Review: The Woman In The Window - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

Book Type:

Psychological Thriller

Buy Now:

Connect with A.J. Finn:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

The Woman In The Window
By A.J. Finn

Review: The Woman In The Window

A.J. Finn (who in real life hails from the publishing world as a former book editor) delivers a superbly tense and twisty thriller with THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW. Gradually the story tangles and twines, weaving together multiple storylines masterfully. Before too long, you’ll find yourself consumed by a story punctuated by its many gasp-out-loud surprises. Finn pays homage to Hitchock in the narrative, and the story certainly touts a Hitchockian vibe. Best of all, with a bevy of unreliable narrator thrillers out there, this one certainly raises the stakes again. Smart, atmospheric and unputdownable.

The story begins with a Rear Window (Hitchock, 1954) setup: Agoraphobic and former child psychologist Anna Fox spies on her neighbors while chugging merlot and popping pills. She hasn’t left her home in months, spending her days depleting cases of wine and watching movies. Anna speaks to her husband (from whom she’s separated) and daughter on the phone, sees her psychiatrist and therapist when they make house calls, plays chess online, and moderates an online support group of other agoraphobics. She’s fascinated with the lives of her neighbors, all of whom she spies on through the lens of her Nikon camera.

A new family has moved in across the park—the Russells—and she knows everything about them already (she’s become quite the online sleuth). But then the doorbell rings one day, and the teenage son of the Russells enters her home (which is hardly suitable for visitors with its litany of empty wine bottles scattered about). Soon after, Anna and his mother, Jane Russell, are slugging down wine together and she becomes even more entrenched in this family she watches from her window.

But it’s what Anna sees one day that really sends the story into a tailspin. She’s witnessed a crime and no one believes her. Worse yet, the Russells are lying, covering up what she inadvertently saw.

Ratcheting tension and plaguing questions fuel the narrative. Is what Anna saw real? What happened to Anna that made her such a severe agoraphobic? What happened with her husband? Is someone after her, and if so, who?

Finn really delivers a whip-smart psychological suspense that will keep you guessing. Well-crafted and thoughtful, this has been the thriller I had been waiting for. I listened to it on Audible, which was fantastic too. It’s no surprise it’s already in development as a major film from Fox.  Really well done, and can’t wait to see more from A.J. Finn.

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Related Posts

2 Comments:


  1. Jennifer | Mrs Q Book Addict said:

    I have this one on my wishlist. I’ve seen such rave reviews, I really need to get it soon!

    Reply

  2. Elouan said:

    Well, I”m officially in tears. “walking across those stones by myself. SOB!! I”m always in awe of your Wednesday morning tradition. I see overlapping in life too, just 4 years apart instead of 6. ESPECIALLY now that we”re back where we lived when Ethan was little, though we moved before he was the age Finn is nowwow that is confusing. But I laughed out loud at the tantruming E (which I CANNOT imagine in a million years, please tell her I said this while you evil-laugh), because I also have a memory of carrying a tantruming E (in this case, Ethan) out of the gardens. It was on Easter, he was doing splendidly until the Rose Garden, where he insisted on doing something to which we said no and chaos ensued. We were able to exit out the side gate (oh the relief!!) because we”d parked on Tower Grove Ave, I clearly remember carrying him with the one leg over an arm while the other flailed madly. I say it”s not a walk of shame, it”s a walk of valor. You didn”t give in, you survived. I all but high-five moms dealing with tantruming toddlers because it”s amazing. And, bonus, you can taunt them with that fact every time you visitI do. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

This is one of my favorite rooms in the house, especially love how the morning light filters through the linen curtains to brighten up the entire upstairs. I just realized this morning too… https://t.co/EBx8A1v0C5

You guys, THIS BOOK!!! The premise: psychopathic 7-year-old girl plots to kill her mother because it’s her dad she loves the most... mom is just in the way. The girl is selectively mute,… https://t.co/N7Tg5yVsmR

Exclusive excerpt: Vilma Iris Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog shares a sneak peek at psychological suspense Baby Teeth by Zoje Stage aka @zooshka, coming tomorrow. @StMartinsPress @MacmillanUSA https://t.co/Ae13CJKcRE

