Video Review: The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Video Review: The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

My Thoughts

Poetic. Poignant. Powerful.
A stunningly written story of love and loss.

6stars

Synopsis

sky is everywhereSeventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

My Review

Click here to watch the review if you cannot see it below.

“Grief is a house
where the chairs
have forgotten how to hold us
the mirrors how to reflect us
the walls how to contain us

Grief is a house that disappears
each time someone knocks at the door
or rings the bell
a house that blows into the air
at the slightest gust
that buries itself deep in the ground
while everyone is sleeping

Grief is a house where no on can protect you
where the younger sister
will grow older than the older one
where the doors
no longer let you in
or out.”

“The sky is everywhere, it begins at your feet.”

addtogoodreads

Favorite Quotes

“Remember how it was when we kissed? Armfuls and armfuls of light thrown right at us. A rope dropping down from the sky. How can the word love and the word life even fit in the mouth?”

✦✦✦

“There once was a girl who found herself dead.
She peered over the ledge of heaven
and saw that back on earth
her sister missed her too much,
was way too sad,
so she crossed some paths
that would not have crossed,
took some moments in her hand
shook them up
and spilled them like dice
over the living world.
It worked.
The boy with the guitar collided
with her sister.
“There you go, Len,” she whispered. “The rest is up to you.”

✦✦✦

“When he plays
all the flowers swap colors
and years and decades and centuries
of rain pour back into the sky”

✦✦✦

“I know the expression love bloomed is metaphorical, but in my heart in this moment, there is one badass flower, captured in time-lapse photography, going from bud to wild radiant blossom in ten seconds flat.”

Connect with Jandy

Facebook | Twitter

✦✦✦✦✦

Follow VBB: Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Subscribe by Email

 

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

3 Comments:


  1. Megan @Reading Books Like a Boss said:

    A friend of mine read this one and I’ll Give You The Sun and said Nelson’s writing is just beautiful! These books are on my TBR! I’m excited to get to it!!

    Reply

      1. Megan @Reading Books Like a Boss said:

        I know I will! I just have a feeling! I need to find the time! There’s never any time!! I’m have a Jessie Spano moment.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

The #NSALE is now public, which means anyone can shop the big sale! Sharing my faves still in stock on the blog!
.
💻: https://t.co/ceJxaS8pnV or link in bio!!! @ Austin, Texas https://t.co/nWsBS9cNzn

There are so many hilarious scenes in this book, but this one made me laugh SO hard, and I get to share it with you on the Blog today!!! If you love your RomComs laced with heart-pounding action, look no further!!! @KylieScottbooks has done it again!! ♥️

https://t.co/cNfESSdbkT

TGIF!!! This has felt like the longgggest week and I’m so ready to unwind! 🍷 Did any of you guys shop today??? In case you hadn’t noticed, leopard print is a huge part of this year’s #NSALE and I’m here for it! My… https://t.co/4PT96VhX3I

My #NSale post is live!!!! Early picks on the blog & more coming soon! Link in bio or https://t.co/2aGacVHIKU ⭐️🛍 @ Austin, Texas https://t.co/gPgemSP7rD

Have you guys read any of the Harry Hole novels by Jo Nesbø??? 🕵🏻‍♂️🙋🏻‍♀️ I am such a huge fan of this series and it feels like the books keep getting better and better! KNIFE, his latest, is out now and is perhaps… https://t.co/pvMapzWLkN

What makes you feel most at home? 🏡 For me, it's a cup of coffee, and oversized sweater and a good book I can escape into. In #UnderCurrents, the latest from #1 NYT bestselling author norarobertsauthor (out today!),… https://t.co/AU3uPMybha

Did you guys have a nice weekend??? It was so so good to unplug and spend time with my family. I needed that break badly and bet you guys did too! I finished two books (yay!!!) and binged watched Stranger... https://t.co/YH3Mm6cw5h

Happy 4th!!! 🇺🇸🎇📖 What are you guys up to today?! I just put a 🍓cake in the oven (see stories for recipe), then we’re headed to see spidermanmovie in a while, and bbq-ing tonight with family! @ Austin, Texas https://t.co/YcbYziYpzr

Any recent beauty faves to share??? This week on the blog I’m sharing some June faves... products I’ve been using & loving!!! Makeup, skincare and hair! Head to https://t.co/ceJxaS8pnV or link in bio to see what made my list… https://t.co/0eEP5sCRTZ

Load More...
SUBSCRIBE TO MY BLOG