Interview with Liz Nugent, author of Unraveling Oliver - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Interview with Liz Nugent, author of Unraveling Oliver

I’m so excited to share my interview with Liz Nugent, author of the psychological thriller, UNRAVELING OLIVER.  The story delves into the life of a man, Oliver Ryan, whose blows one day send his wife into a coma.  As the story unravels, we learn more about Oliver, and what could have turned a charming, seemingly ordinary man into a sociopath.

Vilma: UNRAVELING OLIVER has been a #1 bestseller in Ireland and now it’s hitting shelves here in the U.S., which we’re all very excited about. Could you tell us what inspired the novel?

Liz: The story was inspired by two books I read around the same time: ‘The Book of Evidence’ by John Banville and ‘Engleby’ by Sebastian Faulks. Both books were written from the point of view of a male sociopath and I was really drawn in and fascinated by these characters. I decided that if I ever wrote a book, it would be about a deeply flawed man. Eventually, that’s exactly what I did.

Vilma: Did you set out to explore the nature of evil? Tell us about Oliver, and perhaps a little more about the story for those who’ve not yet had a chance to read it.

Liz: UNRAVELLING OLIVER tells the story of a man who beats his wife into a coma in the first chapter. He has never struck her before and the incident is a shock, even to him. Then I go back in time to detail the events that led up to this brutal act, through the eyes of Oliver and the friends and neighbors who think they know him. I prefer not to think that people are born evil so I gave Oliver a back story that might explain, but not condone, his behavior.

Vilma: The novel is written from multiple perspectives. Is there a particular character you enjoyed writing the most?

Liz: I loved writing Barney. We all know a Barney. Someone who is inherently good but just never gets the girl in the end because he puts her interests first. He has less education and therefore less confidence than all of the other characters but he is the most emotionally intelligent. I tried to give him a happy ending of sorts.

Vilma: What are you hoping readers will take away from the reading experience?

Liz: I guess it’s the idea that we can never really know another person no matter how long we have lived with them, or grown up with them. Your own mother has secrets that you will never know, though hopefully not deadly ones.

Also, I examine the nature vs nurture argument but I want to leave it up to the reader to make the decision as to whether Oliver’s final act was well-motivated or not.

Vilma: UNRAVELING OLIVER is your debut novel… what was the writing process like? Were there parts of the process that were particularly difficult as you laid out the narrative?

Liz: It was a very stop-start process. I wrote the first chapter as a short story which got shortlisted for a competition. Then the characters I mentioned in that short story wouldn’t leave me alone and demanded to be heard, so I wrote another two chapters. Life got in the way with work and some new writing commissions and it was two years before I got back to the manuscript but in the intervening time I had some great experiences (staying in a chateau in the south of France) which I was able to use effectively in telling the story. I wasn’t thinking in terms of genre or readers, just mapping out the story that twisted and changed as I was writing. I am hopeless at structure so I learnt a lot about that from my editor.

Vilma: What can you share about your next novel?

Liz: I am currently working on my third novel! My second, LYING IN WAIT, will be published in the U.S. in May 2018. I can tell you that it is a dark and sinister story of murder, a mother’s manipulation, and the consequences for the family of the victim and perpetrator.

Vilma: Thanks so much!

Liz: Thank you for such insightful questions! I really hope you enjoy reading me.

 

  • About Unraveling Oliver

    In this “compelling, clever, and dark” (Heat magazine) thriller, a man’s shocking act of savagery stuns a local community—and the revelations that follow will keep you gripped until the very last page. This work of psychological suspense, a #1 bestseller in Ireland, is perfect for fans of Patricia Highsmith and Ruth Ware.

    “I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her.”

    So begins Liz Nugent’s astonishing debut novel—a chilling, elegantly crafted, and psychologically astute exploration of the nature of evil.

    Oliver Ryan, handsome, charismatic, and successful, has long been married to his devoted wife, Alice. Together they write and illustrate award-winning children’s books; their life together one of enviable privilege and ease—until, one evening after a delightful dinner, Oliver delivers a blow to Alice that renders her unconscious, and subsequently beats her into a coma.

    In the aftermath of such an unthinkable event, as Alice hovers between life and death, the couple’s friends, neighbors, and acquaintances try to understand what could have driven Oliver to commit such a horrific act. As his story unfolds, layers are peeled away to reveal a life of shame, envy, deception, and masterful manipulation.

    With its alternating points of view and deft prose, Unraveling Oliver is “a page-turning, one-sitting read from a brand new master of psychological suspense” (Sunday Independent) that details how an ordinary man can transform into a sociopath.

