Vilma's Book Blog Review - The Girls in the Garden by Lisa Jewell

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Review: The Girls in the Garden by Lisa Jewell

My Thoughts

Full of intrigue, suspense and anticipation
with an intricate plot and rich characters to bring the story to life.

4 four stars

Synopsis

Jun-07Imagine that you live on a picturesque communal garden square, an oasis in urban London where your children run free, in and out of other people’s houses. You’ve known your neighbors for years and you trust them. Implicitly. You think your children are safe. But are they really?

On a midsummer night, as a festive neighborhood party is taking place, preteen Pip discovers her thirteen-year-old sister Grace lying unconscious and bloody in a hidden corner of a lush rose garden. What really happened to her? And who is responsible?

Dark secrets, a devastating mystery, and the games both children and adults play all swirl together in this gripping novel, packed with utterly believable characters and page-turning suspense. Fans of Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes will be captivated by The Girls in the Garden, the next unforgettable novel by New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell.

My Review

Lisa Jewell delivers a compelling family drama and psychological thriller which draws you into a garden community were sinister secrets hide, into the lives of those whose history thrums amongst these grounds, inside alcoves, atop hills and behind closed curtains. Jewell’s tightly written prose exposes the darker complexities of teen life, love and friendships as well as the secrets, worries and desires of the parents who rear them. The mood is rife with unease, the constant feeling that evil lurks in plain sight.  She further explores the relationships between women, between girls, between sisters as the story unravels in multiple point of views. I loved the juxtaposition of the lush, idyllic garden neighborhood with the notion that wickedness and perversion hide within its depths. Nothing is as it seems and history has a horrible way of repeating itself.

… suddenly it’s like Narnia, there’s all these tall trees and pathways and a lawn that takes you up to all these big white houses and windows that are as tall as two men and you can see the chandeliers and the big splashy paintings on the walls. At night when you look up the hill and the houses have all their lights on it’s so pretty. And in the park itself there are all these pathways and little tucked-away places. A secret garden which is hidden inside an old wall covered with ivy, like the one in the book.

When Clare and her young teen daughters—Pip and Grace—move into a garden community in London, they’re hoping for a safer, better life on the heels of a tragedy that has left them on their own. But when the story opens, Pip discovers her thirteen-year-old sister Grace bloody and unconscious in a dark corner of the rose garden while their mother sleeps after having too much wine at a neighbor’s home.

The story pulls us back in time as it introduces us to the complex characters who inhabit the community, many who have grown up there themselves. The children are tightly banded together as a clique, and Pip and Grace are the awkward outsiders. Slowly however, Grace gets pulled into the group, while Pip is left on the fringe. Her point-of-view imparts through letters to her absentee father, as she outlines her concerns about Grace, and the odd relationships between the group.

We also meet Adele, wife and mother of three, whose perspective provides an insider counterpoint to Pip’s. Both their narratives expose their inquisitiveness, perceptiveness and speculations, before and after what happened to Grace.

Was it possible, she thought, that something sinister was going on? That the “playing” that had evolved over the years into “hanging out” had now begun to evolve into something darker?

The pace of the book is gradual, as Jewell explores the complexities of her rich characters, all leading up to what really happened to Grace that night (whose attack mimics the one of a girl who died in the garden years back). This is a great book for readers who love intricate family dramas, but not for readers who enjoy fast-paced reads with quick payoffs and huge climaxes. It’s fascinating and sinister and disturbing all at once and I can’t wait to read more from this author.

