Excerpt: Our Little Secret - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

Roz Nay’s Our Little Secret is a twisted tale of love, pain, and revenge that will stay with the reader long after they turn the last page.

They say you never forget your first love. What they don’t say though, is that sometimes your first love won’t forget you…

Angela Petitjean sits in a cold, dull room. The police have been interrogating her for hours, asking about Saskia Parker. She’s the wife of Angela’s high school sweetheart, HP, and the mother of his child. She has vanished. Homicide Detective J. Novak believes Angela knows what happened to Saskia. He wants the truth, and he wants it now.

But Angela has a different story to tell. It began more than a decade ago when she and HP met in high school in Cove, Vermont. She was an awkward, shy teenager. He was a popular athlete. They became friends, fell in love, and dated senior year. Everything changed when Angela went to college. When time and distance separated them. When Saskia entered the picture.

That was eight years ago. HP foolishly married a drama queen and Angela moved on with her life. Whatever marital rift caused Saskia to leave her husband has nothing to do with Angela. Nothing at all. Detective Novak needs to stop asking questions and listen to what Angela is telling him. And once he understands everything, he’ll have the truth he so desperately wants…

Book Type:

Psychological Thriller

Buy Now:

Connect with Roz Nay:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Excerpt: Our Little Secret
By Roz Nay

Excerpt: Our Little Secret

OUR LITTLE SECRET — a “twisted tale of love, pain, and revenge” by author Roz Nay — is out now. A suspenseful, seductive story about first love and the effects it carries for years to come. I’m thrilled to share an excerpt from this novel, perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Paula Hawkins.

Chapter 2

I went to Lakeside High, although I’m sure you already know that. It was a flat-roofed brick building with basketball hoops out front that had long ago lost their netting. The first day in that school my palms smelled tinny and sour from gripping the iron handrails that led up to the front entrance. The locker they gave me still had stickers in it from the kid before—rainbows that were plastic and puffy and crinkled when you pressed them. I pried them all off with my thumbnail.

At every school I attended, gym teachers sighed when they saw me coming, and Lakeside High was no different. I’ve never been one for chasing a ball around, could never see the purpose of it. Perhaps I’m not much of a team player. At the end of gym on that first Monday, I went to change back into my regular clothes and there were knots in the ends of my pants, pulled so tight that two people must have put their full weight into the job. I couldn’t tease the knots apart. By the time I sat down in defeat, the locker room had emptied.

“Angela, is it?” The teacher came in with her class list clasped to her rock-hard chest. “Angela Petitjean?” She said it like this— pettit-gene—without any flow of French to it, no lyrical peh-ti-shon. Not much of a linguist. “What’s happening here?” She wore a polo shirt with all the buttons done up, and her bangs were hair-sprayed to one side. “Who did this? Holy smokers, they put some effort into it.” As she spoke, she grunted and ground her fingers into the knots, easing them loose. “Okay—here. Now, pick up the pace! You’ll be late to your next class.”

My pants had a crimped hemline for the rest of the day, like an ’80s disco look. I knew who did it; I knew right away because two girls followed me down the hallway laughing when I emerged from the gym. And they were everywhere: waiting outside the washroom, behind me in the lineup for lunch, and three lockers down, leaning against the wall while I tried to get my books organized for English class. The taller one wore dark-purple nail polish and a T-shirt that showed her belly button. Pierced. The other girl dressed identically, even down to the love-heart laces in her sneakers. What is it about teenage girls that make them impossible to tell apart? I thought it was all in the styling, the makeup, the cloning of boy-band music and favorite movies. Now I realize what bonds and homogenizes them: panic.

Haven’t you noticed, Detective Novak? Girls of fourteen move together in a band of cruelty, always searching for somebody to terrorize as long as it keeps the spotlight off them. They’ll hunt in twos or more because if you’re standing alongside the sniper, it’s unlikely you’ll be the one in the scope.

“You’re new, aren’t you?” the tall one said. “Yeah, we’re not really okay with that.” They giggled. “We like to be asked before things change.”

I didn’t say anything back, but I remember reaching as far into my locker as I could, short of climbing in there and shutting the door.

“What’s with your pants?”

Just then a voice stopped them.

“Back up there, sisters.”

I peeped around the edge of my locker and saw a tall boy a few doors down. He was about fifteen, olive-skinned, blond, with a sleeveless Metallica T-shirt that showed the early bump of deltoids. He wore sandblasted beads around his neck and a navy baseball cap with a D on the front.

“Oh, hey, HP.” Girl number one shook back her bangs.

“Oh, hey,” Girl number two echoed. “Where’d you come from?” She stretched gum from her mouth and twirled the glistening loop with a forefinger.

