Cover Reveal + Prologue: PRETTY REVENGE by Emily Liebert - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Cover Reveal + Prologue: PRETTY REVENGE

Cover Reveal + Prologue: PRETTY REVENGE by Emily Liebert

Bestselling author Emily Liebert is back with a new suspense novel, PRETTY REVENGE, and I’m thrilled to share the striking cover (I love it!). Perfect for fans of THE PERFECT NANNY and THE WIFE BETWEEN US, the story centers on a woman who seeks revenge on a Manhattan socialite who derailed her life seventeen years ago. Liebert explores the lengths someone will go to for vengeance in this twisty, turny tale.

PRETTY REVENGE is out mid next year, but I’m so excited to share the prologue below.

  • Prologue

    Not many people can isolate the singular moment in their life when things veered off course. When suddenly their existence—which may not have been perfect, but was at least reliable—abruptly swerved into oncoming traffic. My moment could have been the day my parents died. Or when I realized I’d never had a true friend.

    But those aren’t the days I’m thinking of.

    Believe me, I know what I did was wrong. Or, at a minimum, I know it was immoral. I mean, I lied to the police. Still my intentions were honest. Really, they were.

    In fact, I remember everything about that night—the way the streets were slick with milky fog. The way a steady breath of air whistled in my ears. The way the chill infested my body, as I stopped in front of her house, with its sagging rain gutters and weedy lawn.

    I knew the house well. I had a direct view of it from my second-floor bedroom, where I’d lived for nearly all of my 12 years. I’d watched the splintered front door dangle from a pair of corroded hinges and sway in the slightest breeze. I’d mourned the three cats that were buried under crooked gravestones in the strip of a front yard. And I’d spent hours imagining what was concealed in their decrepit shed, nailed shut by an x-mark of reticent wooden planks.

    I’d pitied the girl who lived there, with her silky red hair and tenacious blue eyes, but I’d also admired her. She was everything I wasn’t and everything I wished I could be.

    The problem was that I was so foolishly desperate for a friend, so eager to soothe the sting of loneliness—that, when she showed up on my doorstep, I let her in, no questions asked.

    I just wanted someone to see me for a change. Is that so much to ask?

    I guess so.

    Because my actions that night changed our lives forever.

    And not for the better.

  • About PRETTY REVENGE

    Kerrie O’Malley, jobless and in an unfulfilling relationship, can isolate the singular moment in her life when things veered off course—the night she was irrevocably wronged by her former idol. Eighteen years later, when Kerrie sees the very woman who destroyed her life on television, a fire ignites inside her. The stakes are high. The risks are perilous. But she’ll stop at nothing to achieve the retribution she deserves.

    Jordana Pierson is a gilded New Yorker who appears to have it all: wealth, glamour, a successful and handsome husband, and a thriving wedding concierge business. Her record is spotless. Her business is thriving. No one knows the truth about her and the dark shadows of her past.

    No one, that is, except Kerrie.

    Exploring just how far someone will go for vengeance, Pretty Revenge is a riveting, unputdownable novel bursting with mind-bending twists and suspense.

  • About Emily Liebert

    Emily Liebert is the bestselling author of four novels and has been featured on the Today show and in publications such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, People, InStyle, and many more. Emily lives with her husband and their two sons in Connecticut.

Follow Emily:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

Gift Guide: For Teen Girls! https://t.co/BMsmMlJg13

My Saturday morning: Kicking it old school with my VBB Christmas mug and reading Verity by @colleenhoover—on my bookbeau bean, no less. Has anyone finished it? Who’s reading it?… https://t.co/I5irGVLXJv

It’s a cold, rainy day 🌧 in Austin and I am fighting a migraine. Trying to work but seems like the kind of day I just want to snuggle under a blanket on the couch and close my eyes.… https://t.co/iUMyEbYoJE

I had so many requests for this particular gift guide, that I got it up a little early! 𝐆𝐈𝐅𝐓 𝐆𝐔𝐈𝐃𝐄 𝐅𝐎𝐑 𝐓𝐄𝐄𝐍 𝐁𝐎𝐘𝐒 is #upontheblog! I know I struggled this year to find gifts for my boys and… https://t.co/E480tWWEql

Love in Suspense exclusive excerpt: Vilma Iris Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog shares a sneak peek at stand-alone romantic thriller Verity by @colleenhoover, releasing on Dec. 18. https://t.co/vCqzY1bnBI

𝗘𝗫𝗖𝗟𝗨𝗦𝗜𝗩𝗘 𝗘𝗫𝗖𝗘𝗥𝗣𝗧 + 𝗚𝗜𝗩𝗘𝗔𝗪𝗔𝗬 — It's a big day of blog posts and I'm so so excited to share an excerpt from 𝗩𝗘𝗥𝗜𝗧𝗬 by @colleenhoover! It's up on #usatoday #hea blog and you'll want to click… https://t.co/GbJka5i1US

Love in Suspense exclusive excerpt: Vilma Iris Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog shares a sneak peek at stand-alone romantic thriller Verity by @colleenhoover, arriving Dec. 18. https://t.co/vCqzY1sYtg

#COVER #REVEAL! Check out the cover of my 1/7/19 release over at @vilmairisblog
.
See it here: https://t.co/7SILnQT00z
.
Pre-Order it here: https://t.co/UOftilvXa8
.
#prisonerofnight #BDBworld #comingsoon #soexcited #watchoutforthewaterfallshot @simonschuster @GalleryBooks

🗡 🗡 🗡 𝗘𝗫𝗖𝗟𝗨𝗦𝗜𝗩𝗘 𝗖𝗢𝗩𝗘𝗥 𝗥𝗘𝗩𝗘𝗔𝗟 + 𝗘𝗫𝗖𝗘𝗥𝗣𝗧: 𝗣𝗥𝗜𝗦𝗢𝗡𝗘𝗥 𝗢𝗙 𝗡𝗜𝗚𝗛𝗧 🗡 🗡 🗡
Incredibly honored and excited to share the cover of the new #BlackDaggerBrotherhood book by the one and only @JRWard1!… https://t.co/ddQNmKk3tj

Exclusive Cover Reveal + Excerpt: Prisoner of Night by @jrward1!!! Go check it out now! @gallerybooks https://t.co/F9aMaFz3cw

Read an exclusive excerpt from Across The Horizon by @AlyMartinezAuth! https://t.co/BPYmhT3b1P

If you'd like to try my latest novel but are afraid it might suck, for this entire month you can buy the e-book version of BONE MUSIC from Amazon for only $1.99 https://t.co/QNOcq4vJLs

Thank you for all the kind thoughts and best wishes! We wouldn't have had such a great run without you. Mwahs for everyone! :) In the meantime, we'll still be here through the end of this month, so at least there's that.

So sad to see the HEA blog come to a close. It's been a joy to write for them for the past several years.

𝐆𝐈𝐅𝐓 𝐆𝐔𝐈𝐃𝐄𝐒 𝐅𝐎𝐑 𝐇𝐈𝐌 + 𝐇𝐄𝐑 #ontheblog, under $100 and luxe!!! Guys are especially hard to shop for IMO, but found some great options for the men in our lives. It was also so much fun curating the FOR HER list, I... https://t.co/qmnl1Aa7ig

Exclusive excerpt of MFHNS!!! Out Tuesday ahhhhhh we can’t wait for you to meet Millie & Reid!! https://t.co/dYkO7Hdw7r

Is it weird that I start getting sad, feeling like Christmas is already over around Halloween time? Anyone else weird like me??? It just all goes by so fast!!! 😫 In the meantime, enjoying… https://t.co/zeXBgRnlZ3

Load More...