Interview with Liz Nugent, author of Unraveling Oliver - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Interview with Liz Nugent, author of Unraveling Oliver

I’m so excited to share my interview with Liz Nugent, author of the psychological thriller, UNRAVELING OLIVER.  The story delves into the life of a man, Oliver Ryan, whose blows one day send his wife into a coma.  As the story unravels, we learn more about Oliver, and what could have turned a charming, seemingly ordinary man into a sociopath.

Vilma: UNRAVELING OLIVER has been a #1 bestseller in Ireland and now it’s hitting shelves here in the U.S., which we’re all very excited about. Could you tell us what inspired the novel?

Liz: The story was inspired by two books I read around the same time: ‘The Book of Evidence’ by John Banville and ‘Engleby’ by Sebastian Faulks. Both books were written from the point of view of a male sociopath and I was really drawn in and fascinated by these characters. I decided that if I ever wrote a book, it would be about a deeply flawed man. Eventually, that’s exactly what I did.

Vilma: Did you set out to explore the nature of evil? Tell us about Oliver, and perhaps a little more about the story for those who’ve not yet had a chance to read it.

Liz: UNRAVELLING OLIVER tells the story of a man who beats his wife into a coma in the first chapter. He has never struck her before and the incident is a shock, even to him. Then I go back in time to detail the events that led up to this brutal act, through the eyes of Oliver and the friends and neighbors who think they know him. I prefer not to think that people are born evil so I gave Oliver a back story that might explain, but not condone, his behavior.

Vilma: The novel is written from multiple perspectives. Is there a particular character you enjoyed writing the most?

Liz: I loved writing Barney. We all know a Barney. Someone who is inherently good but just never gets the girl in the end because he puts her interests first. He has less education and therefore less confidence than all of the other characters but he is the most emotionally intelligent. I tried to give him a happy ending of sorts.

Vilma: What are you hoping readers will take away from the reading experience?

Liz: I guess it’s the idea that we can never really know another person no matter how long we have lived with them, or grown up with them. Your own mother has secrets that you will never know, though hopefully not deadly ones.

Also, I examine the nature vs nurture argument but I want to leave it up to the reader to make the decision as to whether Oliver’s final act was well-motivated or not.

Vilma: UNRAVELING OLIVER is your debut novel… what was the writing process like? Were there parts of the process that were particularly difficult as you laid out the narrative?

Liz: It was a very stop-start process. I wrote the first chapter as a short story which got shortlisted for a competition. Then the characters I mentioned in that short story wouldn’t leave me alone and demanded to be heard, so I wrote another two chapters. Life got in the way with work and some new writing commissions and it was two years before I got back to the manuscript but in the intervening time I had some great experiences (staying in a chateau in the south of France) which I was able to use effectively in telling the story. I wasn’t thinking in terms of genre or readers, just mapping out the story that twisted and changed as I was writing. I am hopeless at structure so I learnt a lot about that from my editor.

Vilma: What can you share about your next novel?

Liz: I am currently working on my third novel! My second, LYING IN WAIT, will be published in the U.S. in May 2018. I can tell you that it is a dark and sinister story of murder, a mother’s manipulation, and the consequences for the family of the victim and perpetrator.

Vilma: Thanks so much!

Liz: Thank you for such insightful questions! I really hope you enjoy reading me.

 

  • About Unraveling Oliver

    In this “compelling, clever, and dark” (Heat magazine) thriller, a man’s shocking act of savagery stuns a local community—and the revelations that follow will keep you gripped until the very last page. This work of psychological suspense, a #1 bestseller in Ireland, is perfect for fans of Patricia Highsmith and Ruth Ware.

    “I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her.”

    So begins Liz Nugent’s astonishing debut novel—a chilling, elegantly crafted, and psychologically astute exploration of the nature of evil.

    Oliver Ryan, handsome, charismatic, and successful, has long been married to his devoted wife, Alice. Together they write and illustrate award-winning children’s books; their life together one of enviable privilege and ease—until, one evening after a delightful dinner, Oliver delivers a blow to Alice that renders her unconscious, and subsequently beats her into a coma.

    In the aftermath of such an unthinkable event, as Alice hovers between life and death, the couple’s friends, neighbors, and acquaintances try to understand what could have driven Oliver to commit such a horrific act. As his story unfolds, layers are peeled away to reveal a life of shame, envy, deception, and masterful manipulation.