  • PRE-ORDER UNRAVELING OLIVER

    AmazonAudible | Barnes & Noble | iBooks

Follow Liz:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

Ever since #mdnaskingiftedme their ROSE MIST, I’ve become utterly addicted to it. Every time I pass by it, I spritz to refresh my skin. mdnaskin THE ROSE MIST is formulated to refresh,… https://t.co/pTijeZLDej

𝗪𝗔𝗜𝗧𝗜𝗡𝗚 𝗢𝗡 𝗪𝗘𝗗𝗡𝗘𝗦𝗗𝗔𝗬: What book are you dying to get your hands on??? I’m starting one of my most anticipated today — DAISY JONES & THE SIX by @tjenkinsreid. I’ve read every one of her… https://t.co/LOI7sO2T7f

A heroine who can’t help but fix everything, an IOU from a handsome stranger, a cunning old boyfriend, and thorny family dynamics—it's the perfect setup for another irresistible… https://t.co/41Z6NHON8w

Who else is just about dying for this book??? 🙋🏻‍♀️ I’m a huge, long-time @lisakleypas reader and am so excited for this Ravenels meets Wallflowers book. This is Phoebe and West’s love… https://t.co/1jLpO0kztx

Excerpt: Irresistible by #MelanieHarlow! @jennw23 https://t.co/b7jOloJ6UP

Excerpt: Devil's Daughter by @lisakleypas!!!! @HarperCollins https://t.co/4Df0pdtaVx

Read an excerpt from Overture by @skye_warren!!! https://t.co/TmtNKTy5Fz

Review: I Owe You One by @KinsellaSophie! @randomhouse https://t.co/g6niPTVQA1

Cover Reveal: Make Me Bad by @AuthorRSGrey! https://t.co/jZ9COv8ekd

Double tap this pic if you’re planning on a little sunday self care! 🙋🏻‍♀️ Trying to figure out what to use today and @blissworld has sent me so many wonderful goodies from which I can… https://t.co/6vqA6kTsKA

🚨 𝐆𝐈𝐕𝐄𝐀𝐖𝐀𝐘 🚨
.
Happy Sunday, you guys!!! So excited to share an awesome giveaway with you!!! I’m partnering with @rebeccayarros to give away two signed paperback ARCs of 𝐓𝐇𝐄 𝐋𝐀𝐒𝐓… https://t.co/us2IKyj5VT

What is your favorite thing to buy beautywise? The thing you have a weakness for and probably own too many of? ❥
.
For me, it’s eye shadow palettes. Well, okay... and pretty much all things… https://t.co/bBFtmyRflD

I still can't believe the trailer is here! 😭What do you guys think? Let me know what your favorite parts were!

You can watch it here: https://t.co/KbWZ7uVKGi

“𝗧𝗵𝗲𝗿𝗲’𝘀 𝗼𝗻𝗹𝘆 𝘀𝗼 𝗺𝘂𝗰𝗵 𝘆𝗼𝘂 𝗰𝗮𝗻 𝘁𝗮𝗸𝗲 𝗯𝗲𝗶𝗻𝗴 𝗱𝗲𝘀𝗰𝗿𝗶𝗯𝗲𝗱 𝗮𝘀 𝘀𝗼𝗺𝗲𝗯𝗼𝗱𝘆 𝘆𝗼𝘂’𝗿𝗲 𝗻𝗼𝘁.”
.
Have you guys read Angie Thomas before? I was late to THE HATE U GIVE (so powerful), and absolutely loved… https://t.co/1mlyXKrwqn

Happy Valentine’s Day my friends!!!! ♥️ Any plans with friends or loved ones today?! I gave my man and my boys little gifts this morning so they start their day feeling loved, then… https://t.co/W77vDiaC4f

Any lisagardnerbks fans out there?! 🙋🏻‍♀️ You guys, she is one of my favorite authors and she has a new (fabulous) book out: NEVER TELL. I was honored to interview her on the blog, where… https://t.co/wwL5ihZAGB

𝗗𝗼 𝘆𝗼𝘂 𝗵𝗮𝘃𝗲 𝗮 𝗳𝗮𝘃𝗼𝗿𝗶𝘁𝗲 𝘀𝗰𝗲𝗻𝘁?
.
My favorite for skincare and lotions is roses! So when I found out the new mask from @summer__fridays smelled like a whole bouquet of 🌹🌹🌹, I was all in.… https://t.co/MxIA51I8Yh

𝗗𝗼 𝘆𝗼𝘂 𝗵𝗮𝘃𝗲 𝗮𝗻𝘆 𝗽𝗹𝗮𝗻𝘀 𝗳𝗼𝗿 𝗩𝗮𝗹𝗲𝗻𝘁𝗶𝗻𝗲’𝘀 𝗗𝗮𝘆???
.
We typically cook at home, and now love celebrating with our boys. This year, I’m putting together a Valentine’s Day charcuterie board and… https://t.co/tc1Z12hikK

Review: @SummerFridays R+R Mask! https://t.co/bQUUrl01df

Read an excerpt from Ensnared by @ElisNaughton! @1001darknights https://t.co/sedrAbdmGn

Load More...