“Swim practice.” He slammed his locker door and walked toward me.

I think my head tried to turtle down into my shell in that moment as I stood there in my crinkly pants, wide-eyed, holding my English textbook.

“Come on,” he said. “I’ll walk you to class.”

This is where the story begins. Tenth grade, eleven years ago. Mark it on your sheet, Detective Novak. I’m telling this like it’s the beginning of a love story; I’m catering to your needs as a listener. But we both know that’s not where the narrative’s heading, right? I mean, it’s bound to get much darker—why else would I be telling it in a police interview room?

From OUR LITTLE SECRET by Roz Nay, copyright © 2018 by the author and reprinted by permission of St. Martin’s Press. On sale April 24, 2018.

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

𝐍𝐄𝐖 𝐁𝐄𝐀𝐔𝐓𝐘 𝐑𝐄𝐕𝐈𝐄𝐖 #ontheblog! You guys, I am obsessed with @maccosmetics new 𝐏𝐎𝐖𝐃𝐄𝐑 𝐊𝐈𝐒𝐒 lipsticks. I love the blurred look of these lippies but honestly, most of all, I love that it feels like of I’m wearing... https://t.co/wvOP2ITSCr

𝐍𝐄𝐖 𝐁𝐄𝐀𝐔𝐓𝐘 𝐑𝐄𝐕𝐈𝐄𝐖 #ontheblog! You guys, I am obsessed with @maccosmetics new 𝐏𝐎𝐖𝐃𝐄𝐑 𝐊𝐈𝐒𝐒 lipsticks. I love the blurred look of these lippies but honestly, most of all, I love that it… https://t.co/GaoEueJ8wj

Excerpt + Giveaway: Pucked Love by @helenahunting!!! @jennw23 https://t.co/wVZySUgKPe

Beauty Review: @maccosmetics Powder Kiss Lipsticks https://t.co/Cbr140YMFJ

Morning, friends. I am partnering with @adaptivebooks to tell you about 𝐓𝐇𝐄 𝐓𝐎𝐀𝐒𝐓 by Matt Marinovich, author of THE WINTER GIRL.



#TheToastBook is out now and a perfect, fast-paced read… https://t.co/W3gNi13dCA

I am glad we got to the bottom of this. Now let’s let the fine people at the @FBI get back to work investigating, prosecuting ruby thieves etc and punching bad guys and typing frantically on their laptops then hitting enter and saying, “we’re in.” etc God bless the FBI 👍🏼🙏♥️🇺🇸 https://t.co/2TU4nFBlgZ

@DavidBellNovels has a new thriller called LAYOVER about a chance encounter with a woman... who is a missing person. Check out the cover and exclusive excerpt on @vilmairisblog: https://t.co/OosOHYhnrR

Had so much fun at @austinnordstrom this morning at the #nordstrombeauty event. We talked about big trends in beauty such as the use of high-tech tools in skincare and blurry, long-lasting… https://t.co/7W0PguyCR3

Exclusive Cover Reveal + Excerpt: Layover by @DavidBellNovels! @BerkleyPub @getredpr https://t.co/aucYTzVycg

I'll be chatting LIVE at 8pm EST tonight on @vilmairisblog's group, Vilma's Vixens!! Come hang out and say hi!!
➜ https://t.co/sh4lfb4aRM

Do you use anti-aging skincare products? Do you have a fave to recommend? I get a lot of messages with questions on what to use and recently a friend suggested I write up a post on… https://t.co/ga8zqZX6Rl

Dear Beto,

THANK YOU brother.

You are amazing. You not only electrified the state of Texas, but you sparked the imagination of the entire country.

And you did so with a message of hope, integrity, and equality for all.

We love you bro. Sorry we couldn't push you over the top.

Anyone else picking up 𝑯𝑶𝑴𝑬𝑩𝑶𝑫𝒀 by @JoannaGaines? It's out today! As you all know, I love home decor, I love being at home, and so I can't wait to pick up some new tips & inspiration from… https://t.co/kT9eUVnobG

“Once upon a time, in a land long since burned to ash, there lived a young princess who loved her kingdom…”
.

Did you read #KingdomofAsh ??? What did you think (no spoilers of course)? I… https://t.co/M3MVLtFGoI

Love in Suspense: @vilmairisblog recs 5 reads for Thanksgiving break. Authors include Sharon Bolton aka @AuthorSJBolton, @genashowalter, Liane Moriarty, @sarahmaclean, @devneyperry, Sophie Jordan aka @SoVerySophie, @TessaDare, @JoannaShupe. https://t.co/0R6WKPxNrf

Love seeing Tragic on this awesome list from @vilmairisblog and HEA USA Today! https://t.co/QciuNAfqfV

Load More...