Review: Sherwood - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

Fans of Danielle Paige, Marissa Meyer, and Alex Flinn will devour New York Times bestselling author Meagan Spooner’s next fierce fairy tale-inspired story, which Illuminae author Amie Kaufman calls “a kick-ass, gender-flipped feminist retelling.”

Robin of Locksley is dead.

Maid Marian doesn’t know how she’ll go on, but the people of Locksley town, persecuted by the Sheriff of Nottingham, need a protector. And the dreadful Guy of Gisborne, the Sheriff’s right hand, wishes to step into Robin’s shoes as Lord of Locksley and Marian’s fiancé.

Who is there to stop them?

Marian never meant to tread in Robin’s footsteps—never intended to stand as a beacon of hope to those awaiting his triumphant return. But with a sweep of his green cloak and the flash of her sword, Marian makes the choice to become her own hero: Robin Hood.

Book Type:

Fantasy Retelling

Buy Now:

Connect with Meagan Spooner:

Series Reading Order:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Sherwood
By Meagan Spooner

Review: Sherwood

A new hero rises, sparking hope for the people of Locksley in Meagan Spooner’s SHERWOOD.

Robin of Locksley is slain and his betrothed, Maid Marian is devastated. Robin has been her closest friend since childhood, he was the man with whom her future was entwined.

With Robin gone, Locksley loses their protector as the Sheriff of Nottingham takes more and more from the coffers of those who have so little. Worse yet, Guy Gisborne, the Sheriff’s right hand, intends to take over for Robin as both Lord of Locksley and fiancé to Marian.

Marian, who cherishes her freedom most of all, never intended to don the green cloak, but undoubtedly finds herself hidden within its billows as she tries to save a friend. Guided by Robin’s spirit and aided by her superior archery skills, she soon becomes Robin Hood.

Whispers spread amongst the townspeople, adding fuel to spark, becoming a beacon for those who need it the most. Meanwhile, the scarred and terribly Guy Gisborne will stop at nothing in his quest to unmask and capture Robin Hood.

Soon enough, Robin Hood (Marian) will indeed come to blows with Gisborne, but the outcome will be far from what each expected.

Spooner cleverly imparts a fierce, gender-flipping adventure with heists and archery aplenty. I absolutely loved HUNTED and thus SHERWOOD was one of my most anticipated reads of the year. But perhaps due to my very high expectations, the story didn’t quite deliver what I had hoped. Much of the book felt slow to me, with the most interesting storylines unraveling in the last 30% or so of the book. Some of the choices she made were so good, I wish she would have planted some of those seeds earlier in the story to better grab my attention. I flew through the last part of the novel, but as a whole, just hoped for more.

Meagan Spooner is such a fantastic writer—as I mentioned, I love HUNTED and her books written with Amie Kaufman, and so I plan to keep reading more from her and do hope she gives us another retelling in the future!

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

One Comment:


  1. Tina @ girlsgospel.com said:

    EEK! I am a huge Robin Hood fan, and this sounds right up my street! I’m off to download it – thanks for bringing it to my attention 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

𝑯𝒂𝒔 𝒂𝒏𝒚𝒐𝒏𝒆 𝒓𝒆𝒂𝒅 𝒕𝒉𝒆𝒔𝒆👇🏻????

I've got two 𝒏𝒆𝒘 📖 reviews on the blog this week! First off is 𝗧𝗛𝗘 𝗚𝗢𝗟𝗗𝗘𝗡 𝗖𝗔𝗚𝗘 by @camillalackberg, which is out today! This is a must-read revenge thriller about a woman who plots… https://www.instagram.com/p/CCWJP-xpZUR/?igshid=1jbqu2o6hjjd1

I'll never forget the way Ennio Morricone described music as “energy, space, and time.” It is, perhaps, the most concise and accurate description I’ve ever heard. We'll truly miss him. This is the Love Theme from "Cinema Paradiso." #EnnioMorricone

Happy Monday! How was everyone’s weekend?! Ours was so nice, so needed, and now my chill is sadly deteriorating with work lol! 👩🏻‍💻👩🏻‍💻👩🏻‍💻 But anywayyyy, lots of new content on the blog for you today including a… https://www.instagram.com/p/CCT1-_Fpbm1/?igshid=3vskvdz5h44q

So we’re gonna all start the movie at 7pm EST yah? Use the hashtag #Hamilfilm? This will be the big loud talkalong we’d never actually do inside the theater, so let’s do it big. Thank you to those of you who have already seen it and are back again. Let’s goooooo

Check out this Excerpt from Swedish Crime Writer @camillalackberg The Golden Cage on @vilmairisblog Sounds like a great summer page turner. #crimewriter https://buff.ly/31CYtr4

Read an excerpt from #SacrificeofDarkness by @AlexandraIvy! Out today! @1001darknights https://vilmairis.com/z7znp

Breonna Taylor’s name is no longer trending and the police that murdered her are still free. If you see this please reply/quote/tweet on your own.

ARREST BRETT HANKISON, JONATHAN MATTINGLY & MYLES COSGROVE FOR THE MURDER OF #BREONNATAYLOR. https://twitter.com/DaveedDiggs/status/1274734152319827969

Load More...