Exclusive Excerpt: Taming Lily (#3, The Fowler Sisters) by Monica Murphy - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Exclusive Excerpt: Taming Lily (#3, The Fowler Sisters) by Monica Murphy

unnamed

Coming next is the third installment in the sexy romance series, The Fowler Sisters. Now,  it’s Lily Fowler’s story that we’ll experience, as she meets an alluring man while she tries to escape it all. But Lily can’t run from her troubles permanently. I’m excited to share an excerpt from Taming Lily, which will be out next week!

Taming Lily: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks ✦

Synopsis

Perfect for fans of Christina Lauren, Emma Chase, and Maya Banks, the anticipated finale in New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy’s sexy contemporary romance series about three fiery and determined sisters with their own ideas about life and love.

I’m in trouble. Again. And instead of facing my problems head on, I’ve run away. Far away this time, and no one can catch me—not my two younger sisters, Violet and Rose, not my father, my grandmother, or that witch Pilar who wants to take control of my family’s cosmetics company. Now I’m in Hawaii, enjoying the sun and the sand and water, where nobody knows the hot mess known as Lily Fowler. And I’m loving every minute of it.

But someone is watching me. Following me. He’s gorgeous. And soon we’re talking, and against all my instincts, I reveal bits and pieces of myself to Max. It feels good, though I know he can’t be the man for me. These sudden feelings we share are way too complicated, too fraught, too intense.

Then everything explodes and I’m forced to return home. My intentions have always been true, but now everyone’s mad at me. I don’t know who to turn to anymore . . . except to Max. He’s who I want to trust. But I’m not so sure I should. Maybe it’s worth the risk—and what-ifs be damned. . .

Excerpt

“Well, well, you’re alive,” rose greets me, sounding extra grumpy. “I hope you know I’ve been worried sick. In fact—”

I cut her off before she can get another word in. “I need you to promise you won’t tell anyone that you talked to me.”

She pauses, and I can hear her suck in a harsh breath. “Why?”

“No questions. Promise me, Rose.” My voice is as firm as my resolve. If she can’t promise, I’m ending this call. And I won’t call her again until I’m back in Manhattan.

Not sure when that’s going to happen, though.

“I can’t tell Violet?” she asks. “She’s worried too. I don’t want to keep secrets from her.”

“Especially not Violet.” She’d have no problem continually calling me, wearing me down until I have to answer. And then she’d most likely heap on the guilt, and that’s the last thing I want to deal with. “No one else can know where I am.”

“But why? Are you in hiding or what? The gossip sites have been wondering where you’ve disappeared to.” Another pause. “And what about Caden? I tell him everything. He’s the last person I can keep a secret from.”

I want to roll my eyes but don’t. Besides, the effort would be wasted because no one can see me. Of course she tells her husband everything. They’re so close, so madly in love and wrapped up in their own little world.

And I’m all alone in my hotel suite, my hand patched up and wrapped tightly, a little high on pain medication. Talk about a shitty start to my so-called vacation. “Not even Caden. I’m trusting you, baby sister. Only you, so I need you to promise.”

“Fine.” She sighs, sounding completely put out. “I promise.” Her voice is small and I feel a twinge of guilt for putting her through this.

But then I push right past it.

“Okay, good. I’m calling to let you know I’m all right. I got your texts and I know you were worried but I swear, every- thing’s fine. I’ll be home soon,” I tell her in a rush of words.

I can’t admit the real reason I called her. That I was scared when I came to after I passed out—something I don’t really remember even doing—and found myself lying on the beach, two medics hovering above me and checking my pulse, cleaning my wound and making me yelp in pain. I was so disoriented and scared and I had no one. Absolutely no one to stand by my side and reassure me that everything was going to be all right.

I was alone. I didn’t even have my mystery rescuer to help me out. He’d ditched me the minute I passed out, I guess. The hotel employee didn’t catch his name; he had no idea who he was and neither did I.

They put me in an ambulance and took me to a nearby hospital despite my weak protests. Luckily I didn’t need stitches, just a few butterfly bandages to keep the gash closed and my hand wrapped in white gauze and a weird fishnet-looking covering that kept everything in place. They put me on antibiotics and pain meds, filling the prescriptions right there in the hospital pharmacy before they sent me on my merry way.

It had been a terrifying experience. So horribly real, when I rarely, if ever, have to deal with the real world. It’s as if I’ve lived my entire life playing pretend and when shit finally got ugly and I couldn’t run, as per my usual mode of operation, I didn’t know how to handle it.

That’s why I reached out to Rose. I needed to hear her voice, needed her to ground me and remind me that I do have someone I can count on.

series goodreads 2

Reading Order

Each book can be read as a standalone.

