED WOMAN begins with the discovery of an elderly woman’s body—a crime that bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide investigation from over a decade ago. Across town, a group of young women are being hunted. While the attacks seem random, they could be related. Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q is charged with solving the mystery. Perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbø.


THERE’S SOMEONE INSIDE YOUR HOUSE

“Scream meets YA in this hotly-anticipated new novel from the bestselling author of ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS.” This teen slasher story is fast-paced and quick-witted. When the students of Osborne High begin to die in a series of shocking murders, terror spreads among them all. The hunt for the killer reaches a fever pitch as dark secrets are finally revealed.


THE BLACKBIRD SEASON

From the author of THE VANISHING YEAR comes a nuanced, tautly written thriller. The story opens when a thousand dead starlings fall onto a high school baseball field in a small Pennsylvania town, inciting a scandalous chain of events including the sudden vanishing of a student. When a teacher becomes the main suspect in her disappearance, a co-worker becomes determined in getting to the bottom of what really happened.


SLEEPING BEAUTIES

In this highly-buzzed-about collaboration, father/son duo Stephen and Owen King “tell the highest of high-stakes stories: what might happen if women disappeared from the world of men.” This sure-to-be horror bestseller will have everyone talking.


THREE DAYS AND A LIFE

Top French crime writer Pierre Lemaitre, author of one of my favorite psychological thrillers (BLOOD WEDDING), delivers a chilling new story about recklessly made choices that impact the entirety of one man’s life. In 1999, a twelve year old accidentally kills a young neighbor in the woods near his home. Utterly panicked, he hides his body and walks away… an event that haunts him into his adult life. When he returns to his small provincial town in France more than a decade later, he makes another grave mistake. Worse yet, they’ve finally found the young boy’s body and both mistakes twine in ways unforeseen, threatening total collapse of his promising future.

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

NEW REVIEW up on the blog: THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW by @ajfinnbooks. I loved this clever,… https://t.co/NXp2X4qh7O

Are you guys off today? I’m working from home, hoping my boys don’t drive me crazy 😂 This week… https://t.co/YAEzxiUuSi

Read an excerpt from HELLO STRANGER by @lisakleypas! @avonbooks https://t.co/kgGMOIjKvi

Athleisure Look Book! Get ideas on how to style it all! https://t.co/4sgwbJ1Qof

Review + Top Rec: The Woman In The Window by @ajfinnbooks! https://t.co/RVesyQw9W9

I know I haven’t posted much in the way of HOME lately, I’ve surprisingly not been inspired to… https://t.co/jBLq03TPcD

#ootd I’m wearing THE CUTEST sweater from @targetstyle and my new favorite sneakers!!!! I’m a… https://t.co/zwixsHAd09

Lara (from thumbelara) noticed how obsessed I was with this Ravenclaw book sleeve and sent me… https://t.co/Yb4dityilZ

Staring THE BELLES by @brownbookworm today (listening on @Audible_com)! Has anyone read it yet?… https://t.co/wGwpcHRjzZ

Exclusive cover reveal and excerpt: Vilma Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog provides first look at Lost (House of Night Other World Series #2) by @pccastauthor & @KCastAuthor https://t.co/bWsXmYXbmk

A football coach, a trombonist, a college-bound senior: the lives lost in the Florida school shooting https://t.co/2OY5GuNuWh

Exclusive cover reveal and excerpt: Vilma Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog provides the first look at Lost (House of Night Other World Series #2) by @pccastauthor & @KCastAuthor https://t.co/bWsXmYXbmk

♥️ VALENTINE’S DAY GIVEAWAY ♥️ Enter to win a paperback copy of FIFTY SHADES FREED (tie-in… https://t.co/CS6DTaKmqy

No biggie, right?! Having one of your most anticipated reads in your hands, and knowing you have… https://t.co/ia3bx3sZZ7

Ridiculously crazy obsessed with this week’s #tuesdayshoesday pick! These sneakers are bomb!… https://t.co/HVhE1sbQVR

Up on USA Today, I’ve got an excerpt from @DinaSilver’s novel (out tomorrow) — NO TIME TO BLINK!… https://t.co/DZT2JJ0tsQ

Exclusive excerpt: @vilmairisblog shares a sneak peek at chapter 1 of thriller No Time to Blink by @DinaSilver https://t.co/d5lSmeHaec

Exclusive excerpt: @vilmairisblog shares a sneak peek at the chapter one of thriller No Time to Blink by @DinaSilver https://t.co/d5lSmepyPC

Read an excerpt: The Legacy by @YrsaSig! @MinotaurBooks https://t.co/E2L0fSF0Sh

Load More...