Exclusive Excerpt!! Head over to @vilmairisblog to read an excerpt from THE MUSEUM OF MYSTERIES by Steve Berry & @MJRose!

https://t.co/8KDXHyGdfN

Good morning you guys! This week #ontheblog I’m super excited to share 𝟱 𝗛𝗘𝗔𝗗-𝗧𝗢-𝗧𝗢𝗘 𝗟𝗢𝗢𝗞𝗦 on the blog using some of my favorite pieces from the #NordstromAnniversarySale! Many of you mentioned putting together... https://t.co/dZwiAj7Xl0

Good morning you guys! This week #ontheblog I’m super excited to share 𝟱 𝗛𝗘𝗔𝗗-𝗧𝗢-𝗧𝗢𝗘 𝗟𝗢𝗢𝗞𝗦 on the blog using some of my favorite pieces from the #NordstromAnniversarySale! Many of you… https://t.co/lz8roojNHN

★ ★ ★ PRIME DAY DEALS ★ ★ ★

I'll be posting deals today here, in the comments. Will be pinned to top!

Review: Girls' Night Out by @lizandlisa! https://t.co/AWU5jwP9MQ

Review + Top Rec: The Simple Wild by @kathleenatucker! https://t.co/DAcJyfoTQs

5 Looks from the @Nordstrom Anniversary Sale! https://t.co/O5fumtoMmI

Read an exclusive excerpt from The Museum of Mysteries by Steve Berry & M.J. Rose! @1001darknights https://t.co/SV8QCilG1I

#selfcaresunday with new faves drunkelephant Sukari Babyfacial and Virgin Marula Luxury Facial Oil. Leaves my skin feeling amazing! 🐘 Anyone else masking tonight? What are you using??? //… https://t.co/SyqCtHVX5l

Enjoying my little corner while 👩🏻‍💻 and drinking ☕️ this morning. #sundayvibes #austinblogger @ Austin, Texas https://t.co/KExnO6xj86

Still swooning over this faux leather jacket from the Nordstrom sale. It’s one of my top must buys especially at only $65! Removable hoodie, notch collar, zip details and available in three colors. TTS. I so wish... https://t.co/nLSoCF8D6M

Still swooning over this faux leather jacket from the Nordstrom sale. It’s one of my top must buys especially at only $65! Removable hoodie, notch collar, zip details and available in three… https://t.co/sbAVckSDph

Wore my favorites booties from the @Nordstrom Anniversary Sale!!! I loved them so much I also ordered them in white!!! Have you guys shopped the sale yet? What have you picked up?????… https://t.co/hgxs73sPiW

Gahhhh!!!!! I’m so excited!!! 𝗧𝗛𝗘 𝗡𝗢𝗥𝗗𝗦𝗧𝗥𝗢𝗠 𝗔𝗡𝗡𝗜𝗩𝗘𝗥𝗦𝗔𝗥𝗬 𝗙𝗔𝗩𝗘𝗦 𝗣𝗢𝗦𝗧 𝗜𝗦 𝗨𝗣!!! I tried on sooooo much clothes yesterday at @nordstromatx so that I could share the items you should snatch up stat before they sell... https://t.co/2tqK4XxgWT

Gahhhh!!!!! I’m so excited!!! 𝗧𝗛𝗘 𝗡𝗢𝗥𝗗𝗦𝗧𝗥𝗢𝗠 𝗔𝗡𝗡𝗜𝗩𝗘𝗥𝗦𝗔𝗥𝗬 𝗙𝗔𝗩𝗘𝗦 𝗣𝗢𝗦𝗧 𝗜𝗦 𝗨𝗣!!! I tried on sooooo much clothes yesterday at @austinnordstrom so that I could share the items you should snatch… https://t.co/BBgfRzURUV

It's here, it's here!!!! My Nordstrom Anniversary Sale 2018 Picks! #NSale https://t.co/TAWBPZF85Q

For as much as I love and adore makeup, my go-to look is very natural. So I thought it would be so much fun to do a post on mastering the whole no-makeup makeup look. #ontheblog I’m… https://t.co/kAoe62FX29

Load More...