Review: Sherwood - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

Fans of Danielle Paige, Marissa Meyer, and Alex Flinn will devour New York Times bestselling author Meagan Spooner’s next fierce fairy tale-inspired story, which Illuminae author Amie Kaufman calls “a kick-ass, gender-flipped feminist retelling.”

Robin of Locksley is dead.

Maid Marian doesn’t know how she’ll go on, but the people of Locksley town, persecuted by the Sheriff of Nottingham, need a protector. And the dreadful Guy of Gisborne, the Sheriff’s right hand, wishes to step into Robin’s shoes as Lord of Locksley and Marian’s fiancé.

Who is there to stop them?

Marian never meant to tread in Robin’s footsteps—never intended to stand as a beacon of hope to those awaiting his triumphant return. But with a sweep of his green cloak and the flash of her sword, Marian makes the choice to become her own hero: Robin Hood.

Book Type:

Fantasy Retelling

Buy Now:

Connect with Meagan Spooner:

Series Reading Order:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Sherwood
By Meagan Spooner

Review: Sherwood

A new hero rises, sparking hope for the people of Locksley in Meagan Spooner’s SHERWOOD.

Robin of Locksley is slain and his betrothed, Maid Marian is devastated. Robin has been her closest friend since childhood, he was the man with whom her future was entwined.

With Robin gone, Locksley loses their protector as the Sheriff of Nottingham takes more and more from the coffers of those who have so little. Worse yet, Guy Gisborne, the Sheriff’s right hand, intends to take over for Robin as both Lord of Locksley and fiancé to Marian.

Marian, who cherishes her freedom most of all, never intended to don the green cloak, but undoubtedly finds herself hidden within its billows as she tries to save a friend. Guided by Robin’s spirit and aided by her superior archery skills, she soon becomes Robin Hood.

Whispers spread amongst the townspeople, adding fuel to spark, becoming a beacon for those who need it the most. Meanwhile, the scarred and terribly Guy Gisborne will stop at nothing in his quest to unmask and capture Robin Hood.

Soon enough, Robin Hood (Marian) will indeed come to blows with Gisborne, but the outcome will be far from what each expected.

Spooner cleverly imparts a fierce, gender-flipping adventure with heists and archery aplenty. I absolutely loved HUNTED and thus SHERWOOD was one of my most anticipated reads of the year. But perhaps due to my very high expectations, the story didn’t quite deliver what I had hoped. Much of the book felt slow to me, with the most interesting storylines unraveling in the last 30% or so of the book. Some of the choices she made were so good, I wish she would have planted some of those seeds earlier in the story to better grab my attention. I flew through the last part of the novel, but as a whole, just hoped for more.

Meagan Spooner is such a fantastic writer—as I mentioned, I love HUNTED and her books written with Amie Kaufman, and so I plan to keep reading more from her and do hope she gives us another retelling in the future!

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

what's the exact quote Beyonce says in Homecoming about notes? "What's the point in giving new notes when my old ones haven't been addressed?" I need it. I want to say it forever

This week #ontheblog I share a roundup of some of my current beauty faves! It’s been awhile since I shared some of the products I keep reaching for, whether they are new or old. Would… https://t.co/AJb2hj5CGa

THE MISTER by @E_L_James is out today!!! I started the book early this morning and wish I could cancel all responsibility and work today! Who else is reading it???? I'm so excited to fall… https://t.co/xVe9DK3qeY

What kind of coverage do you prefer for a foundation? I like light coverage, especially moving into Spring and Summer, which is why I had to try the new @kosascosmetics Tinted Oil… https://t.co/IxaGMTgidh

Review: My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing! @berkleypub https://t.co/u3RT4qxAl0

Beauty Faves Roundup!!! See which products I'm loving lately! https://t.co/jN7jvb6UpZ

Beauty Review: Kosas Tinted Face Oil - https://t.co/QTLUKNzqfG

{ Chanel pretties } @ Austin, Texas https://t.co/5RSZui1hbN

✨ 𝑮𝑰𝑽𝑬𝑨𝑾𝑨𝒀 ✨
.
So excited to partner with @VintageAnchor on this awesome giveaway to celebrate THE MISTER by @E_L_James—out in just three days!! I’m giving away three #TheMister inspired… https://t.co/cDgUEzbnKc

𝙒𝙝𝙖𝙩 𝙪𝙥𝙘𝙤𝙢𝙞𝙣𝙜 𝙗𝙤𝙤𝙠𝙨 𝙖𝙧𝙚 𝙮𝙤𝙪 𝙬𝙖𝙞𝙩𝙞𝙣𝙜 𝙛𝙤𝙧?! #waitingonwednesday
.

STONE MOTHERS by @mserinkelly is one I can’t wait to dig into. Erin wrote HE SAID/SHE SAID, which I loved, and this one… https://t.co/EsZbFUvyz2

𝑾𝒉𝒂𝒕’𝒔 𝒚𝒐𝒖𝒓 𝒇𝒂𝒗𝒐𝒓𝒊𝒕𝒆 𝒕𝒚𝒑𝒆 𝒐𝒇 𝒓𝒐𝒎𝒂𝒏𝒄𝒆?
.
For me, there’s nothing better than a second-chance love story! In authorkyliescott’s new novel, REPEAT, a woman loses her memory after a vicious… https://t.co/B9UoeCxZBf

Beauty Review: @VintnerDaughter Serum -- https://t.co/J77jx7odsg

Get a sneak peek at CIPHER by @larissaione — out this week! @1001darknights https://t.co/eyQYi0iO4e

Review: I Know Who You Are by Alice Feeney #thriller @flatironbooks https://t.co/GoXNUNEHOO

Happy Saturday! It looks to be a stormy ⛈ day here in Austin, but hoping to catch up on some reading and get away for an hour or two midday. I’ve been trying some new beauty products out again, and one of my... https://t.co/1eCimA5JUs

Happy Saturday! It looks to be a stormy ⛈ day here in Austin, but hoping to catch up on some reading and get away for an hour or two midday. I’ve been trying some new beauty products out… https://t.co/UaXuyw90z8

Don't miss one of my favorite authors. 5 STAR Review for The Savior by JR Ward @JRWard1 - Vilma Iris @vilmairisblog https://t.co/K8MKV8AfTp

Win a copy of PRETTY REVENGE plus a nail polish set from @kbshimmer! @vilmairisblog @EmilyLiebert https://t.co/dDAHugwoiB

𝑾𝒉𝒂𝒕 𝒊𝒇 𝒕𝒉𝒆 𝑬𝒗𝒊𝒍 𝑸𝒖𝒆𝒆𝒏 𝒑𝒐𝒊𝒔𝒐𝒏𝒆𝒅 𝒕𝒉𝒆 𝑷𝒓𝒊𝒏𝒄𝒆?
.
#partner Do you love reading retellings? 🙋 Author Jen Calonita retells one of our most beloved stories, in a fresh new way. Snow White embarks on a quest to stop the... https://t.co/vRF3ZuU2yo

𝑾𝒉𝒂𝒕 𝒊𝒇 𝒕𝒉𝒆 𝑬𝒗𝒊𝒍 𝑸𝒖𝒆𝒆𝒏 𝒑𝒐𝒊𝒔𝒐𝒏𝒆𝒅 𝒕𝒉𝒆 𝑷𝒓𝒊𝒏𝒄𝒆?
.
#partner Do you love reading retellings? 🙋 Author Jen Calonita retells one of our most beloved stories, in a fresh new way. Snow White embarks… https://t.co/NFIglHDlQS

Load More...