Interview with Liz Nugent, author of Unraveling Oliver - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Interview with Liz Nugent, author of Unraveling Oliver

I’m so excited to share my interview with Liz Nugent, author of the psychological thriller, UNRAVELING OLIVER.  The story delves into the life of a man, Oliver Ryan, whose blows one day send his wife into a coma.  As the story unravels, we learn more about Oliver, and what could have turned a charming, seemingly ordinary man into a sociopath.

Vilma: UNRAVELING OLIVER has been a #1 bestseller in Ireland and now it’s hitting shelves here in the U.S., which we’re all very excited about. Could you tell us what inspired the novel?

Liz: The story was inspired by two books I read around the same time: ‘The Book of Evidence’ by John Banville and ‘Engleby’ by Sebastian Faulks. Both books were written from the point of view of a male sociopath and I was really drawn in and fascinated by these characters. I decided that if I ever wrote a book, it would be about a deeply flawed man. Eventually, that’s exactly what I did.

Vilma: Did you set out to explore the nature of evil? Tell us about Oliver, and perhaps a little more about the story for those who’ve not yet had a chance to read it.

Liz: UNRAVELLING OLIVER tells the story of a man who beats his wife into a coma in the first chapter. He has never struck her before and the incident is a shock, even to him. Then I go back in time to detail the events that led up to this brutal act, through the eyes of Oliver and the friends and neighbors who think they know him. I prefer not to think that people are born evil so I gave Oliver a back story that might explain, but not condone, his behavior.

Vilma: The novel is written from multiple perspectives. Is there a particular character you enjoyed writing the most?

Liz: I loved writing Barney. We all know a Barney. Someone who is inherently good but just never gets the girl in the end because he puts her interests first. He has less education and therefore less confidence than all of the other characters but he is the most emotionally intelligent. I tried to give him a happy ending of sorts.

Vilma: What are you hoping readers will take away from the reading experience?

Liz: I guess it’s the idea that we can never really know another person no matter how long we have lived with them, or grown up with them. Your own mother has secrets that you will never know, though hopefully not deadly ones.

Also, I examine the nature vs nurture argument but I want to leave it up to the reader to make the decision as to whether Oliver’s final act was well-motivated or not.

Vilma: UNRAVELING OLIVER is your debut novel… what was the writing process like? Were there parts of the process that were particularly difficult as you laid out the narrative?

Liz: It was a very stop-start process. I wrote the first chapter as a short story which got shortlisted for a competition. Then the characters I mentioned in that short story wouldn’t leave me alone and demanded to be heard, so I wrote another two chapters. Life got in the way with work and some new writing commissions and it was two years before I got back to the manuscript but in the intervening time I had some great experiences (staying in a chateau in the south of France) which I was able to use effectively in telling the story. I wasn’t thinking in terms of genre or readers, just mapping out the story that twisted and changed as I was writing. I am hopeless at structure so I learnt a lot about that from my editor.

Vilma: What can you share about your next novel?

Liz: I am currently working on my third novel! My second, LYING IN WAIT, will be published in the U.S. in May 2018. I can tell you that it is a dark and sinister story of murder, a mother’s manipulation, and the consequences for the family of the victim and perpetrator.

Vilma: Thanks so much!

Liz: Thank you for such insightful questions! I really hope you enjoy reading me.

 

  • About Unraveling Oliver

    In this “compelling, clever, and dark” (Heat magazine) thriller, a man’s shocking act of savagery stuns a local community—and the revelations that follow will keep you gripped until the very last page. This work of psychological suspense, a #1 bestseller in Ireland, is perfect for fans of Patricia Highsmith and Ruth Ware.

    “I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her.”

    So begins Liz Nugent’s astonishing debut novel—a chilling, elegantly crafted, and psychologically astute exploration of the nature of evil.

    Oliver Ryan, handsome, charismatic, and successful, has long been married to his devoted wife, Alice. Together they write and illustrate award-winning children’s books; their life together one of enviable privilege and ease—until, one evening after a delightful dinner, Oliver delivers a blow to Alice that renders her unconscious, and subsequently beats her into a coma.

