Video Review: The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Video Review: The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

My Thoughts

Poetic. Poignant. Powerful.
A stunningly written story of love and loss.

6stars

Synopsis

sky is everywhereSeventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

My Review

Click here to watch the review if you cannot see it below.

“Grief is a house
where the chairs
have forgotten how to hold us
the mirrors how to reflect us
the walls how to contain us

Grief is a house that disappears
each time someone knocks at the door
or rings the bell
a house that blows into the air
at the slightest gust
that buries itself deep in the ground
while everyone is sleeping

Grief is a house where no on can protect you
where the younger sister
will grow older than the older one
where the doors
no longer let you in
or out.”

“The sky is everywhere, it begins at your feet.”

addtogoodreads

Favorite Quotes

“Remember how it was when we kissed? Armfuls and armfuls of light thrown right at us. A rope dropping down from the sky. How can the word love and the word life even fit in the mouth?”

✦✦✦

“There once was a girl who found herself dead.
She peered over the ledge of heaven
and saw that back on earth
her sister missed her too much,
was way too sad,
so she crossed some paths
that would not have crossed,
took some moments in her hand
shook them up
and spilled them like dice
over the living world.
It worked.
The boy with the guitar collided
with her sister.
“There you go, Len,” she whispered. “The rest is up to you.”

✦✦✦

“When he plays
all the flowers swap colors
and years and decades and centuries
of rain pour back into the sky”

✦✦✦

“I know the expression love bloomed is metaphorical, but in my heart in this moment, there is one badass flower, captured in time-lapse photography, going from bud to wild radiant blossom in ten seconds flat.”

Connect with Jandy

Facebook | Twitter

✦✦✦✦✦

Follow VBB: Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Subscribe by Email

 

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

3 Comments:


  1. Megan @Reading Books Like a Boss said:

    A friend of mine read this one and I’ll Give You The Sun and said Nelson’s writing is just beautiful! These books are on my TBR! I’m excited to get to it!!

    Reply

      1. Megan @Reading Books Like a Boss said:

        I know I will! I just have a feeling! I need to find the time! There’s never any time!! I’m have a Jessie Spano moment.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

𝑬𝑵𝑫𝑺 𝑨𝑻 𝑴𝑰𝑫𝑵𝑰𝑮𝑯𝑻!!! Have you entered to win 1 of 1,000 ARCs of THE GIRL HE USED TO KNOW by @tgarvisgraves?! Today is the last day to enter! Tag your friends and book club members below,… https://t.co/77071zVGZP

Author @kbuttonw shares her favorite Lowcountry books! https://t.co/Oe6UMoVWpb

I can't wait to start 𝗪𝗛𝗘𝗡 𝗔𝗦𝗛𝗘𝗦 𝗙𝗔𝗟𝗟 by marnimann! Have any of you read this love story early or are you planning to read it??? It’s out tomorrow, but so excited to share a sneak peek… https://t.co/djT4O9IvCK

Read an excerpt from Dragon Claimed by @Donna_Grant! @1001DarkNights https://t.co/WqXP4jj4Fu

Read an excerpt from When Ashes Fall by @MarniMann! https://t.co/tCCLb4beOt

Exclusive Cover Reveal: #Mine by @Court_Writes! @SimonBooks - a raw & riveting story of a collapsing marriage. https://t.co/JHXo1DFoIs

My Most Anticipated Books of Early 2019! See the list! https://t.co/9HxPBV60hf

Finally had the chance to meet the fabulous @blackholly at BookPeople and I’m as obsessed with her as I am with her books. She’s super cool and kind! 🖤 It took everything for me not to talk about all the things... https://t.co/5ofEi3Mq5u

Finally had the chance to meet the fabulous @hollyblack at @bookpeople and I’m as obsessed with her as I am with her books. She’s super cool and kind! 🖤 It took everything for me not to… https://t.co/SSOygF7ivi

It's the BIGGEST GIVEAWAY I've ever done! 😲 - https://t.co/sEhfjWf2hE

See the cover reveal for #After by my girl @imaginator1d!!! I love love love it!!! #Hessa https://t.co/OKearR23HI

Look at the new movie tie-in cover of 𝗔 𝗙 𝗧 𝗘 𝗥 by my girl @imaginator1dx!!! I lovvvve it!!! What do you think?! This new cover celebrates the upcoming movie (April) starring @FT_Hero97… https://t.co/68408lKBrs

Who else is reading this right now??? It’s so darn good and so freaking hard not being able to ignore the world to just immerse myself in this book!!!! I mean, gahhhh, hello tension with… https://t.co/J7u4zwaTTA

Oh my gosh! SOMETIMES I LIE by Alice Feeney is being made into a TV show and I cannot wait! 😱@sarahmgellar will star and executive produce. Loved this book so much—about a woman who wakes… https://t.co/ngfPiI5KlV

Do you have any resolutions or goals for your skin this year? 🧖🏻‍♀️ For me, it’s continuing to be consistent with my regimen, not skipping washing my face and using my products even when… https://t.co/ype0hloeS0

I just posted another MASSIVE ARC giveaway on my FB author page. This time, the amazing @vilmairisblog is taking the reins. Make sure you enter - the odds are excellent! Another 1,000 copies of The Girl He Used to Know are up for grabs. https://t.co/0RgsNqyUKD

✖️𝐌𝐀𝐒𝐒𝐈𝐕𝐄 𝐆𝐈𝐕𝐄𝐀𝐖𝐀𝐘!!!! ✖️
I'm so freaking excited to partner with @stmartinspress to give you the chance to win 1 of 1,000 ARCs of 𝐓𝐇𝐄 𝐆𝐈𝐑𝐋 𝐇𝐄 𝐔𝐒𝐄𝐃 𝐓𝐎 𝐊𝐍𝐎𝐖 by @tgarvisgraves! This is a… https://t.co/LKIgp3o5nz

1,000 ARC Giveaway: The Girl He Used To Know by @tgarvisgraves! @stmartinspress https://t.co/G4vUKP3DwW

𝐍𝐄𝐖 𝐎𝐍 𝐓𝐇𝐄 𝐁𝐋𝐎𝐆 — Sharing my 𝐭𝐨𝐩 𝟏𝟎 𝐛𝐞𝐚𝐮𝐭𝐲 𝐛𝐮𝐲𝐬 𝐨𝐟 𝟐𝟎𝟏𝟖!!! This was super hard to put together because I loved so many products! Let me now if we have some faves in common by commenting below too. Head to... https://t.co/sBZXvlcv2e

𝐍𝐄𝐖 𝐎𝐍 𝐓𝐇𝐄 𝐁𝐋𝐎𝐆 — Sharing my 𝐭𝐨𝐩 𝟏𝟎 𝐛𝐞𝐚𝐮𝐭𝐲 𝐛𝐮𝐲𝐬 𝐨𝐟 𝟐𝟎𝟏𝟖!!! This was super hard to put together because I loved so many products! Let me now if we have some faves in common by commenting… https://t.co/btiAWDV4hD

Load More...