 

About Monica

New York Times, USA Today and international bestselling author Monica Murphy is a native Californian who lives in the foothills below Yosemite with her husband and three children. She’s a workaholic who loves her job. When she’s not busy writing, she also loves to read and travel with her family. She writes new adult and contemporary romance and is published with Bantam and Avon. She also writes romance as USA Today bestselling author Karen Erickson.

Facebook | Twitter | Website

✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦

follow vbb 3

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram | Goodreads | Subscribe by Email

 

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

Getting my #ValentinesDay vibes on with this super cute beanie and coffee cozy my mom made for me! #perks Check out her goodies at @vilmaknits <3 I think she probably gets tired of everything I want her to make... https://t.co/YwFv5fGabH

Getting my #ValentinesDay vibes on with this super cute beanie and coffee cozy my mom made for me! #perks Check out her goodies at vilmaknits <3 I think she probably gets tired of… https://t.co/ia8nLx0c9B

If V. C. Andrews and Kate Morton had a literary love child, Emma Rous' The Au Pair would be it.
Has anyone read this book by @EJRous? I finished it this past weekend and feel like that… https://t.co/RHxxPAduo0

𝑬𝑵𝑫𝑺 𝑨𝑻 𝑴𝑰𝑫𝑵𝑰𝑮𝑯𝑻!!! Have you entered to win 1 of 1,000 ARCs of THE GIRL HE USED TO KNOW by @tgarvisgraves?! Today is the last day to enter! Tag your friends and book club members below,… https://t.co/77071zVGZP

Author @kbuttonw shares her favorite Lowcountry books! https://t.co/Oe6UMoVWpb

I can't wait to start 𝗪𝗛𝗘𝗡 𝗔𝗦𝗛𝗘𝗦 𝗙𝗔𝗟𝗟 by marnimann! Have any of you read this love story early or are you planning to read it??? It’s out tomorrow, but so excited to share a sneak peek… https://t.co/djT4O9IvCK

Read an excerpt from Dragon Claimed by @Donna_Grant! @1001DarkNights https://t.co/WqXP4jj4Fu

Read an excerpt from When Ashes Fall by @MarniMann! https://t.co/tCCLb4beOt

Exclusive Cover Reveal: #Mine by @Court_Writes! @SimonBooks - a raw & riveting story of a collapsing marriage. https://t.co/JHXo1DFoIs

My Most Anticipated Books of Early 2019! See the list! https://t.co/9HxPBV60hf

Finally had the chance to meet the fabulous @blackholly at BookPeople and I’m as obsessed with her as I am with her books. She’s super cool and kind! 🖤 It took everything for me not to talk about all the things... https://t.co/5ofEi3Mq5u

Finally had the chance to meet the fabulous @hollyblack at @bookpeople and I’m as obsessed with her as I am with her books. She’s super cool and kind! 🖤 It took everything for me not to… https://t.co/SSOygF7ivi

It's the BIGGEST GIVEAWAY I've ever done! 😲 - https://t.co/sEhfjWf2hE

See the cover reveal for #After by my girl @imaginator1d!!! I love love love it!!! #Hessa https://t.co/OKearR23HI

Look at the new movie tie-in cover of 𝗔 𝗙 𝗧 𝗘 𝗥 by my girl @imaginator1dx!!! I lovvvve it!!! What do you think?! This new cover celebrates the upcoming movie (April) starring @FT_Hero97… https://t.co/68408lKBrs

Who else is reading this right now??? It’s so darn good and so freaking hard not being able to ignore the world to just immerse myself in this book!!!! I mean, gahhhh, hello tension with… https://t.co/J7u4zwaTTA

Oh my gosh! SOMETIMES I LIE by Alice Feeney is being made into a TV show and I cannot wait! 😱@sarahmgellar will star and executive produce. Loved this book so much—about a woman who wakes… https://t.co/ngfPiI5KlV

Do you have any resolutions or goals for your skin this year? 🧖🏻‍♀️ For me, it’s continuing to be consistent with my regimen, not skipping washing my face and using my products even when… https://t.co/ype0hloeS0

I just posted another MASSIVE ARC giveaway on my FB author page. This time, the amazing @vilmairisblog is taking the reins. Make sure you enter - the odds are excellent! Another 1,000 copies of The Girl He Used to Know are up for grabs. https://t.co/0RgsNqyUKD

✖️𝐌𝐀𝐒𝐒𝐈𝐕𝐄 𝐆𝐈𝐕𝐄𝐀𝐖𝐀𝐘!!!! ✖️
I'm so freaking excited to partner with @stmartinspress to give you the chance to win 1 of 1,000 ARCs of 𝐓𝐇𝐄 𝐆𝐈𝐑𝐋 𝐇𝐄 𝐔𝐒𝐄𝐃 𝐓𝐎 𝐊𝐍𝐎𝐖 by @tgarvisgraves! This is a… https://t.co/LKIgp3o5nz

Load More...