Interview with Liz Nugent, author of Unraveling Oliver - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Interview with Liz Nugent, author of Unraveling Oliver

I’m so excited to share my interview with Liz Nugent, author of the psychological thriller, UNRAVELING OLIVER.  The story delves into the life of a man, Oliver Ryan, whose blows one day send his wife into a coma.  As the story unravels, we learn more about Oliver, and what could have turned a charming, seemingly ordinary man into a sociopath.

Vilma: UNRAVELING OLIVER has been a #1 bestseller in Ireland and now it’s hitting shelves here in the U.S., which we’re all very excited about. Could you tell us what inspired the novel?

Liz: The story was inspired by two books I read around the same time: ‘The Book of Evidence’ by John Banville and ‘Engleby’ by Sebastian Faulks. Both books were written from the point of view of a male sociopath and I was really drawn in and fascinated by these characters. I decided that if I ever wrote a book, it would be about a deeply flawed man. Eventually, that’s exactly what I did.

Vilma: Did you set out to explore the nature of evil? Tell us about Oliver, and perhaps a little more about the story for those who’ve not yet had a chance to read it.

Liz: UNRAVELLING OLIVER tells the story of a man who beats his wife into a coma in the first chapter. He has never struck her before and the incident is a shock, even to him. Then I go back in time to detail the events that led up to this brutal act, through the eyes of Oliver and the friends and neighbors who think they know him. I prefer not to think that people are born evil so I gave Oliver a back story that might explain, but not condone, his behavior.

Vilma: The novel is written from multiple perspectives. Is there a particular character you enjoyed writing the most?

Liz: I loved writing Barney. We all know a Barney. Someone who is inherently good but just never gets the girl in the end because he puts her interests first. He has less education and therefore less confidence than all of the other characters but he is the most emotionally intelligent. I tried to give him a happy ending of sorts.

Vilma: What are you hoping readers will take away from the reading experience?

Liz: I guess it’s the idea that we can never really know another person no matter how long we have lived with them, or grown up with them. Your own mother has secrets that you will never know, though hopefully not deadly ones.

Also, I examine the nature vs nurture argument but I want to leave it up to the reader to make the decision as to whether Oliver’s final act was well-motivated or not.

Vilma: UNRAVELING OLIVER is your debut novel… what was the writing process like? Were there parts of the process that were particularly difficult as you laid out the narrative?

Liz: It was a very stop-start process. I wrote the first chapter as a short story which got shortlisted for a competition. Then the characters I mentioned in that short story wouldn’t leave me alone and demanded to be heard, so I wrote another two chapters. Life got in the way with work and some new writing commissions and it was two years before I got back to the manuscript but in the intervening time I had some great experiences (staying in a chateau in the south of France) which I was able to use effectively in telling the story. I wasn’t thinking in terms of genre or readers, just mapping out the story that twisted and changed as I was writing. I am hopeless at structure so I learnt a lot about that from my editor.

Vilma: What can you share about your next novel?

Liz: I am currently working on my third novel! My second, LYING IN WAIT, will be published in the U.S. in May 2018. I can tell you that it is a dark and sinister story of murder, a mother’s manipulation, and the consequences for the family of the victim and perpetrator.

Vilma: Thanks so much!

Liz: Thank you for such insightful questions! I really hope you enjoy reading me.

 

  • About Unraveling Oliver

    In this “compelling, clever, and dark” (Heat magazine) thriller, a man’s shocking act of savagery stuns a local community—and the revelations that follow will keep you gripped until the very last page. This work of psychological suspense, a #1 bestseller in Ireland, is perfect for fans of Patricia Highsmith and Ruth Ware.

    “I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her.”

    So begins Liz Nugent’s astonishing debut novel—a chilling, elegantly crafted, and psychologically astute exploration of the nature of evil.

    Oliver Ryan, handsome, charismatic, and successful, has long been married to his devoted wife, Alice. Together they write and illustrate award-winning children’s books; their life together one of enviable privilege and ease—until, one evening after a delightful dinner, Oliver delivers a blow to Alice that renders her unconscious, and subsequently beats her into a coma.

    In the aftermath of such an unthinkable event, as Alice hovers between life and death, the couple’s friends, neighbors, and acquaintances try to understand what could have driven Oliver to commit such a horrific act. As his story unfolds, layers are peeled away to reveal a life of shame, envy, deception, and masterful manipulation.

