Vilma's Book Blog Review - The Girls in the Garden by Lisa Jewell

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Review: The Girls in the Garden by Lisa Jewell

My Thoughts

Full of intrigue, suspense and anticipation
with an intricate plot and rich characters to bring the story to life.

4 four stars

Synopsis

Jun-07Imagine that you live on a picturesque communal garden square, an oasis in urban London where your children run free, in and out of other people’s houses. You’ve known your neighbors for years and you trust them. Implicitly. You think your children are safe. But are they really?

On a midsummer night, as a festive neighborhood party is taking place, preteen Pip discovers her thirteen-year-old sister Grace lying unconscious and bloody in a hidden corner of a lush rose garden. What really happened to her? And who is responsible?

Dark secrets, a devastating mystery, and the games both children and adults play all swirl together in this gripping novel, packed with utterly believable characters and page-turning suspense. Fans of Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes will be captivated by The Girls in the Garden, the next unforgettable novel by New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell.

My Review

Lisa Jewell delivers a compelling family drama and psychological thriller which draws you into a garden community were sinister secrets hide, into the lives of those whose history thrums amongst these grounds, inside alcoves, atop hills and behind closed curtains. Jewell’s tightly written prose exposes the darker complexities of teen life, love and friendships as well as the secrets, worries and desires of the parents who rear them. The mood is rife with unease, the constant feeling that evil lurks in plain sight.  She further explores the relationships between women, between girls, between sisters as the story unravels in multiple point of views. I loved the juxtaposition of the lush, idyllic garden neighborhood with the notion that wickedness and perversion hide within its depths. Nothing is as it seems and history has a horrible way of repeating itself.

… suddenly it’s like Narnia, there’s all these tall trees and pathways and a lawn that takes you up to all these big white houses and windows that are as tall as two men and you can see the chandeliers and the big splashy paintings on the walls. At night when you look up the hill and the houses have all their lights on it’s so pretty. And in the park itself there are all these pathways and little tucked-away places. A secret garden which is hidden inside an old wall covered with ivy, like the one in the book.

When Clare and her young teen daughters—Pip and Grace—move into a garden community in London, they’re hoping for a safer, better life on the heels of a tragedy that has left them on their own. But when the story opens, Pip discovers her thirteen-year-old sister Grace bloody and unconscious in a dark corner of the rose garden while their mother sleeps after having too much wine at a neighbor’s home.

The story pulls us back in time as it introduces us to the complex characters who inhabit the community, many who have grown up there themselves. The children are tightly banded together as a clique, and Pip and Grace are the awkward outsiders. Slowly however, Grace gets pulled into the group, while Pip is left on the fringe. Her point-of-view imparts through letters to her absentee father, as she outlines her concerns about Grace, and the odd relationships between the group.

We also meet Adele, wife and mother of three, whose perspective provides an insider counterpoint to Pip’s. Both their narratives expose their inquisitiveness, perceptiveness and speculations, before and after what happened to Grace.

Was it possible, she thought, that something sinister was going on? That the “playing” that had evolved over the years into “hanging out” had now begun to evolve into something darker?

The pace of the book is gradual, as Jewell explores the complexities of her rich characters, all leading up to what really happened to Grace that night (whose attack mimics the one of a girl who died in the garden years back). This is a great book for readers who love intricate family dramas, but not for readers who enjoy fast-paced reads with quick payoffs and huge climaxes. It’s fascinating and sinister and disturbing all at once and I can’t wait to read more from this author.

Follow Lisa

Website | Facebook | Twitter

✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦

follow vbb 2

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram | Goodreads | Subscribe by Email

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

TGIF!!! This has felt like the longgggest week and I’m so ready to unwind! 🍷 Did any of you guys shop today??? In case you hadn’t noticed, leopard print is a huge part of this year’s #NSALE and I’m here for it! My… https://t.co/4PT96VhX3I

My #NSale post is live!!!! Early picks on the blog & more coming soon! Link in bio or https://t.co/2aGacVHIKU ⭐️🛍 @ Austin, Texas https://t.co/gPgemSP7rD

Have you guys read any of the Harry Hole novels by Jo Nesbø??? 🕵🏻‍♂️🙋🏻‍♀️ I am such a huge fan of this series and it feels like the books keep getting better and better! KNIFE, his latest, is out now and is perhaps… https://t.co/pvMapzWLkN

What makes you feel most at home? 🏡 For me, it's a cup of coffee, and oversized sweater and a good book I can escape into. In #UnderCurrents, the latest from #1 NYT bestselling author norarobertsauthor (out today!),… https://t.co/AU3uPMybha

Did you guys have a nice weekend??? It was so so good to unplug and spend time with my family. I needed that break badly and bet you guys did too! I finished two books (yay!!!) and binged watched Stranger... https://t.co/YH3Mm6cw5h

Happy 4th!!! 🇺🇸🎇📖 What are you guys up to today?! I just put a 🍓cake in the oven (see stories for recipe), then we’re headed to see spidermanmovie in a while, and bbq-ing tonight with family! @ Austin, Texas https://t.co/YcbYziYpzr

Any recent beauty faves to share??? This week on the blog I’m sharing some June faves... products I’ve been using & loving!!! Makeup, skincare and hair! Head to https://t.co/ceJxaS8pnV or link in bio to see what made my list… https://t.co/0eEP5sCRTZ

𝗪𝗵𝗮𝘁’𝘀 𝘆𝗼𝘂𝗿 𝗰𝘂𝗿𝗿𝗲𝗻𝘁 𝗿𝗲𝗮𝗱?! 📖
.
I’ve been so distractible for some reason lately and so haven’t read much in the past week. But took today day off and planning on doing some serious catch up! I’m reading LOCK EVERY… https://t.co/9pV4XDEOjs

#Laneigegiftedme their CREAM SKIN TONER & MOISTURIZER and cannot tell you how much I have loved it! I’ve never used a product quite like this one before. It’s a 2-and-1 hybrid that preps and softens like a toner,… https://t.co/vYkkQXJWEh

The #SteelBrothers saga continues with BREATHLESS by @HelenHardt — out today! In some ways, Marjorie & Bryce's love story was years in the making, rife with angst, tension, mystery and red-hot chemistry. Read the… https://t.co/1WbIaEZDac

Load More...
SUBSCRIBE TO MY BLOG