Review: The Queen's Rising - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

Grave Mercy meets Red Queen in this epic debut fantasy, inspired by Renaissance France, about an outcast who finds herself bound to a disgraced lord and entangled in his plot to overthrow the current king.

Brienna desires only two things: to master her passion and to be chosen by a patron. Growing up in Valenia at the renowned Magnalia House should have prepared her. While some are born with a talent for one of the five passions—art, music, dramatics, wit, and knowledge—Brienna struggled to find hers until she chose knowledge. However, Brienna’s greatest fear comes true—she is left without a patron.

Months later, her life takes an unexpected turn when a disgraced lord offers her patronage. Suspicious of his intent, she reluctantly accepts. But there is much more to his story, for there is a dangerous plot to overthrow the king of Maevana—the rival kingdom of Valenia—and restore the rightful queen, and her magic, to the throne. And others are involved—some closer to Brienna than she realizes.

And now, with war brewing, Brienna must choose which side she will remain loyal to: passion or blood.

Book Type:

YA Fantasy

Buy Now:

Connect with Rebecca Ross:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

The Queen's Rising
By Rebecca Ross

Review: The Queen’s Rising

“One day, a queen will rise… Perhaps it will be in our lifetime, perhaps the one to follow us. But Maevana will remember who she is and unite for a great purpose.”

With THE QUEEN’S RISING, Rebecca Ross delivers an epic fantasy debut rife with secrets, adventure and romance. Every page draws you in deeper, especially as treasonous plotting and political intrigues reach a fever pitch. It’s an imaginative, girl-powered thriller set in a world inspired by Renaissance France.

We first meet 10-year-old Brienna, the illegitimate child of a Valenian mother and a mysterious not-to-be-named Maevan father, when she is taken to Magnalia House—a place where girls learn to master one of five passions: art, music, dramatics, wit and knowledge.

For seven years, Brienna works to master her passion, in hopes she will be chosen by a patron in due time (think of it like getting a job offer out of college). But her future takes an unforeseen turn and Brienna finds herself bound to a mysterious lord, embroiled in a dangerous plot to overthrow the ruthless king of Maevana. Their quest: restore the legitimate queen, and magic, to the throne.

Along the way, however, more secrets are revealed, more hidden identities uncovered, challenging everything she knew and hoped for. Soon, Brienna would be forced to choose between blood and passion.

With so much happening, the narrative races from beginning to end—there’s never a lull amidst all the treasonous plotting. I loved the characters and the depth to the story. Loved the adventure and suspense, and of course, the delicious tension of a slow-burning romance. It’s an imaginative, exciting, beautifully-written fantasy perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sarah J. Maas. Don’t miss this one.

“He kissed the left corner of my mouth, the girl I had once been who he had first loved, Valenian grace and passion. And then he kissed the right corner of my lips, the woman I had become, who had risen from ashes and steel, courage and fire.”

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

The #NSALE is now public, which means anyone can shop the big sale! Sharing my faves still in stock on the blog!
.
💻: https://t.co/ceJxaS8pnV or link in bio!!! @ Austin, Texas https://t.co/nWsBS9cNzn

There are so many hilarious scenes in this book, but this one made me laugh SO hard, and I get to share it with you on the Blog today!!! If you love your RomComs laced with heart-pounding action, look no further!!! @KylieScottbooks has done it again!! ♥️

https://t.co/cNfESSdbkT

TGIF!!! This has felt like the longgggest week and I’m so ready to unwind! 🍷 Did any of you guys shop today??? In case you hadn’t noticed, leopard print is a huge part of this year’s #NSALE and I’m here for it! My… https://t.co/4PT96VhX3I

My #NSale post is live!!!! Early picks on the blog & more coming soon! Link in bio or https://t.co/2aGacVHIKU ⭐️🛍 @ Austin, Texas https://t.co/gPgemSP7rD

Have you guys read any of the Harry Hole novels by Jo Nesbø??? 🕵🏻‍♂️🙋🏻‍♀️ I am such a huge fan of this series and it feels like the books keep getting better and better! KNIFE, his latest, is out now and is perhaps… https://t.co/pvMapzWLkN

What makes you feel most at home? 🏡 For me, it's a cup of coffee, and oversized sweater and a good book I can escape into. In #UnderCurrents, the latest from #1 NYT bestselling author norarobertsauthor (out today!),… https://t.co/AU3uPMybha

Did you guys have a nice weekend??? It was so so good to unplug and spend time with my family. I needed that break badly and bet you guys did too! I finished two books (yay!!!) and binged watched Stranger... https://t.co/YH3Mm6cw5h

Happy 4th!!! 🇺🇸🎇📖 What are you guys up to today?! I just put a 🍓cake in the oven (see stories for recipe), then we’re headed to see spidermanmovie in a while, and bbq-ing tonight with family! @ Austin, Texas https://t.co/YcbYziYpzr

Any recent beauty faves to share??? This week on the blog I’m sharing some June faves... products I’ve been using & loving!!! Makeup, skincare and hair! Head to https://t.co/ceJxaS8pnV or link in bio to see what made my list… https://t.co/0eEP5sCRTZ

Load More...
SUBSCRIBE TO MY BLOG