    With its alternating points of view and deft prose, Unraveling Oliver is “a page-turning, one-sitting read from a brand new master of psychological suspense” (Sunday Independent) that details how an ordinary man can transform into a sociopath.

  • PRE-ORDER UNRAVELING OLIVER

    AmazonAudible | Barnes & Noble | iBooks

Follow Liz:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

I love my nighttime 🌙 serum. Also, omg it’s been so dry outside lately that I’m having to add all the hydration. Anyone else struggling with that? Even my eyes are so… https://t.co/z911goqR5A

Are you done with your Christmas shopping?!!! I am so done done done thankfully! If you are looking for some more ideas, 𝐆𝐈𝐅𝐓 𝐆𝐔𝐈𝐃𝐄 𝐅𝐎𝐑 𝐓𝐄𝐄𝐍 𝐆𝐈𝐑𝐋𝐒 is up on the blog!!!! 👉🏻 https://t.co/ceJxaS8pnV… https://t.co/v9Qu0owptA

So disappointing and incredibly angering. How is this continuing to happen?
https://t.co/4dLrQH7iJ1

You guys I can’t believe it! I am going to be on the @TODAYshow this Thursday in the 8:30am half hour talking about the best books to "gift" this holiday season! I can't wait! I'm so excited!

Thanks @vilmairisblog for inspiring me to check out Amazon jumpsuits! https://t.co/fnWWN6CPWA

Anyone else reading or listening to 𝐐𝐔𝐄𝐄𝐍 𝐎𝐅 𝐀𝐈𝐑 𝐀𝐍𝐃 𝐃𝐀𝐑𝐊𝐍𝐄𝐒𝐒 by @cassieclare?! This is one of my most anticipated of the year and so happy I’m finally back in this story, back in the… https://t.co/1onAVb6Xmx

RT @vilmairisblog: Read an excerpt from The Duke I Once Knew by Olivia Drake! Second-chance historical romance! https://t.co/wGnnOrgxVL

Review + Top Rec: My Favorite Half-Night Stand by @christinalauren! https://t.co/3faFDjVmg3

Review: Hotshot Doc by @authorrsgrey! https://t.co/SA9VlLGHmM

Review + Top Rec: Verity by @ColleenHoover https://t.co/zZsZ94fI58

Read an excerpt from The Duke I Once Knew by Olivia Drake! Second-chance historical romance! @StMartinsPress https://t.co/cfkWTr9RrZ

My Saturday morning: Kicking it old school with my VBB Christmas mug and reading Verity by @colleenhoover—on my bookbeau bean, no less. Has anyone finished it? Who’s reading it?… https://t.co/I5irGVLXJv

It’s a cold, rainy day 🌧 in Austin and I am fighting a migraine. Trying to work but seems like the kind of day I just want to snuggle under a blanket on the couch and close my eyes.… https://t.co/iUMyEbYoJE

I had so many requests for this particular gift guide, that I got it up a little early! 𝐆𝐈𝐅𝐓 𝐆𝐔𝐈𝐃𝐄 𝐅𝐎𝐑 𝐓𝐄𝐄𝐍 𝐁𝐎𝐘𝐒 is #upontheblog! I know I struggled this year to find gifts for my boys and… https://t.co/E480tWWEql

Love in Suspense exclusive excerpt: Vilma Iris Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog shares a sneak peek at stand-alone romantic thriller Verity by @colleenhoover, releasing on Dec. 18. https://t.co/vCqzY1bnBI

𝗘𝗫𝗖𝗟𝗨𝗦𝗜𝗩𝗘 𝗘𝗫𝗖𝗘𝗥𝗣𝗧 + 𝗚𝗜𝗩𝗘𝗔𝗪𝗔𝗬 — It's a big day of blog posts and I'm so so excited to share an excerpt from 𝗩𝗘𝗥𝗜𝗧𝗬 by @colleenhoover! It's up on #usatoday #hea blog and you'll want to click… https://t.co/GbJka5i1US

Love in Suspense exclusive excerpt: Vilma Iris Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog shares a sneak peek at stand-alone romantic thriller Verity by @colleenhoover, arriving Dec. 18. https://t.co/vCqzY1sYtg

#COVER #REVEAL! Check out the cover of my 1/7/19 release over at @vilmairisblog
.
See it here: https://t.co/7SILnQT00z
.
Pre-Order it here: https://t.co/UOftilvXa8
.
#prisonerofnight #BDBworld #comingsoon #soexcited #watchoutforthewaterfallshot @simonschuster @GalleryBooks

Load More...