Review: The Woman In The Window - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

Book Type:

Psychological Thriller

Buy Now:

Connect with A.J. Finn:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

The Woman In The Window
By A.J. Finn

Review: The Woman In The Window

A.J. Finn (who in real life hails from the publishing world as a former book editor) delivers a superbly tense and twisty thriller with THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW. Gradually the story tangles and twines, weaving together multiple storylines masterfully. Before too long, you’ll find yourself consumed by a story punctuated by its many gasp-out-loud surprises. Finn pays homage to Hitchock in the narrative, and the story certainly touts a Hitchockian vibe. Best of all, with a bevy of unreliable narrator thrillers out there, this one certainly raises the stakes again. Smart, atmospheric and unputdownable.

The story begins with a Rear Window (Hitchock, 1954) setup: Agoraphobic and former child psychologist Anna Fox spies on her neighbors while chugging merlot and popping pills. She hasn’t left her home in months, spending her days depleting cases of wine and watching movies. Anna speaks to her husband (from whom she’s separated) and daughter on the phone, sees her psychiatrist and therapist when they make house calls, plays chess online, and moderates an online support group of other agoraphobics. She’s fascinated with the lives of her neighbors, all of whom she spies on through the lens of her Nikon camera.

A new family has moved in across the park—the Russells—and she knows everything about them already (she’s become quite the online sleuth). But then the doorbell rings one day, and the teenage son of the Russells enters her home (which is hardly suitable for visitors with its litany of empty wine bottles scattered about). Soon after, Anna and his mother, Jane Russell, are slugging down wine together and she becomes even more entrenched in this family she watches from her window.

But it’s what Anna sees one day that really sends the story into a tailspin. She’s witnessed a crime and no one believes her. Worse yet, the Russells are lying, covering up what she inadvertently saw.

Ratcheting tension and plaguing questions fuel the narrative. Is what Anna saw real? What happened to Anna that made her such a severe agoraphobic? What happened with her husband? Is someone after her, and if so, who?

Finn really delivers a whip-smart psychological suspense that will keep you guessing. Well-crafted and thoughtful, this has been the thriller I had been waiting for. I listened to it on Audible, which was fantastic too. It’s no surprise it’s already in development as a major film from Fox.  Really well done, and can’t wait to see more from A.J. Finn.

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Related Posts

2 Comments:


  1. Jennifer | Mrs Q Book Addict said:

    I have this one on my wishlist. I’ve seen such rave reviews, I really need to get it soon!

    Reply

  2. Elouan said:

    Well, I”m officially in tears. “walking across those stones by myself. SOB!! I”m always in awe of your Wednesday morning tradition. I see overlapping in life too, just 4 years apart instead of 6. ESPECIALLY now that we”re back where we lived when Ethan was little, though we moved before he was the age Finn is nowwow that is confusing. But I laughed out loud at the tantruming E (which I CANNOT imagine in a million years, please tell her I said this while you evil-laugh), because I also have a memory of carrying a tantruming E (in this case, Ethan) out of the gardens. It was on Easter, he was doing splendidly until the Rose Garden, where he insisted on doing something to which we said no and chaos ensued. We were able to exit out the side gate (oh the relief!!) because we”d parked on Tower Grove Ave, I clearly remember carrying him with the one leg over an arm while the other flailed madly. I say it”s not a walk of shame, it”s a walk of valor. You didn”t give in, you survived. I all but high-five moms dealing with tantruming toddlers because it”s amazing. And, bonus, you can taunt them with that fact every time you visitI do. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

I’m a total bag lady 🙋🏻‍♀️ I am always carrying a laptop, a kindle, about a gazillion books, makeup, power cords, etc etc etc... Anyone else get me?! 📚💻👓👛🎒 So for me, the bigger the bag,… https://t.co/RxsDpCtKtn

Recentemente a Anna concedeu uma entrevista para o blog @vilmairisblog divulgando seu novo livro "The Brightest Stars" e ela foi questionada sobre After movie, confira a tradução:

2

Me when all the new makeup comes out: “OMG I NEED IT!”
.
Also me: “I’m really going to make an effort. I’m going to wear more makeup, get out of those yoga pants and get my face on.”
.
Me:… https://t.co/P7aP04z5HA

𝑮𝑰𝑽𝑬𝑨𝑾𝑨𝒀 !!! If you’ve followed me for some time now, you know how huge a fan I am of @debharkness and her ALL SOULS trilogy. It’s one of my all-time faves, and I’ve gushed about each… https://t.co/gAjljWSXgy

Interview with Anna Todd, author of THE BRIGHTEST STARS! @imaginator1d https://t.co/5kmtT37HuE

New Makeup Palettes to Inspire your Fall Look! https://t.co/I5p5N8Qaat

4 Oversized Totes for the On-The-Go Girl! https://t.co/9EIK6YNPDR

Last one... just on such a high from last night! I love seeing beyonce perform FORMATION live. #fangirlforlife #otrii 👑🐝 Highlights from the concert in Insta stories. @ Houston, Texas https://t.co/GqZ2CMtnrF

Perfection, as expected. ✨ Tomorrow I’ll upload more pics and videos into Stories. #otrii @ Houston, Texas

This week on my USA Today column, I’m sharing a list of 10 suspenseful novels to read this Fall, from heart-pounding YA thrillers to chilling Nordic Noirs. I’m making my way through this… https://t.co/nhnFgxxepX

🎶 Up where they walk, up where they run, up where they stay all day in the sun, wanderin' free, Wish I could be... part of that world. 🎶
.
You guys, how amazing is this cover and this… https://t.co/gVQg4Wfyld

Must-read thrillers coming this fall: Vilma Iris Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog recommends books by @Marie_Lu, Sarah J. Maas aka @SJMaas, @JRWard1, Cassandra Clare aka @cassieclare, @wendywebbauthor & more. #romanticsuspense #romanticthrillers https://t.co/glQ4jEteY9

Must-read thrillers coming this fall: Vilma Iris Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog recommends books by @Marie_Lu, Robert Galbraith aka @RGalbraith, Lars Kepler, @JRWard1, Ragnar Jonasson aka @ragnarjo & more. #romanticsuspense #romanticthrillers https://t.co/glQ4jEteY9

Excerpt + Giveaway: More of You by @aljacksonauthor! https://t.co/iNGXPBXMpy

The Best for Less: $100 Full Skincare Regimen! https://t.co/quA1D243tN

Exclusive Excerpt: More Than Crave You by @Shayla_Black! https://t.co/9qc0Z3m7nX

Review + Excerpt: Warcross Copy https://t.co/b3SwQTT1NS

Morning! I’m spending some time organizing my vanity and rediscovering old (fabulous) palettes. Candles burning and Audible book playing while I get work done. I’m almost done reading… https://t.co/CzHawYupA0

I can’t tell you how obsessed I am with this subscription box gifted to me by curatedbycromwell, and I know you all loved it as much as I did because I got so many messages! This box is… https://t.co/4zoBM9YdwH

Load More...