Exclusive Excerpt: Taming Lily (#3, The Fowler Sisters) by Monica Murphy - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Exclusive Excerpt: Taming Lily (#3, The Fowler Sisters) by Monica Murphy

unnamed

Coming next is the third installment in the sexy romance series, The Fowler Sisters. Now,  it’s Lily Fowler’s story that we’ll experience, as she meets an alluring man while she tries to escape it all. But Lily can’t run from her troubles permanently. I’m excited to share an excerpt from Taming Lily, which will be out next week!

Taming Lily: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks ✦

Synopsis

Perfect for fans of Christina Lauren, Emma Chase, and Maya Banks, the anticipated finale in New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy’s sexy contemporary romance series about three fiery and determined sisters with their own ideas about life and love.

I’m in trouble. Again. And instead of facing my problems head on, I’ve run away. Far away this time, and no one can catch me—not my two younger sisters, Violet and Rose, not my father, my grandmother, or that witch Pilar who wants to take control of my family’s cosmetics company. Now I’m in Hawaii, enjoying the sun and the sand and water, where nobody knows the hot mess known as Lily Fowler. And I’m loving every minute of it.

But someone is watching me. Following me. He’s gorgeous. And soon we’re talking, and against all my instincts, I reveal bits and pieces of myself to Max. It feels good, though I know he can’t be the man for me. These sudden feelings we share are way too complicated, too fraught, too intense.

Then everything explodes and I’m forced to return home. My intentions have always been true, but now everyone’s mad at me. I don’t know who to turn to anymore . . . except to Max. He’s who I want to trust. But I’m not so sure I should. Maybe it’s worth the risk—and what-ifs be damned. . .

Excerpt

“Well, well, you’re alive,” rose greets me, sounding extra grumpy. “I hope you know I’ve been worried sick. In fact—”

I cut her off before she can get another word in. “I need you to promise you won’t tell anyone that you talked to me.”

She pauses, and I can hear her suck in a harsh breath. “Why?”

“No questions. Promise me, Rose.” My voice is as firm as my resolve. If she can’t promise, I’m ending this call. And I won’t call her again until I’m back in Manhattan.

Not sure when that’s going to happen, though.

“I can’t tell Violet?” she asks. “She’s worried too. I don’t want to keep secrets from her.”

“Especially not Violet.” She’d have no problem continually calling me, wearing me down until I have to answer. And then she’d most likely heap on the guilt, and that’s the last thing I want to deal with. “No one else can know where I am.”

“But why? Are you in hiding or what? The gossip sites have been wondering where you’ve disappeared to.” Another pause. “And what about Caden? I tell him everything. He’s the last person I can keep a secret from.”

I want to roll my eyes but don’t. Besides, the effort would be wasted because no one can see me. Of course she tells her husband everything. They’re so close, so madly in love and wrapped up in their own little world.

And I’m all alone in my hotel suite, my hand patched up and wrapped tightly, a little high on pain medication. Talk about a shitty start to my so-called vacation. “Not even Caden. I’m trusting you, baby sister. Only you, so I need you to promise.”

“Fine.” She sighs, sounding completely put out. “I promise.” Her voice is small and I feel a twinge of guilt for putting her through this.

But then I push right past it.

“Okay, good. I’m calling to let you know I’m all right. I got your texts and I know you were worried but I swear, every- thing’s fine. I’ll be home soon,” I tell her in a rush of words.

I can’t admit the real reason I called her. That I was scared when I came to after I passed out—something I don’t really remember even doing—and found myself lying on the beach, two medics hovering above me and checking my pulse, cleaning my wound and making me yelp in pain. I was so disoriented and scared and I had no one. Absolutely no one to stand by my side and reassure me that everything was going to be all right.

I was alone. I didn’t even have my mystery rescuer to help me out. He’d ditched me the minute I passed out, I guess. The hotel employee didn’t catch his name; he had no idea who he was and neither did I.

They put me in an ambulance and took me to a nearby hospital despite my weak protests. Luckily I didn’t need stitches, just a few butterfly bandages to keep the gash closed and my hand wrapped in white gauze and a weird fishnet-looking covering that kept everything in place. They put me on antibiotics and pain meds, filling the prescriptions right there in the hospital pharmacy before they sent me on my merry way.

It had been a terrifying experience. So horribly real, when I rarely, if ever, have to deal with the real world. It’s as if I’ve lived my entire life playing pretend and when shit finally got ugly and I couldn’t run, as per my usual mode of operation, I didn’t know how to handle it.

That’s why I reached out to Rose. I needed to hear her voice, needed her to ground me and remind me that I do have someone I can count on.

series goodreads 2

Reading Order

Each book can be read as a standalone.

