Review: The Woman In The Window - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

Book Type:

Psychological Thriller

Buy Now:

Connect with A.J. Finn:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

The Woman In The Window
By A.J. Finn

Review: The Woman In The Window

A.J. Finn (who in real life hails from the publishing world as a former book editor) delivers a superbly tense and twisty thriller with THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW. Gradually the story tangles and twines, weaving together multiple storylines masterfully. Before too long, you’ll find yourself consumed by a story punctuated by its many gasp-out-loud surprises. Finn pays homage to Hitchock in the narrative, and the story certainly touts a Hitchockian vibe. Best of all, with a bevy of unreliable narrator thrillers out there, this one certainly raises the stakes again. Smart, atmospheric and unputdownable.

The story begins with a Rear Window (Hitchock, 1954) setup: Agoraphobic and former child psychologist Anna Fox spies on her neighbors while chugging merlot and popping pills. She hasn’t left her home in months, spending her days depleting cases of wine and watching movies. Anna speaks to her husband (from whom she’s separated) and daughter on the phone, sees her psychiatrist and therapist when they make house calls, plays chess online, and moderates an online support group of other agoraphobics. She’s fascinated with the lives of her neighbors, all of whom she spies on through the lens of her Nikon camera.

A new family has moved in across the park—the Russells—and she knows everything about them already (she’s become quite the online sleuth). But then the doorbell rings one day, and the teenage son of the Russells enters her home (which is hardly suitable for visitors with its litany of empty wine bottles scattered about). Soon after, Anna and his mother, Jane Russell, are slugging down wine together and she becomes even more entrenched in this family she watches from her window.

But it’s what Anna sees one day that really sends the story into a tailspin. She’s witnessed a crime and no one believes her. Worse yet, the Russells are lying, covering up what she inadvertently saw.

Ratcheting tension and plaguing questions fuel the narrative. Is what Anna saw real? What happened to Anna that made her such a severe agoraphobic? What happened with her husband? Is someone after her, and if so, who?

Finn really delivers a whip-smart psychological suspense that will keep you guessing. Well-crafted and thoughtful, this has been the thriller I had been waiting for. I listened to it on Audible, which was fantastic too. It’s no surprise it’s already in development as a major film from Fox.  Really well done, and can’t wait to see more from A.J. Finn.

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

2 Comments:


  1. Jennifer | Mrs Q Book Addict said:

    I have this one on my wishlist. I’ve seen such rave reviews, I really need to get it soon!

    Reply

  2. Elouan said:

    Well, I”m officially in tears. “walking across those stones by myself. SOB!! I”m always in awe of your Wednesday morning tradition. I see overlapping in life too, just 4 years apart instead of 6. ESPECIALLY now that we”re back where we lived when Ethan was little, though we moved before he was the age Finn is nowwow that is confusing. But I laughed out loud at the tantruming E (which I CANNOT imagine in a million years, please tell her I said this while you evil-laugh), because I also have a memory of carrying a tantruming E (in this case, Ethan) out of the gardens. It was on Easter, he was doing splendidly until the Rose Garden, where he insisted on doing something to which we said no and chaos ensued. We were able to exit out the side gate (oh the relief!!) because we”d parked on Tower Grove Ave, I clearly remember carrying him with the one leg over an arm while the other flailed madly. I say it”s not a walk of shame, it”s a walk of valor. You didn”t give in, you survived. I all but high-five moms dealing with tantruming toddlers because it”s amazing. And, bonus, you can taunt them with that fact every time you visitI do. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

Read an excerpt from The Unbreakables by @lisabarr18! https://t.co/rmkHmjcg4D @getredpr

Read an excerpt for Take The Bride by @carlyphillips! @1001darknights https://t.co/TM65Q5puH4

𝗚𝗜𝗩𝗘𝗔𝗪𝗔𝗬 𝗧𝗜𝗠𝗘 ☀️🏖 I’m teaming up with friends to help THREE of you jump into summer with $125 PayPal Cash or a $125 #Amazon gift card!!!⁣

Here’s how to enter: ⁣

1. Follow: @authorrsgrey @EJ_MELLOW… https://t.co/ZysSK8mac2

Do you read paranormal romances? That was one of the genres I read heavily when I was a teen, and certainly now too – I love them! @WaterhousePress sent me UNDEFEATED (out today), which is Volume 5 in the #BloodBlond… https://t.co/tbwdysQqkN

Excerpt: Undeniable by #MelanieHarlow! @jennw23 https://t.co/q2GO898AV6

Excerpted: Undefeated by @HelenHardt! @waterhousepress https://t.co/mzcyQtFqcy

TGIF friends!!! Getting ready details ✨⁣⁣
⁣⁣
@lauramercier tinted moisturizer in Natural⁣⁣
@fentybeauty bronzer in I$land Ting⁣⁣
@marcbeauty shadow in O!Mercy⁣⁣
@HourglassMakeup SL in Bronze⁣⁣
glossier Lash Slick… https://t.co/7kznUdIUxN

What are you reading next? Do you keep a reading schedule of any kind? I’m starting THOSE PEOPLE by @louise_candlish and so excited about it. I loved her last novel, OUR HOUSE and looking… https://t.co/ErQMbuXTDg

The Unhoneymooners is live! We both have eaaaaarly flights in the morning so may be slow to reply, but happy book birthday friends! If you get your copy, THANK YOU! send us a pic so we can celebrate together! https://t.co/qxroq2rdjg

#diptyqueParisgiftedme the 34 BOULEVARD SAINT GERMAIN ROOM SPRAY and we have been loving it. As you guys probably know already, I always have candles burning, wallflowers plugged in... I… https://t.co/UgXxBrpzE7

𝙉𝙀𝙒 𝘽𝙊𝙊𝙆 𝙍𝙀𝙑𝙄𝙀𝙒 📖 Have you read THE BRIDE TEST by @hhoangwrites?! In this latest (available now), a desperate mother tempts a young Vietnamese woman with the opportunity of a lifetime —… https://t.co/pb7MKb4RbR

Review+ top rec: Aurora Rising by @amiekaufman & @misterkristoff! https://t.co/iizf7U7lye

Review + top rec: The Bride Test by @HHoangWrites! @berkleyromance https://t.co/IUI5utxjLx

Jon watching a CGI dragon destroy an entire city in detail while being told it wasn’t in the budget for him to pet Ghost #GameofThrones

Me looking at my twitter feed after seeing what David & DB did to Jaime’s character growth #gameofthrones

My greatest joy is being a mom to my two beautiful boys. And luckily, I have the best example for a mother—a woman who is deeply loving, brave and talented, and who taught me everything I… https://t.co/JOx9fsKchJ

Friday read 📖 What are you reading now??? @ Café No Sé https://t.co/YP1SburzFL

Everyday makeup essentials 💄💁‍♀️ @vilmairisblog

#flatlay #flatlays #blogger #bloggerstyle #fashionblogger #flatlayphotography #flatlayinspo #flatlayoftheday #accessories #flatlaytoday #flatlaysquad #flatlaylover #flatlaynation #flatlaylove #flatlaystyle https://t.co/7AeCogoVFd

#freshbeautygiftedme this 🌹 Deep Hydration sleeping mask and I’m loving it. I leave it in my skincare fridge and it feels wonderfully cool and hydrating. It’s got 2 steps: a cooling gel +… https://t.co/YTKUdtS31M

Load More...