Review: Owning Violet (#1, Fowler Sisters) by Monica Murphy - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Review: Owning Violet (#1, Fowler Sisters) by Monica Murphy

My Thoughts

A sizzling, intense erotic romance that
was entirely addictive and fun to read!

4stars

Synopsis

Dec-02New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy begins a sexy new contemporary romance series—perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Emma Chase—that introduces three sisters born to wealth, raised to succeed, ready to love, destined to make waves.

I’ve moved through life doing what’s expected of me. I’m the middle daughter, the dutiful daughter. The one who braved a vicious attack and survived. The one who devoted herself to her family’s business empire. The one who met an ambitious man and fell in love. We were going to run Fleur Cosmetics together, Zachary and I.

Until he got a promotion and left me in the dust. Maybe it’s for the best, between his disloyalty and his wandering eye. But another man was waiting for me. Wanting me. He too has an overwhelming thirst for success, just like Zachary—perhaps even more so. He’s also ruthless. And mysterious. I know nothing about Ryder McKay beyond that he makes me feel things I’ve never felt before.

One stolen moment, a kiss, a touch . . . and I’m hooked. Ryder’s like a powerful drug, and I’m an addict who doesn’t want to be cured. He tells me his intentions aren’t pure, and I believe him. For once, I don’t care. I’m willing to risk everything just to be with him. Including my heart. My soul.

My everything.

My Review

My first experience reading Monica Murphy and Owning Violet did not disappoint in the least! This book is incredibly sexy and irresistibly intense as the chemistry between our two protagonists blazes across the page. It’s a story that blurs the line between love and desire, between using one other and owning their heart. I found myself really drawn to all the drama and turmoil that swirled around the characters in this novel, waiting for carefully forged plans to shatter. And Ryder! Gahh… I hated him and loved him all at once.

As the middle daughter of Fleur Cosmetics owner and CEO, Forrest Fowler, Violet Fowler is the one poised to succeed… if she can keep it together, that is. She’s fiery, but fragile, having gone through a harrowing experience years prior. Now, her carefully controlled life includes a relationship with Zachary Lawrence, who is determined to climb the corporate ladder to the very top. But just when she thinks wedding bells are in her future, Zachary delivers news that breaks them apart. Not only that, she’s had enough of turning the other way to his indiscretions. She is done. Done compromising herself to be the perfect girlfriend. Done being taken advantage of to have the perfect life.

“Zachary Lawrence doesn’t deserve me. She’s said that time and again.  So has Rose. I’m starting to wonder if they’re right.”

Enter Ryder McKay. A good-looking, rough-all-over bad boy who is also climbing the ranks at Fleur. He’s dangerously alluring in every way. Life has made him hard, ruthless, and laser focused on being successful and getting away from the person who saved him from a life on the streets. One night, Ryder and his former lover, Pilar, strike an arrangement, as they both callously plan how to get to the top of the company as well. Despite it coming at a price. A price that would be very costly, especially to Ryder. And yet, the plan moves forward.

“I’m going to seduce Violet Fowler.”

When Violet leaves Zachary, she finds herself falling into the arms of Ryder, who promises to show Violet how to feel… how to let go and relinquish control… to him. The last thing she expected was to get addicted to him, to his touch, to the way he made her lose all her senses.

“I’m drawn to him like those stupid moths drawn to a flame. The ones that get closer and closer until their wings sizzle and their bodies smoke.”

The last thing he expected was falling for the girl he was supposed to use. She was a means to an end, and suddenly, all he want to do was make her his, own her completely.

“I may want to own Violet, but I’m afraid she might already own me.”

The dynamic between Ryder and Violet is red hot. They can’t get enough of each other, but at the same time they struggle to process their feelings. A frenetic push and pull ensues as their relationship, however frail, encounters problems that could rip it all to shreds. The supporting characters around them are just as intriguing, as they find themselves with multiple games at play, all of them which could reveal the ugly truth and cost Ryder the only person he’s cared about.

“This is temporary, what Ryder and I share. Like a meteor shooting across the sky, bright and hot and thrilling to watch, until it fizzles and burns into nothing.”

Monica Murphy did a great job of keeping me engaged as I devoured the pages to see what would happen next in this tumultuous relationship. It sometimes seemed like a bit too much push and pull, and I would have loved to see a couple more softer moments of connection in their story, but otherwise, I was all in and utterly absorbed. I can already see that series will pack lots of addictive drama, lots of sexiness, and lots of conflict, and I can’t wait to read the stories of Violet’s other sisters… Rose and Lily.

