Review: Sherwood - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

Fans of Danielle Paige, Marissa Meyer, and Alex Flinn will devour New York Times bestselling author Meagan Spooner’s next fierce fairy tale-inspired story, which Illuminae author Amie Kaufman calls “a kick-ass, gender-flipped feminist retelling.”

Robin of Locksley is dead.

Maid Marian doesn’t know how she’ll go on, but the people of Locksley town, persecuted by the Sheriff of Nottingham, need a protector. And the dreadful Guy of Gisborne, the Sheriff’s right hand, wishes to step into Robin’s shoes as Lord of Locksley and Marian’s fiancé.

Who is there to stop them?

Marian never meant to tread in Robin’s footsteps—never intended to stand as a beacon of hope to those awaiting his triumphant return. But with a sweep of his green cloak and the flash of her sword, Marian makes the choice to become her own hero: Robin Hood.

Book Type:

Fantasy Retelling

Buy Now:

Connect with Meagan Spooner:

Series Reading Order:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Sherwood
By Meagan Spooner

Review: Sherwood

A new hero rises, sparking hope for the people of Locksley in Meagan Spooner’s SHERWOOD.

Robin of Locksley is slain and his betrothed, Maid Marian is devastated. Robin has been her closest friend since childhood, he was the man with whom her future was entwined.

With Robin gone, Locksley loses their protector as the Sheriff of Nottingham takes more and more from the coffers of those who have so little. Worse yet, Guy Gisborne, the Sheriff’s right hand, intends to take over for Robin as both Lord of Locksley and fiancé to Marian.

Marian, who cherishes her freedom most of all, never intended to don the green cloak, but undoubtedly finds herself hidden within its billows as she tries to save a friend. Guided by Robin’s spirit and aided by her superior archery skills, she soon becomes Robin Hood.

Whispers spread amongst the townspeople, adding fuel to spark, becoming a beacon for those who need it the most. Meanwhile, the scarred and terribly Guy Gisborne will stop at nothing in his quest to unmask and capture Robin Hood.

Soon enough, Robin Hood (Marian) will indeed come to blows with Gisborne, but the outcome will be far from what each expected.

Spooner cleverly imparts a fierce, gender-flipping adventure with heists and archery aplenty. I absolutely loved HUNTED and thus SHERWOOD was one of my most anticipated reads of the year. But perhaps due to my very high expectations, the story didn’t quite deliver what I had hoped. Much of the book felt slow to me, with the most interesting storylines unraveling in the last 30% or so of the book. Some of the choices she made were so good, I wish she would have planted some of those seeds earlier in the story to better grab my attention. I flew through the last part of the novel, but as a whole, just hoped for more.

Meagan Spooner is such a fantastic writer—as I mentioned, I love HUNTED and her books written with Amie Kaufman, and so I plan to keep reading more from her and do hope she gives us another retelling in the future!

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

One Comment:


  1. Tina @ girlsgospel.com said:

    EEK! I am a huge Robin Hood fan, and this sounds right up my street! I’m off to download it – thanks for bringing it to my attention 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

Holy f******shit!!!! You guys we are fucking nominated for teen choice awards!!!! Vote if you can omg this is so huge our little book to movie to biggest indie film of the year to this what even https://t.co/EwzMeczCXl

Read an excerpt from #ConsumeMe by @GenevaLeeAuthor! @Danichez75 https://t.co/fCAr25QF4K

Review + top rec: Recursion by @blakecrouch1! @randomhouse https://t.co/IFr85rvJ9m

Review + top rec: Letters To Molly by @devneyperry! https://t.co/E6RGDGkUbI

Read an exclusive excerpt from Enchanted by @authorlexiblake! @1001darknights https://t.co/kE8G2bspEN

At last we can share! @misterkristoff and I are going to be consulting producers on the AURORA RISING TV SERIES! It’s in development with MGM and Level 1 Entertainment and we’re beyond excited. Let’s do this, cadets! https://t.co/84n0LjC2GC

Coming later this week is THE FIRST MISTAKE — the new, provocative domestic supsense from bestselling author @realsandiejones (THE OTHER WOMAN — one of reesesbookclubxhellosunshine book club picks)! This time, she… https://t.co/Cx6p0MyhL8

Read an excerpt from The First Mistake by @realsandiejones! @minotaurbooks https://t.co/D231ZMe2W2

COLDHEARTED BOSS by @authorrsgrey is live!!! I loved this book! I inhaled it one night and stayed up reading until just after 1 am. This is a fast-paced enemies-to-lovers rom com about a girl who finds herself… https://t.co/MD3YOS1OGx

Review + top rec: Coldhearted Boss by @authorrsgrey! https://t.co/5Xs7oKJWky

Do you have a favorite @JLArmentrout book or series?! It's a nearly impossible question for someone who loves so many of her books, but I think my long-time fave has always been the Covenant series... also sort of… https://t.co/ryGRpOpiDM

𝗦𝗜𝗚𝗡𝗘𝗗 𝗚𝗜𝗩𝗘𝗔𝗪𝗔𝗬!!! Morning, you guys! I’m so excited to share a sneak peek from MRS EVERYTHING—the new book out June 11th from @jenniferweiner! Part romance, part historical fiction, part women’s fic, the novel… https://t.co/I6bTTbUlCA

Review + top rec: Savaged by @MSheridanAuthor! https://t.co/Ttndv0KQwm

Read an exclusive excerpt from Mrs. Everything by @jenniferweiner! @atriabooks https://t.co/l9G8fogAIk

Review: Storm and Fury by @JLArmentrout!!! @HarlequinBooks https://t.co/t0Iy7zYvSs

It’s been almost a couple weeks with our new leather chairs and we couldn’t be happier! We had been saving for awhile to splurge on these beauties. We love the color and grain of the leather, the hobnail detail, and… https://t.co/DAF6pNEBqc

Anyone else struggling to get back into the swing of things after a long weekend?!🙋🏻‍♀️ Doesn't help to have two boys on summer vacay here at home! 🤣 Anyway, I'm super excited to share a sneak peek into THE… https://t.co/K64LeGOQAy

One of my favorite books last year was OUR HOUSE by @louise_candlish and this week, she’s got a new domestic suspense coming—THOSE PEOPLE. You can read a sneak peek on the blog right now! 👉🏻… https://t.co/2R8zIXXBHv

Read an excerpt fromThose People by @louise_candlish! @berkleypub https://t.co/YHnOGz3ewk

Load More...