Video Review: The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Video Review: The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

My Thoughts

Poetic. Poignant. Powerful.
A stunningly written story of love and loss.



sky is everywhereSeventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

My Review

Click here to watch the review if you cannot see it below.

“Grief is a house
where the chairs
have forgotten how to hold us
the mirrors how to reflect us
the walls how to contain us

Grief is a house that disappears
each time someone knocks at the door
or rings the bell
a house that blows into the air
at the slightest gust
that buries itself deep in the ground
while everyone is sleeping

Grief is a house where no on can protect you
where the younger sister
will grow older than the older one
where the doors
no longer let you in
or out.”

“The sky is everywhere, it begins at your feet.”


Favorite Quotes

“Remember how it was when we kissed? Armfuls and armfuls of light thrown right at us. A rope dropping down from the sky. How can the word love and the word life even fit in the mouth?”


“There once was a girl who found herself dead.
She peered over the ledge of heaven
and saw that back on earth
her sister missed her too much,
was way too sad,
so she crossed some paths
that would not have crossed,
took some moments in her hand
shook them up
and spilled them like dice
over the living world.
It worked.
The boy with the guitar collided
with her sister.
“There you go, Len,” she whispered. “The rest is up to you.”


“When he plays
all the flowers swap colors
and years and decades and centuries
of rain pour back into the sky”


“I know the expression love bloomed is metaphorical, but in my heart in this moment, there is one badass flower, captured in time-lapse photography, going from bud to wild radiant blossom in ten seconds flat.”

Connect with Jandy

Facebook | Twitter


Follow VBB: Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Subscribe by Email


Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post


  1. Megan @Reading Books Like a Boss said:

    A friend of mine read this one and I’ll Give You The Sun and said Nelson’s writing is just beautiful! These books are on my TBR! I’m excited to get to it!!


      1. Megan @Reading Books Like a Boss said:

        I know I will! I just have a feeling! I need to find the time! There’s never any time!! I’m have a Jessie Spano moment.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

Today’s makeup look included:
▪️@patmcgrathreal bronze platinum palette
▪️@becca_cosmetics light…

Friday happy hour!!! 🍷 Has anyone spring-ified their bar cart yet?! You know that’s always on my…

I’ve gotten a lot of messages and questions the last couple days on the face roller I’ve showed…

Lately I’ve been really into overnight masks. I mean who doesn’t love stuff that helps your skin…

Just started listening to THE WICKED DEEP by @sheaernshaw! The blurb totally drew me in plus the…

What’s your go-to foundation??? Just recently I received a box of goodies of @lauramercier…

Finally got OBSIDIO in the mail and I can’t wait to start it! This series has been one of my…

Finally got OBSIDIO in the mail and I can’t wait to start it! This series has been one of my…

I’ve been so excited for today’s #tuesdayshoesday post! I scored these sneakers at @target for…

If you loved THE NIGHTINGALE, you’ll love Kristin Harmel’s newest book, THE ROOM ON RUE AMELIE—a…

On the blog this week I’m sharing some way-less-expensive dupes for 7 high-end eye shadow…

Love in Suspense Q&A: @vilmairisblog highlights author @simone_stjames & her upcoming modern ghost story, The Broken Girls (out March 20)

Love in Suspense Q&A: @vilmairisblog highlights author @simone_stjames and her upcoming modern ghost story, The Broken Girls (out March 20) @BerkleyPub

Dupes for 7 High-End Eye Shadow Palettes!

2 Easy Go-To Recipes For Dinner + Dinner Parties + Girls’ Night In

Audiobook Review: Dane's Storm by @msheridanauthor! @audible_com

Read an excerpt from The Room on Rue Amélie by @KristinHarmel!

Read an excerpt from The Broken Girls by @simone_stjames! @berkleypub

I feel like a sale fairy 🧚‍♀️ this weekend, but you guys, I paid $11.85 for these today at…

📣 SALE ALERT!!! 📣 My pearl embellished sneakers are $39 right now!!! I have them in two colors…

Load More...