Review: Sherwood - Vilma Iris | Lifestyle Blogger

Fans of Danielle Paige, Marissa Meyer, and Alex Flinn will devour New York Times bestselling author Meagan Spooner’s next fierce fairy tale-inspired story, which Illuminae author Amie Kaufman calls “a kick-ass, gender-flipped feminist retelling.”

Robin of Locksley is dead.

Maid Marian doesn’t know how she’ll go on, but the people of Locksley town, persecuted by the Sheriff of Nottingham, need a protector. And the dreadful Guy of Gisborne, the Sheriff’s right hand, wishes to step into Robin’s shoes as Lord of Locksley and Marian’s fiancé.

Who is there to stop them?

Marian never meant to tread in Robin’s footsteps—never intended to stand as a beacon of hope to those awaiting his triumphant return. But with a sweep of his green cloak and the flash of her sword, Marian makes the choice to become her own hero: Robin Hood.

Book Type:

Fantasy Retelling

Buy Now:

Connect with Meagan Spooner:

Series Reading Order:

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.

Sherwood
By Meagan Spooner

Review: Sherwood

A new hero rises, sparking hope for the people of Locksley in Meagan Spooner’s SHERWOOD.

Robin of Locksley is slain and his betrothed, Maid Marian is devastated. Robin has been her closest friend since childhood, he was the man with whom her future was entwined.

With Robin gone, Locksley loses their protector as the Sheriff of Nottingham takes more and more from the coffers of those who have so little. Worse yet, Guy Gisborne, the Sheriff’s right hand, intends to take over for Robin as both Lord of Locksley and fiancé to Marian.

Marian, who cherishes her freedom most of all, never intended to don the green cloak, but undoubtedly finds herself hidden within its billows as she tries to save a friend. Guided by Robin’s spirit and aided by her superior archery skills, she soon becomes Robin Hood.

Whispers spread amongst the townspeople, adding fuel to spark, becoming a beacon for those who need it the most. Meanwhile, the scarred and terribly Guy Gisborne will stop at nothing in his quest to unmask and capture Robin Hood.

Soon enough, Robin Hood (Marian) will indeed come to blows with Gisborne, but the outcome will be far from what each expected.

Spooner cleverly imparts a fierce, gender-flipping adventure with heists and archery aplenty. I absolutely loved HUNTED and thus SHERWOOD was one of my most anticipated reads of the year. But perhaps due to my very high expectations, the story didn’t quite deliver what I had hoped. Much of the book felt slow to me, with the most interesting storylines unraveling in the last 30% or so of the book. Some of the choices she made were so good, I wish she would have planted some of those seeds earlier in the story to better grab my attention. I flew through the last part of the novel, but as a whole, just hoped for more.

Meagan Spooner is such a fantastic writer—as I mentioned, I love HUNTED and her books written with Amie Kaufman, and so I plan to keep reading more from her and do hope she gives us another retelling in the future!

Subscribe for Updates:

Share This Post

One Comment:


  1. Tina @ girlsgospel.com said:

    EEK! I am a huge Robin Hood fan, and this sounds right up my street! I’m off to download it – thanks for bringing it to my attention 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Facebook

SuperWebTricks Loading...

On Twitter

Are you shopping the @sephora Summer Bonus Event??? 🙋🏻‍♀️ My top 10 must buys on the blog! What are you guys getting? I haven’t shopped yet and getting my own list together... eeeep!!!
.
👩🏻‍💻: https://t.co/ceJxaS8pnV or link… https://t.co/adcgocAJFt

Listen to the fabulous @JRWard1 chat with the equally fabulous #JimFrangione on #BloodTruth & all things #BDB! @simonschuster @gallerybooks @simonaudio https://t.co/Qzwvq5IFaP

Read an excerpt from QUIET MAN by the one and only @kristenashley68! Out tomorrow! @1001darknights https://t.co/wfnDnod5gQ

Read my interview with @authorlexiblake, author of the just released, Lost In You!!! @jennw23 https://t.co/9KXf8UnswA

The Texas heat is pretty much unbearable this time of year, so find me a cool coffee shop, a vanilla latte and a good book and I’m a happy girl! @GrandCentralPub sent me #Outfox𝗕𝗼𝗼𝗸 by @SandraBrown_NYT and it’s the… https://t.co/4f86sbIYM0

Omg they like Boone! And I hope you do, too! Coming soon 8/13/19, preorder in the link in the bio!

#BDB #BDBLegacy #Boone #gethim #hewantstobeyours

@amazonbooks @GalleryBooks @simonschuster https://t.co/vCkgFmuZrv

Happy National Lipstick Day!!! 💄 Do you have a current go-to shade??? What is it?Right now I am loving @ctilburymakeup’s Hot Lips 2 collection—I have the shades Glowing Jen, Amazing Amal, JK Magic & Patsy Red. And… https://t.co/54Ux1xchfp

Load More...
SUBSCRIBE TO MY BLOG