“She’s my woman. Mine. I own her. She fucking owns me.”

addseriestogoodreads

Reading Order and Links

owning violet cover fowler stealing rose cover fowler

Connect with Monica

Facebook | Twitter

a Rafflecopter giveaway

✦✦✦✦✦

Follow VBB: Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Subscribe by Email

 

 

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

Getting my #ValentinesDay vibes on with this super cute beanie and coffee cozy my mom made for me! #perks Check out her goodies at @vilmaknits <3 I think she probably gets tired of everything I want her to make... https://t.co/YwFv5fGabH

Getting my #ValentinesDay vibes on with this super cute beanie and coffee cozy my mom made for me! #perks Check out her goodies at vilmaknits <3 I think she probably gets tired of… https://t.co/ia8nLx0c9B

If V. C. Andrews and Kate Morton had a literary love child, Emma Rous' The Au Pair would be it.
Has anyone read this book by @EJRous? I finished it this past weekend and feel like that… https://t.co/RHxxPAduo0

𝑬𝑵𝑫𝑺 𝑨𝑻 𝑴𝑰𝑫𝑵𝑰𝑮𝑯𝑻!!! Have you entered to win 1 of 1,000 ARCs of THE GIRL HE USED TO KNOW by @tgarvisgraves?! Today is the last day to enter! Tag your friends and book club members below,… https://t.co/77071zVGZP

Author @kbuttonw shares her favorite Lowcountry books! https://t.co/Oe6UMoVWpb

I can't wait to start 𝗪𝗛𝗘𝗡 𝗔𝗦𝗛𝗘𝗦 𝗙𝗔𝗟𝗟 by marnimann! Have any of you read this love story early or are you planning to read it??? It’s out tomorrow, but so excited to share a sneak peek… https://t.co/djT4O9IvCK

Read an excerpt from Dragon Claimed by @Donna_Grant! @1001DarkNights https://t.co/WqXP4jj4Fu

Read an excerpt from When Ashes Fall by @MarniMann! https://t.co/tCCLb4beOt

Exclusive Cover Reveal: #Mine by @Court_Writes! @SimonBooks - a raw & riveting story of a collapsing marriage. https://t.co/JHXo1DFoIs

My Most Anticipated Books of Early 2019! See the list! https://t.co/9HxPBV60hf

Finally had the chance to meet the fabulous @blackholly at BookPeople and I’m as obsessed with her as I am with her books. She’s super cool and kind! 🖤 It took everything for me not to talk about all the things... https://t.co/5ofEi3Mq5u

Finally had the chance to meet the fabulous @hollyblack at @bookpeople and I’m as obsessed with her as I am with her books. She’s super cool and kind! 🖤 It took everything for me not to… https://t.co/SSOygF7ivi

It's the BIGGEST GIVEAWAY I've ever done! 😲 - https://t.co/sEhfjWf2hE

See the cover reveal for #After by my girl @imaginator1d!!! I love love love it!!! #Hessa https://t.co/OKearR23HI

Look at the new movie tie-in cover of 𝗔 𝗙 𝗧 𝗘 𝗥 by my girl @imaginator1dx!!! I lovvvve it!!! What do you think?! This new cover celebrates the upcoming movie (April) starring @FT_Hero97… https://t.co/68408lKBrs

Who else is reading this right now??? It’s so darn good and so freaking hard not being able to ignore the world to just immerse myself in this book!!!! I mean, gahhhh, hello tension with… https://t.co/J7u4zwaTTA

Oh my gosh! SOMETIMES I LIE by Alice Feeney is being made into a TV show and I cannot wait! 😱@sarahmgellar will star and executive produce. Loved this book so much—about a woman who wakes… https://t.co/ngfPiI5KlV

Do you have any resolutions or goals for your skin this year? 🧖🏻‍♀️ For me, it’s continuing to be consistent with my regimen, not skipping washing my face and using my products even when… https://t.co/ype0hloeS0

I just posted another MASSIVE ARC giveaway on my FB author page. This time, the amazing @vilmairisblog is taking the reins. Make sure you enter - the odds are excellent! Another 1,000 copies of The Girl He Used to Know are up for grabs. https://t.co/0RgsNqyUKD

✖️𝐌𝐀𝐒𝐒𝐈𝐕𝐄 𝐆𝐈𝐕𝐄𝐀𝐖𝐀𝐘!!!! ✖️
I'm so freaking excited to partner with @stmartinspress to give you the chance to win 1 of 1,000 ARCs of 𝐓𝐇𝐄 𝐆𝐈𝐑𝐋 𝐇𝐄 𝐔𝐒𝐄𝐃 𝐓𝐎 𝐊𝐍𝐎𝐖 by @tgarvisgraves! This is a… https://t.co/LKIgp3o5nz

Load More...