Follow Lisa

Website | Facebook | Twitter

✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦

follow vbb 2

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram | Goodreads | Subscribe by Email

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

𝗚𝗜𝗩𝗘𝗔𝗪𝗔𝗬 𝗧𝗜𝗠𝗘 ☀️🏖 I’m teaming up with friends to help THREE of you jump into summer with $125 PayPal Cash or a $125 #Amazon gift card!!!⁣

Here’s how to enter: ⁣

1. Follow: @authorrsgrey @EJ_MELLOW… https://t.co/ZysSK8mac2

Do you read paranormal romances? That was one of the genres I read heavily when I was a teen, and certainly now too – I love them! @WaterhousePress sent me UNDEFEATED (out today), which is Volume 5 in the #BloodBlond… https://t.co/tbwdysQqkN

Excerpt: Undeniable by #MelanieHarlow! @jennw23 https://t.co/q2GO898AV6

Excerpted: Undefeated by @HelenHardt! @waterhousepress https://t.co/mzcyQtFqcy

TGIF friends!!! Getting ready details ✨⁣⁣
⁣⁣
@lauramercier tinted moisturizer in Natural⁣⁣
@fentybeauty bronzer in I$land Ting⁣⁣
@marcbeauty shadow in O!Mercy⁣⁣
@HourglassMakeup SL in Bronze⁣⁣
glossier Lash Slick… https://t.co/7kznUdIUxN

What are you reading next? Do you keep a reading schedule of any kind? I’m starting THOSE PEOPLE by @louise_candlish and so excited about it. I loved her last novel, OUR HOUSE and looking… https://t.co/ErQMbuXTDg

The Unhoneymooners is live! We both have eaaaaarly flights in the morning so may be slow to reply, but happy book birthday friends! If you get your copy, THANK YOU! send us a pic so we can celebrate together! https://t.co/qxroq2rdjg

#diptyqueParisgiftedme the 34 BOULEVARD SAINT GERMAIN ROOM SPRAY and we have been loving it. As you guys probably know already, I always have candles burning, wallflowers plugged in... I… https://t.co/UgXxBrpzE7

𝙉𝙀𝙒 𝘽𝙊𝙊𝙆 𝙍𝙀𝙑𝙄𝙀𝙒 📖 Have you read THE BRIDE TEST by @hhoangwrites?! In this latest (available now), a desperate mother tempts a young Vietnamese woman with the opportunity of a lifetime —… https://t.co/pb7MKb4RbR

Review+ top rec: Aurora Rising by @amiekaufman & @misterkristoff! https://t.co/iizf7U7lye

Review + top rec: The Bride Test by @HHoangWrites! @berkleyromance https://t.co/IUI5utxjLx

Jon watching a CGI dragon destroy an entire city in detail while being told it wasn’t in the budget for him to pet Ghost #GameofThrones

Me looking at my twitter feed after seeing what David & DB did to Jaime’s character growth #gameofthrones

My greatest joy is being a mom to my two beautiful boys. And luckily, I have the best example for a mother—a woman who is deeply loving, brave and talented, and who taught me everything I… https://t.co/JOx9fsKchJ

Friday read 📖 What are you reading now??? @ Café No Sé https://t.co/YP1SburzFL

Everyday makeup essentials 💄💁‍♀️ @vilmairisblog

#flatlay #flatlays #blogger #bloggerstyle #fashionblogger #flatlayphotography #flatlayinspo #flatlayoftheday #accessories #flatlaytoday #flatlaysquad #flatlaylover #flatlaynation #flatlaylove #flatlaystyle https://t.co/7AeCogoVFd

#freshbeautygiftedme this 🌹 Deep Hydration sleeping mask and I’m loving it. I leave it in my skincare fridge and it feels wonderfully cool and hydrating. It’s got 2 steps: a cooling gel +… https://t.co/YTKUdtS31M

I finally finished AURORA RISING, and as expected, I absolutely loved it!!! 💫 @misterkristoff and @AmieKaufman write such amazing, addictive books and this space adventure is no… https://t.co/Ex4bxP9nhg

Happy Monday, friends! How was your weekend? I spent most of the time reading, and yesterday was of course all about margaritas for Cinco de Mayo and Game of Thrones! I love Sundays!… https://t.co/OfVso4atke

Load More...