 

About Monica

New York Times, USA Today and international bestselling author Monica Murphy is a native Californian who lives in the foothills below Yosemite with her husband and three children. She’s a workaholic who loves her job. When she’s not busy writing, she also loves to read and travel with her family. She writes new adult and contemporary romance and is published with Bantam and Avon. She also writes romance as USA Today bestselling author Karen Erickson.

Facebook | Twitter | Website

✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦

follow vbb 3

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram | Goodreads | Subscribe by Email

 

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

Natural, shiny swipe of color today thanks to the @lauramercier Lip Glacé in Blush ❥ Loving this lightweight, non-sticky formula. Are you a gloss wearer??? 👉🏻 Double tap the pic if you… https://t.co/P3jWQyPafR

Boot season is upon us (yaaaayyyyy!) and this week on the blog I’m sharing my favorite, summer-to-fall transition booties! These are all versatile yet different, so your shoe closet is set… https://t.co/VPi5izxQHc

🎉 𝗚𝗜𝗩𝗘𝗔𝗪𝗔𝗬!!! 🎉 We just got home from vacation and one of the things I took with me is THE PORTFOLIO from @commoditygoods—these are 15 unisex fragrances (about 30 sprays in each) from the… https://t.co/C34oD2mwBV

"Poignant and witty with an enemies-to-lovers thread that felt all the more fascinating and consuming with the wild Alaskan backdrop. It’s a compelling story of family, forgiveness and love that unravels with both emotional depth and delicious, romantic tension." ~ @vilmairisblog

My review for Kat Von D's LASH LINER is finally up! I know a lot of you have been waiting for this one and I gave myself two weeks with it before I wrote this review up. It's the… https://t.co/NjKfZLY02q

Okay, any historical romance readers here? 🙋🏻‍♀️🙋🏻‍♀️🙋🏻‍♀️ They are my favorite escape. I adore them! Recently I devoured all six books in the Victorian Rebels series by @Kerrigan_Byrne… https://t.co/bTWrxl3AWA

Exclusive excerpt: Vilma Iris Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog shares a sneak peek at thriller Pieces of Her by @SlaughterKarin, coming Aug. 21. #romanticthriller #policeprocedural #mystery #suspense @WmMorrowBooks @HarperCollins https://t.co/E7UhXxHO1i

Exclusive excerpt: Vilma Iris Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog shares a sneak peek at thriller Pieces of Her by @SlaughterKarin, releasing Aug. 21. #romanticthriller #policeprocedural #mystery #suspense @WmMorrowBooks @HarperCollins https://t.co/E7UhXxHO1i

Forged in Gotham City’s slums, Selina Kyle slips into the notorious cat suit to reign as the city’s fierce, new anti-hero in one of my new faves by @SJMaas’—𝗖𝗔𝗧𝗪𝗢𝗠𝗔𝗡: 𝗦𝗢𝗨𝗟𝗦𝗧𝗘𝗔𝗟𝗘𝗥. Loved… https://t.co/eOK5ffeAJC

Exclusive excerpt: Vilma Iris Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog shares a sneak peek at thriller Pieces of Her by @SlaughterKarin, arriving Aug. 21. #romanticthriller #policeprocedural #mystery #suspense @WmMorrowBooks @HarperCollins https://t.co/E7UhXxHO1i

Review: The Duke with the Dragon Tattoo by @Kerrigan_Byrne! Obsessed with this book! @StMartinsPress https://t.co/2gG29ok9n5

5 Fall Booties You Need In Your Closet! https://t.co/cnj4SVCV6K

Review + top rec: Catwoman - Soulstealer by @SJMaas! https://t.co/cyZRpIUfgv

Review + Top Rec: Pieces of Her by @slaughterkarin! @duttonbooks https://t.co/Q7zWXcbYZa

Lately I have been reaching for the new milanicosmetics palettes: SOFT & SULTRY and PURE PASSION. The shadows are sooooo pretty, with both mattes and shimmers. SOFT & SULTRY touts gorgeous… https://t.co/ovIuDkAq7N

Lately I have been reaching for the new @milanicosmetics palettes: SOFT & SULTRY and PURE PASSION. The shadows are sooooo pretty, with both mattes and shimmers. SOFT & SULTRY touts gorgeous cool neutrals that are... https://t.co/ulv1ss0at2

I'm sort of obsessed with the gorgeous cover of THE CHASE—the new book from @ElleKennedy and the first standalone in the Briar U series. I am so excited to read this! 👉🏻 Has anyone already… https://t.co/XNXtxMV6ki

Come spend #nationalbookloversday with @colleenhoover and me tonight at @bookpeople at 7 pm! I’ll be moderating her tour stop here in town!!! So excited and hope to see you there! 📚… https://t.co/M7jDF3eFPE

Imagine coming home and running into strangers moving into 𝘺𝘰𝘶𝘳 house… the house you definitely didn’t sell. On top of that, your estranged husband is nowhere to be found. That’s the… https://t.co/Rq1spRgrQ1

Load More...