Review: Owning Violet (#1, Fowler Sisters) by Monica Murphy - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Review: Owning Violet (#1, Fowler Sisters) by Monica Murphy

My Thoughts

A sizzling, intense erotic romance that
was entirely addictive and fun to read!



Dec-02New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy begins a sexy new contemporary romance series—perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Emma Chase—that introduces three sisters born to wealth, raised to succeed, ready to love, destined to make waves.

I’ve moved through life doing what’s expected of me. I’m the middle daughter, the dutiful daughter. The one who braved a vicious attack and survived. The one who devoted herself to her family’s business empire. The one who met an ambitious man and fell in love. We were going to run Fleur Cosmetics together, Zachary and I.

Until he got a promotion and left me in the dust. Maybe it’s for the best, between his disloyalty and his wandering eye. But another man was waiting for me. Wanting me. He too has an overwhelming thirst for success, just like Zachary—perhaps even more so. He’s also ruthless. And mysterious. I know nothing about Ryder McKay beyond that he makes me feel things I’ve never felt before.

One stolen moment, a kiss, a touch . . . and I’m hooked. Ryder’s like a powerful drug, and I’m an addict who doesn’t want to be cured. He tells me his intentions aren’t pure, and I believe him. For once, I don’t care. I’m willing to risk everything just to be with him. Including my heart. My soul.

My everything.

My Review

My first experience reading Monica Murphy and Owning Violet did not disappoint in the least! This book is incredibly sexy and irresistibly intense as the chemistry between our two protagonists blazes across the page. It’s a story that blurs the line between love and desire, between using one other and owning their heart. I found myself really drawn to all the drama and turmoil that swirled around the characters in this novel, waiting for carefully forged plans to shatter. And Ryder! Gahh… I hated him and loved him all at once.

As the middle daughter of Fleur Cosmetics owner and CEO, Forrest Fowler, Violet Fowler is the one poised to succeed… if she can keep it together, that is. She’s fiery, but fragile, having gone through a harrowing experience years prior. Now, her carefully controlled life includes a relationship with Zachary Lawrence, who is determined to climb the corporate ladder to the very top. But just when she thinks wedding bells are in her future, Zachary delivers news that breaks them apart. Not only that, she’s had enough of turning the other way to his indiscretions. She is done. Done compromising herself to be the perfect girlfriend. Done being taken advantage of to have the perfect life.

“Zachary Lawrence doesn’t deserve me. She’s said that time and again.  So has Rose. I’m starting to wonder if they’re right.”

Enter Ryder McKay. A good-looking, rough-all-over bad boy who is also climbing the ranks at Fleur. He’s dangerously alluring in every way. Life has made him hard, ruthless, and laser focused on being successful and getting away from the person who saved him from a life on the streets. One night, Ryder and his former lover, Pilar, strike an arrangement, as they both callously plan how to get to the top of the company as well. Despite it coming at a price. A price that would be very costly, especially to Ryder. And yet, the plan moves forward.

“I’m going to seduce Violet Fowler.”

When Violet leaves Zachary, she finds herself falling into the arms of Ryder, who promises to show Violet how to feel… how to let go and relinquish control… to him. The last thing she expected was to get addicted to him, to his touch, to the way he made her lose all her senses.

“I’m drawn to him like those stupid moths drawn to a flame. The ones that get closer and closer until their wings sizzle and their bodies smoke.”

The last thing he expected was falling for the girl he was supposed to use. She was a means to an end, and suddenly, all he want to do was make her his, own her completely.

“I may want to own Violet, but I’m afraid she might already own me.”

The dynamic between Ryder and Violet is red hot. They can’t get enough of each other, but at the same time they struggle to process their feelings. A frenetic push and pull ensues as their relationship, however frail, encounters problems that could rip it all to shreds. The supporting characters around them are just as intriguing, as they find themselves with multiple games at play, all of them which could reveal the ugly truth and cost Ryder the only person he’s cared about.

“This is temporary, what Ryder and I share. Like a meteor shooting across the sky, bright and hot and thrilling to watch, until it fizzles and burns into nothing.”

Monica Murphy did a great job of keeping me engaged as I devoured the pages to see what would happen next in this tumultuous relationship. It sometimes seemed like a bit too much push and pull, and I would have loved to see a couple more softer moments of connection in their story, but otherwise, I was all in and utterly absorbed. I can already see that series will pack lots of addictive drama, lots of sexiness, and lots of conflict, and I can’t wait to read the stories of Violet’s other sisters… Rose and Lily.

“She’s my woman. Mine. I own her. She fucking owns me.”


Reading Order and Links

owning violet cover fowler stealing rose cover fowler

Connect with Monica

Facebook | Twitter

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Follow VBB: Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Subscribe by Email



Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

Friday happy hour!!! 🍷 Has anyone spring-ified their bar cart yet?! You know that’s always on my…

I’ve gotten a lot of messages and questions the last couple days on the face roller I’ve showed…

Lately I’ve been really into overnight masks. I mean who doesn’t love stuff that helps your skin…

Just started listening to THE WICKED DEEP by @sheaernshaw! The blurb totally drew me in plus the…

What’s your go-to foundation??? Just recently I received a box of goodies of @lauramercier…

Finally got OBSIDIO in the mail and I can’t wait to start it! This series has been one of my…

Finally got OBSIDIO in the mail and I can’t wait to start it! This series has been one of my…

I’ve been so excited for today’s #tuesdayshoesday post! I scored these sneakers at @target for…

If you loved THE NIGHTINGALE, you’ll love Kristin Harmel’s newest book, THE ROOM ON RUE AMELIE—a…

On the blog this week I’m sharing some way-less-expensive dupes for 7 high-end eye shadow…

Love in Suspense Q&A: @vilmairisblog highlights author @simone_stjames & her upcoming modern ghost story, The Broken Girls (out March 20)

Love in Suspense Q&A: @vilmairisblog highlights author @simone_stjames and her upcoming modern ghost story, The Broken Girls (out March 20) @BerkleyPub

Dupes for 7 High-End Eye Shadow Palettes!

2 Easy Go-To Recipes For Dinner + Dinner Parties + Girls’ Night In

Audiobook Review: Dane's Storm by @msheridanauthor! @audible_com

Read an excerpt from The Room on Rue Amélie by @KristinHarmel!

Read an excerpt from The Broken Girls by @simone_stjames! @berkleypub

I feel like a sale fairy 🧚‍♀️ this weekend, but you guys, I paid $11.85 for these today at…

📣 SALE ALERT!!! 📣 My pearl embellished sneakers are $39 right now!!! I have them in two colors…

Had to tell you guys about this sale! This cardi is $34 and the peplum cami is $12. Love these…

Load More...