    In the aftermath of such an unthinkable event, as Alice hovers between life and death, the couple’s friends, neighbors, and acquaintances try to understand what could have driven Oliver to commit such a horrific act. As his story unfolds, layers are peeled away to reveal a life of shame, envy, deception, and masterful manipulation.

    With its alternating points of view and deft prose, Unraveling Oliver is “a page-turning, one-sitting read from a brand new master of psychological suspense” (Sunday Independent) that details how an ordinary man can transform into a sociopath.

  • PRE-ORDER UNRAVELING OLIVER

    AmazonAudible | Barnes & Noble | iBooks

Follow Liz:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

Always a joy to see and listen to @debharkness. I adore her and her books so much!
.
.
.
@bookpeople #bookblogger #adiscoveryofwitches #timesconvert @ BookPeople — at BookPeople https://t.co/E9KAfR3Thf

Read an excerpt from How The Dukes Stole Christmas! https://t.co/11fyrWBbXN

Read an excerpt from Crossing Hope by @kimberlykincaid! https://t.co/oIzAR1wNtj

ICYMI, I posted a mini tour of how I organize my vanity in my Beauty highlights since I get asked to show that a lot. I love that everything has its place, everything is easy to find. It’s my small little corner... https://t.co/Xjj7pfif6q

Cover + Prologue Reveal: PRETTY REVENGE by @EmilyLiebert! @gallerybooks https://t.co/4paQHjt10Y

Back in the world of Matthew and Diana, Marcus, Phoebe and Ysabeau in 𝑻𝑰𝑴𝑬’𝑺 𝑪𝑶𝑵𝑽𝑬𝑹𝑻 by @debharkness. The 𝑨𝑳𝑳 𝑺𝑶𝑼𝑳𝑺 𝑻𝑹𝑰𝑳𝑶𝑮𝒀 is one of my all-time super faves and it feels so good to visit… https://t.co/iDxhgKknCE

#BookIBoughtBecauseOfABlogger

UNDERNEATH EVERYTHING c/o @MissDahlELama
A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES c/o @vilmairisblog
I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN c/o @Urs_Uriarte
FINAL GIRLS c/o @crimebythebook
THE MAP THAT LEADS TO YOU c/o @HopelessBookLvr

💕💕💕

Have you ever attended the @texasbookfest? I'm so excited to partner with them (one of Austin's beloved non-profits) by giving away a #TXBookFest Festival Friends Pass. This pass will get… https://t.co/0eLyhL6fy7

It’s the little things 🕷 Love drinking my morning pumpkin latte in this coffee cozy my mom made. Check her out at vilmaknits ❥ #halloween #october #knitting @ Austin, Texas https://t.co/2829xfzP2q

I’m sharing the perfect fall menu, all thanks to @ErikaKellyBooks, author of THE HEARTLESS BOYFRIEND (out Oct 16th). She’s sharing the most delish butternut squash soup, manicotti, and… https://t.co/4IgPRWLoyI

Strawberry Lemonade Cupcakes from INDULGE WITH ME by @Handbagjunkie and Suzanne M. Johnson! https://t.co/jjvivvMPpK

The Perfect Fall Menu by @erikakellybooks, author of THE HEARTLESS BOYFRIEND! https://t.co/JvIuMN3cgU

Read an excerpt from PLAYER, coming this week from @imaquirkybird!!! https://t.co/SthHkude63

When you have to work, but you wanna drink 👩🏻‍💻🍹Enjoying a Cranberry Vodka Fizz at frogponddistillery! #happysaturday @ Frog Pond Distillery https://t.co/1sul1GtWqV

You had the opportunity to claim a legacy as a pivotal, forward-thinking voice in the enterprise of progress, of cultural evolution. Alas, @SenatorCollins, you will fade into history as a follower, not a leader. https://t.co/xDPAjEmO1i

Check out some great Recommendations from @vilmairisblog Recent Makeup Haul https://t.co/ajxQLaNeph

4

Looking for the perfect fall read? Check out #TheSimpleWild by @kathleenatucker, recommended by @vilmairisblog! https://t.co/SkMFZBcp2B

Happy Birthday to @AnneRiceAuthor, the woman who gave me a life beyond my wildest dreams but continues to withhold vampire blood until I make sure her TV series is a success.

Load More...