Video Review: The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Video Review: The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

My Thoughts

Poetic. Poignant. Powerful.
A stunningly written story of love and loss.

6stars

Synopsis

sky is everywhereSeventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

My Review

Click here to watch the review if you cannot see it below.

“Grief is a house
where the chairs
have forgotten how to hold us
the mirrors how to reflect us
the walls how to contain us

Grief is a house that disappears
each time someone knocks at the door
or rings the bell
a house that blows into the air
at the slightest gust
that buries itself deep in the ground
while everyone is sleeping

Grief is a house where no on can protect you
where the younger sister
will grow older than the older one
where the doors
no longer let you in
or out.”

“The sky is everywhere, it begins at your feet.”

addtogoodreads

Favorite Quotes

“Remember how it was when we kissed? Armfuls and armfuls of light thrown right at us. A rope dropping down from the sky. How can the word love and the word life even fit in the mouth?”

✦✦✦

“There once was a girl who found herself dead.
She peered over the ledge of heaven
and saw that back on earth
her sister missed her too much,
was way too sad,
so she crossed some paths
that would not have crossed,
took some moments in her hand
shook them up
and spilled them like dice
over the living world.
It worked.
The boy with the guitar collided
with her sister.
“There you go, Len,” she whispered. “The rest is up to you.”

✦✦✦

“When he plays
all the flowers swap colors
and years and decades and centuries
of rain pour back into the sky”

✦✦✦

“I know the expression love bloomed is metaphorical, but in my heart in this moment, there is one badass flower, captured in time-lapse photography, going from bud to wild radiant blossom in ten seconds flat.”

Connect with Jandy

Facebook | Twitter

✦✦✦✦✦

Follow VBB: Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Subscribe by Email

 

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

3 Comments:


  1. Megan @Reading Books Like a Boss said:

    A friend of mine read this one and I’ll Give You The Sun and said Nelson’s writing is just beautiful! These books are on my TBR! I’m excited to get to it!!

    Reply

      1. Megan @Reading Books Like a Boss said:

        I know I will! I just have a feeling! I need to find the time! There’s never any time!! I’m have a Jessie Spano moment.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

I’m a total bag lady 🙋🏻‍♀️ I am always carrying a laptop, a kindle, about a gazillion books, makeup, power cords, etc etc etc... Anyone else get me?! 📚💻👓👛🎒 So for me, the bigger the bag,… https://t.co/RxsDpCtKtn

Recentemente a Anna concedeu uma entrevista para o blog @vilmairisblog divulgando seu novo livro "The Brightest Stars" e ela foi questionada sobre After movie, confira a tradução:

2

Me when all the new makeup comes out: “OMG I NEED IT!”
.
Also me: “I’m really going to make an effort. I’m going to wear more makeup, get out of those yoga pants and get my face on.”
.
Me:… https://t.co/P7aP04z5HA

𝑮𝑰𝑽𝑬𝑨𝑾𝑨𝒀 !!! If you’ve followed me for some time now, you know how huge a fan I am of @debharkness and her ALL SOULS trilogy. It’s one of my all-time faves, and I’ve gushed about each… https://t.co/gAjljWSXgy

Interview with Anna Todd, author of THE BRIGHTEST STARS! @imaginator1d https://t.co/5kmtT37HuE

New Makeup Palettes to Inspire your Fall Look! https://t.co/I5p5N8Qaat

4 Oversized Totes for the On-The-Go Girl! https://t.co/9EIK6YNPDR

Last one... just on such a high from last night! I love seeing beyonce perform FORMATION live. #fangirlforlife #otrii 👑🐝 Highlights from the concert in Insta stories. @ Houston, Texas https://t.co/GqZ2CMtnrF

Perfection, as expected. ✨ Tomorrow I’ll upload more pics and videos into Stories. #otrii @ Houston, Texas

This week on my USA Today column, I’m sharing a list of 10 suspenseful novels to read this Fall, from heart-pounding YA thrillers to chilling Nordic Noirs. I’m making my way through this… https://t.co/nhnFgxxepX

🎶 Up where they walk, up where they run, up where they stay all day in the sun, wanderin' free, Wish I could be... part of that world. 🎶
.
You guys, how amazing is this cover and this… https://t.co/gVQg4Wfyld

Must-read thrillers coming this fall: Vilma Iris Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog recommends books by @Marie_Lu, Sarah J. Maas aka @SJMaas, @JRWard1, Cassandra Clare aka @cassieclare, @wendywebbauthor & more. #romanticsuspense #romanticthrillers https://t.co/glQ4jEteY9

Must-read thrillers coming this fall: Vilma Iris Gonzalez aka @vilmairisblog recommends books by @Marie_Lu, Robert Galbraith aka @RGalbraith, Lars Kepler, @JRWard1, Ragnar Jonasson aka @ragnarjo & more. #romanticsuspense #romanticthrillers https://t.co/glQ4jEteY9

Excerpt + Giveaway: More of You by @aljacksonauthor! https://t.co/iNGXPBXMpy

The Best for Less: $100 Full Skincare Regimen! https://t.co/quA1D243tN

Exclusive Excerpt: More Than Crave You by @Shayla_Black! https://t.co/9qc0Z3m7nX

Review + Excerpt: Warcross Copy https://t.co/b3SwQTT1NS

Morning! I’m spending some time organizing my vanity and rediscovering old (fabulous) palettes. Candles burning and Audible book playing while I get work done. I’m almost done reading… https://t.co/CzHawYupA0

I can’t tell you how obsessed I am with this subscription box gifted to me by curatedbycromwell, and I know you all loved it as much as I did because I got so many messages! This box is… https://t.co/4zoBM9YdwH

Load More...