    With its alternating points of view and deft prose, Unraveling Oliver is “a page-turning, one-sitting read from a brand new master of psychological suspense” (Sunday Independent) that details how an ordinary man can transform into a sociopath.

  • PRE-ORDER UNRAVELING OLIVER

    AmazonAudible | Barnes & Noble | iBooks

Follow Liz:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

I’m so thrilled to share my interview with @E_L_James, today #ontheblog! We talk about 𝗧𝗛𝗘 𝗠𝗜𝗦𝗧𝗘𝗥, which released just about a week ago now! Go read about this modern-day Cinderella story,… https://t.co/4e64RcbFbV

Read and excerpt from Rescuing Macie by @susan_stoker! @1001darknights https://t.co/wTCKa3cDmc

5 Questions with @E_L_James, author of #TheMister! https://t.co/pQPbKhuon0 @VintageAnchor

Facial Oil Roundup: My 8 Current Faves! https://t.co/pSFL1gMomm

what's the exact quote Beyonce says in Homecoming about notes? "What's the point in giving new notes when my old ones haven't been addressed?" I need it. I want to say it forever

This week #ontheblog I share a roundup of some of my current beauty faves! It’s been awhile since I shared some of the products I keep reaching for, whether they are new or old. Would… https://t.co/AJb2hj5CGa

THE MISTER by @E_L_James is out today!!! I started the book early this morning and wish I could cancel all responsibility and work today! Who else is reading it???? I'm so excited to fall… https://t.co/xVe9DK3qeY

What kind of coverage do you prefer for a foundation? I like light coverage, especially moving into Spring and Summer, which is why I had to try the new @kosascosmetics Tinted Oil… https://t.co/IxaGMTgidh

Review: My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing! @berkleypub https://t.co/u3RT4qxAl0

Beauty Faves Roundup!!! See which products I'm loving lately! https://t.co/jN7jvb6UpZ

Beauty Review: Kosas Tinted Face Oil - https://t.co/QTLUKNzqfG

{ Chanel pretties } @ Austin, Texas https://t.co/5RSZui1hbN

✨ 𝑮𝑰𝑽𝑬𝑨𝑾𝑨𝒀 ✨
.
So excited to partner with @VintageAnchor on this awesome giveaway to celebrate THE MISTER by @E_L_James—out in just three days!! I’m giving away three #TheMister inspired… https://t.co/cDgUEzbnKc

𝙒𝙝𝙖𝙩 𝙪𝙥𝙘𝙤𝙢𝙞𝙣𝙜 𝙗𝙤𝙤𝙠𝙨 𝙖𝙧𝙚 𝙮𝙤𝙪 𝙬𝙖𝙞𝙩𝙞𝙣𝙜 𝙛𝙤𝙧?! #waitingonwednesday
.

STONE MOTHERS by @mserinkelly is one I can’t wait to dig into. Erin wrote HE SAID/SHE SAID, which I loved, and this one… https://t.co/EsZbFUvyz2

𝑾𝒉𝒂𝒕’𝒔 𝒚𝒐𝒖𝒓 𝒇𝒂𝒗𝒐𝒓𝒊𝒕𝒆 𝒕𝒚𝒑𝒆 𝒐𝒇 𝒓𝒐𝒎𝒂𝒏𝒄𝒆?
.
For me, there’s nothing better than a second-chance love story! In authorkyliescott’s new novel, REPEAT, a woman loses her memory after a vicious… https://t.co/B9UoeCxZBf

Beauty Review: @VintnerDaughter Serum -- https://t.co/J77jx7odsg

Get a sneak peek at CIPHER by @larissaione — out this week! @1001darknights https://t.co/eyQYi0iO4e

Review: I Know Who You Are by Alice Feeney #thriller @flatironbooks https://t.co/GoXNUNEHOO

Happy Saturday! It looks to be a stormy ⛈ day here in Austin, but hoping to catch up on some reading and get away for an hour or two midday. I’ve been trying some new beauty products out again, and one of my... https://t.co/1eCimA5JUs

Happy Saturday! It looks to be a stormy ⛈ day here in Austin, but hoping to catch up on some reading and get away for an hour or two midday. I’ve been trying some new beauty products out… https://t.co/UaXuyw90z8

Load More...