Review: Owning Violet (#1, Fowler Sisters) by Monica Murphy - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Review: Owning Violet (#1, Fowler Sisters) by Monica Murphy

My Thoughts

A sizzling, intense erotic romance that
was entirely addictive and fun to read!

4stars

Synopsis

Dec-02New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy begins a sexy new contemporary romance series—perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Emma Chase—that introduces three sisters born to wealth, raised to succeed, ready to love, destined to make waves.

I’ve moved through life doing what’s expected of me. I’m the middle daughter, the dutiful daughter. The one who braved a vicious attack and survived. The one who devoted herself to her family’s business empire. The one who met an ambitious man and fell in love. We were going to run Fleur Cosmetics together, Zachary and I.

Until he got a promotion and left me in the dust. Maybe it’s for the best, between his disloyalty and his wandering eye. But another man was waiting for me. Wanting me. He too has an overwhelming thirst for success, just like Zachary—perhaps even more so. He’s also ruthless. And mysterious. I know nothing about Ryder McKay beyond that he makes me feel things I’ve never felt before.

One stolen moment, a kiss, a touch . . . and I’m hooked. Ryder’s like a powerful drug, and I’m an addict who doesn’t want to be cured. He tells me his intentions aren’t pure, and I believe him. For once, I don’t care. I’m willing to risk everything just to be with him. Including my heart. My soul.

My everything.

My Review

My first experience reading Monica Murphy and Owning Violet did not disappoint in the least! This book is incredibly sexy and irresistibly intense as the chemistry between our two protagonists blazes across the page. It’s a story that blurs the line between love and desire, between using one other and owning their heart. I found myself really drawn to all the drama and turmoil that swirled around the characters in this novel, waiting for carefully forged plans to shatter. And Ryder! Gahh… I hated him and loved him all at once.

As the middle daughter of Fleur Cosmetics owner and CEO, Forrest Fowler, Violet Fowler is the one poised to succeed… if she can keep it together, that is. She’s fiery, but fragile, having gone through a harrowing experience years prior. Now, her carefully controlled life includes a relationship with Zachary Lawrence, who is determined to climb the corporate ladder to the very top. But just when she thinks wedding bells are in her future, Zachary delivers news that breaks them apart. Not only that, she’s had enough of turning the other way to his indiscretions. She is done. Done compromising herself to be the perfect girlfriend. Done being taken advantage of to have the perfect life.

“Zachary Lawrence doesn’t deserve me. She’s said that time and again.  So has Rose. I’m starting to wonder if they’re right.”

Enter Ryder McKay. A good-looking, rough-all-over bad boy who is also climbing the ranks at Fleur. He’s dangerously alluring in every way. Life has made him hard, ruthless, and laser focused on being successful and getting away from the person who saved him from a life on the streets. One night, Ryder and his former lover, Pilar, strike an arrangement, as they both callously plan how to get to the top of the company as well. Despite it coming at a price. A price that would be very costly, especially to Ryder. And yet, the plan moves forward.

“I’m going to seduce Violet Fowler.”

When Violet leaves Zachary, she finds herself falling into the arms of Ryder, who promises to show Violet how to feel… how to let go and relinquish control… to him. The last thing she expected was to get addicted to him, to his touch, to the way he made her lose all her senses.

“I’m drawn to him like those stupid moths drawn to a flame. The ones that get closer and closer until their wings sizzle and their bodies smoke.”

The last thing he expected was falling for the girl he was supposed to use. She was a means to an end, and suddenly, all he want to do was make her his, own her completely.

“I may want to own Violet, but I’m afraid she might already own me.”

The dynamic between Ryder and Violet is red hot. They can’t get enough of each other, but at the same time they struggle to process their feelings. A frenetic push and pull ensues as their relationship, however frail, encounters problems that could rip it all to shreds. The supporting characters around them are just as intriguing, as they find themselves with multiple games at play, all of them which could reveal the ugly truth and cost Ryder the only person he’s cared about.

“This is temporary, what Ryder and I share. Like a meteor shooting across the sky, bright and hot and thrilling to watch, until it fizzles and burns into nothing.”

