Review: The Queen's Rising - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

Grave Mercy meets Red Queen in this epic debut fantasy, inspired by Renaissance France, about an outcast who finds herself bound to a disgraced lord and entangled in his plot to overthrow the current king.

Brienna desires only two things: to master her passion and to be chosen by a patron. Growing up in Valenia at the renowned Magnalia House should have prepared her. While some are born with a talent for one of the five passions—art, music, dramatics, wit, and knowledge—Brienna struggled to find hers until she chose knowledge. However, Brienna’s greatest fear comes true—she is left without a patron.

Months later, her life takes an unexpected turn when a disgraced lord offers her patronage. Suspicious of his intent, she reluctantly accepts. But there is much more to his story, for there is a dangerous plot to overthrow the king of Maevana—the rival kingdom of Valenia—and restore the rightful queen, and her magic, to the throne. And others are involved—some closer to Brienna than she realizes.

And now, with war brewing, Brienna must choose which side she will remain loyal to: passion or blood.

Book Type:

YA Fantasy

Buy Now:

Connect with Rebecca Ross:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

The Queen's Rising
By Rebecca Ross

Review: The Queen’s Rising

“One day, a queen will rise… Perhaps it will be in our lifetime, perhaps the one to follow us. But Maevana will remember who she is and unite for a great purpose.”

With THE QUEEN’S RISING, Rebecca Ross delivers an epic fantasy debut rife with secrets, adventure and romance. Every page draws you in deeper, especially as treasonous plotting and political intrigues reach a fever pitch. It’s an imaginative, girl-powered thriller set in a world inspired by Renaissance France.

We first meet 10-year-old Brienna, the illegitimate child of a Valenian mother and a mysterious not-to-be-named Maevan father, when she is taken to Magnalia House—a place where girls learn to master one of five passions: art, music, dramatics, wit and knowledge.

For seven years, Brienna works to master her passion, in hopes she will be chosen by a patron in due time (think of it like getting a job offer out of college). But her future takes an unforeseen turn and Brienna finds herself bound to a mysterious lord, embroiled in a dangerous plot to overthrow the ruthless king of Maevana. Their quest: restore the legitimate queen, and magic, to the throne.

Along the way, however, more secrets are revealed, more hidden identities uncovered, challenging everything she knew and hoped for. Soon, Brienna would be forced to choose between blood and passion.

With so much happening, the narrative races from beginning to end—there’s never a lull amidst all the treasonous plotting. I loved the characters and the depth to the story. Loved the adventure and suspense, and of course, the delicious tension of a slow-burning romance. It’s an imaginative, exciting, beautifully-written fantasy perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sarah J. Maas. Don’t miss this one.

“He kissed the left corner of my mouth, the girl I had once been who he had first loved, Valenian grace and passion. And then he kissed the right corner of my lips, the woman I had become, who had risen from ashes and steel, courage and fire.”

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

🎉 𝗚𝗜𝗩𝗘𝗔𝗪𝗔𝗬!!! 🎉 We just got home from vacation and one of the things I took with me is THE PORTFOLIO from @commoditygoods—these are 15 unisex fragrances (about 30 sprays in each) from the… https://t.co/C34oD2mwBV

"Poignant and witty with an enemies-to-lovers thread that felt all the more fascinating and consuming with the wild Alaskan backdrop. It’s a compelling story of family, forgiveness and love that unravels with both emotional depth and delicious, romantic tension." ~ @vilmairisblog

My review for Kat Von D's LASH LINER is finally up! I know a lot of you have been waiting for this one and I gave myself two weeks with it before I wrote this review up. It's the… https://t.co/NjKfZLY02q

Okay, any historical romance readers here? 🙋🏻‍♀️🙋🏻‍♀️🙋🏻‍♀️ They are my favorite escape. I adore them! Recently I devoured all six books in the Victorian Rebels series by @Kerrigan_Byrne… https://t.co/bTWrxl3AWA

Exclusive excerpt: Vilma Iris Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog shares a sneak peek at thriller Pieces of Her by @SlaughterKarin, coming Aug. 21. #romanticthriller #policeprocedural #mystery #suspense @WmMorrowBooks @HarperCollins https://t.co/E7UhXxHO1i

Exclusive excerpt: Vilma Iris Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog shares a sneak peek at thriller Pieces of Her by @SlaughterKarin, releasing Aug. 21. #romanticthriller #policeprocedural #mystery #suspense @WmMorrowBooks @HarperCollins https://t.co/E7UhXxHO1i

Forged in Gotham City’s slums, Selina Kyle slips into the notorious cat suit to reign as the city’s fierce, new anti-hero in one of my new faves by @SJMaas’—𝗖𝗔𝗧𝗪𝗢𝗠𝗔𝗡: 𝗦𝗢𝗨𝗟𝗦𝗧𝗘𝗔𝗟𝗘𝗥. Loved… https://t.co/eOK5ffeAJC

Exclusive excerpt: Vilma Iris Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog shares a sneak peek at thriller Pieces of Her by @SlaughterKarin, arriving Aug. 21. #romanticthriller #policeprocedural #mystery #suspense @WmMorrowBooks @HarperCollins https://t.co/E7UhXxHO1i

Review: The Duke with the Dragon Tattoo by @Kerrigan_Byrne! Obsessed with this book! @StMartinsPress https://t.co/2gG29ok9n5

5 Fall Booties You Need In Your Closet! https://t.co/cnj4SVCV6K

Review + top rec: Catwoman - Soulstealer by @SJMaas! https://t.co/cyZRpIUfgv

Review + Top Rec: Pieces of Her by @slaughterkarin! @duttonbooks https://t.co/Q7zWXcbYZa

Lately I have been reaching for the new milanicosmetics palettes: SOFT & SULTRY and PURE PASSION. The shadows are sooooo pretty, with both mattes and shimmers. SOFT & SULTRY touts gorgeous… https://t.co/ovIuDkAq7N

Lately I have been reaching for the new @milanicosmetics palettes: SOFT & SULTRY and PURE PASSION. The shadows are sooooo pretty, with both mattes and shimmers. SOFT & SULTRY touts gorgeous cool neutrals that are... https://t.co/ulv1ss0at2

I'm sort of obsessed with the gorgeous cover of THE CHASE—the new book from @ElleKennedy and the first standalone in the Briar U series. I am so excited to read this! 👉🏻 Has anyone already… https://t.co/XNXtxMV6ki

Come spend #nationalbookloversday with @colleenhoover and me tonight at @bookpeople at 7 pm! I’ll be moderating her tour stop here in town!!! So excited and hope to see you there! 📚… https://t.co/M7jDF3eFPE

Imagine coming home and running into strangers moving into 𝘺𝘰𝘶𝘳 house… the house you definitely didn’t sell. On top of that, your estranged husband is nowhere to be found. That’s the… https://t.co/Rq1spRgrQ1

Major 📚 release day with some really great books coming out today! In case you didn’t know, every Monday I have a post called THE WEEKLY EDIT which shares all new 📖 releases, along with… https://t.co/ehJ2WgFYB6

So obsessed with the new Hourglass Scattered Light Glitter Eye Shadows. They give off the most gorgeous sparkle, whether you swipe them on their own, or layer them with other shadows. I… https://t.co/U3BgrgsHW6

Load More...