Review: Inheritance - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

Inheritance is the first in The Lost Bride Trilogy by #1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts—a tale of tragedies, loves found and lost, and a family haunted for generations.

1806: Astrid Poole sits in her bridal clothes, overwhelmed with happiness. But before her marriage can be consummated, she is murdered, and the circle of gold torn from her finger. Her last words are a promise to Collin never to leave him…

Graphic designer Sonya MacTavish is stunned to learn that her late father had a twin he never knew about—and that her newly discovered uncle, Collin Poole, has left her almost everything he owned, including a majestic Victorian house on the Maine coast, which the will stipulates she must live in it for at least three years. Her engagement recently broken, she sets off to find out why the boys were separated at birth—and why it was all kept secret until a genealogy website brought it to light.

Trey, the young lawyer who greets her at the sprawling clifftop manor, notes Sonya’s unease—and acknowledges that yes, the place is haunted…but just a little. Sure enough, Sonya finds objects moved and music playing out of nowhere. She sees a painting by her father inexplicably hanging in her deceased uncle’s office, and a portrait of a woman named Astrid, whom the lawyer refers to as “the first lost bride.” It’s becoming clear that Sonya has inherited far more than a house. She has inherited a centuries-old curse, and a puzzle to be solved if there is any hope of breaking it…


The Lost Bride Trilogy

Book 1

Book Type:

Romance / Suspense

Buy Now:

Connect with Nora Roberts:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Review: Inheritance
By Nora Roberts

Review: Inheritance

A woman inherits a haunted mansion, mired by a generational curse she’s intent to break.

Sonya MacTavish cancels her wedding after finding her fiancé in bed with another woman. Reeling from the betrayal, a lawyer makes an unexpected offer at a new beginning in a small coastal town in Maine, where she’s inherited a mansion from family she didn’t know existed.

The mansion, however, is haunted by generations of women in her family. Deemed the lost brides, seven women since 1806 have been killed on their wedding day, succumbed to a powerful curse that claims a bride per generation. While the brides enliven the house for the better, the ghost of the angry witch lurks with vengeance, trying to scare Sonya away.

Memories of how each bride died haunt Sonya’s dreams, plaguing her with an urgency to break the decades-old curse without knowing how. Ferreting clues from her dreams, and with her group of friends, Sonya delves into a world of ghosts, intent to free them all.

INHERITANCE is quintessential Nora Roberts—a story shaped by a strong woman supported by an unflappable community of friends and family. Robert’s quick-paced dialogue pulls you in, as well-drawn characters take shape in an otherworldly narrative that’s engrossing from the start. Humor, friendship, and a budding romance bring levity to the sinister machinations at play in this exciting series starter. I’m already clamoring for the next book!

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Instagram