Monica Murphy did a great job of keeping me engaged as I devoured the pages to see what would happen next in this tumultuous relationship. It sometimes seemed like a bit too much push and pull, and I would have loved to see a couple more softer moments of connection in their story, but otherwise, I was all in and utterly absorbed. I can already see that series will pack lots of addictive drama, lots of sexiness, and lots of conflict, and I can’t wait to read the stories of Violet’s other sisters… Rose and Lily.

“She’s my woman. Mine. I own her. She fucking owns me.”

addseriestogoodreads

Reading Order and Links

owning violet cover fowler stealing rose cover fowler

Connect with Monica

Facebook | Twitter

a Rafflecopter giveaway

✦✦✦✦✦

Follow VBB: Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Subscribe by Email

 

 

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

Recentemente a Anna concedeu uma entrevista para o blog @vilmairisblog divulgando seu novo livro "The Brightest Stars" e ela foi questionada sobre After movie, confira a tradução:

2

Me when all the new makeup comes out: “OMG I NEED IT!”
.
Also me: “I’m really going to make an effort. I’m going to wear more makeup, get out of those yoga pants and get my face on.”
.
Me:… https://t.co/P7aP04z5HA

𝑮𝑰𝑽𝑬𝑨𝑾𝑨𝒀 !!! If you’ve followed me for some time now, you know how huge a fan I am of @debharkness and her ALL SOULS trilogy. It’s one of my all-time faves, and I’ve gushed about each… https://t.co/gAjljWSXgy

Interview with Anna Todd, author of THE BRIGHTEST STARS! @imaginator1d https://t.co/5kmtT37HuE

New Makeup Palettes to Inspire your Fall Look! https://t.co/I5p5N8Qaat

4 Oversized Totes for the On-The-Go Girl! https://t.co/9EIK6YNPDR

Last one... just on such a high from last night! I love seeing beyonce perform FORMATION live. #fangirlforlife #otrii 👑🐝 Highlights from the concert in Insta stories. @ Houston, Texas https://t.co/GqZ2CMtnrF

Perfection, as expected. ✨ Tomorrow I’ll upload more pics and videos into Stories. #otrii @ Houston, Texas

This week on my USA Today column, I’m sharing a list of 10 suspenseful novels to read this Fall, from heart-pounding YA thrillers to chilling Nordic Noirs. I’m making my way through this… https://t.co/nhnFgxxepX

🎶 Up where they walk, up where they run, up where they stay all day in the sun, wanderin' free, Wish I could be... part of that world. 🎶
.
You guys, how amazing is this cover and this… https://t.co/gVQg4Wfyld

Must-read thrillers coming this fall: Vilma Iris Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog recommends books by @Marie_Lu, Sarah J. Maas aka @SJMaas, @JRWard1, Cassandra Clare aka @cassieclare, @wendywebbauthor & more. #romanticsuspense #romanticthrillers https://t.co/glQ4jEteY9

Must-read thrillers coming this fall: Vilma Iris Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog recommends books by @Marie_Lu, Robert Galbraith aka @RGalbraith, Lars Kepler, @JRWard1, Ragnar Jonasson aka @ragnarjo & more. #romanticsuspense #romanticthrillers https://t.co/glQ4jEteY9

Excerpt + Giveaway: More of You by @aljacksonauthor! https://t.co/iNGXPBXMpy

The Best for Less: $100 Full Skincare Regimen! https://t.co/quA1D243tN

Exclusive Excerpt: More Than Crave You by @Shayla_Black! https://t.co/9qc0Z3m7nX

Review + Excerpt: Warcross Copy https://t.co/b3SwQTT1NS

Morning! I’m spending some time organizing my vanity and rediscovering old (fabulous) palettes. Candles burning and Audible book playing while I get work done. I’m almost done reading… https://t.co/CzHawYupA0

I can’t tell you how obsessed I am with this subscription box gifted to me by curatedbycromwell, and I know you all loved it as much as I did because I got so many messages! This box is… https://t.co/4zoBM9YdwH

What are you reading right now? I finished WILDCARD by @marieluthewriter yesterday (loved it) and starting CONSUMED by @jrwardauthor tonight. Also, some seriously great 📚 out today. Click the link in bio to see... https://t.co/Fx15rUXeaU

Load More...